Words, words and more words – where will they take us?

Another Sunrise

Sometimes I awaken in the wee dark hours of the morning, and I ask myself “why?”. Almost always, I will answer myself “no reason. Who knows? Just because. Just deal with it, okay?” I’m not always as nice to myself as I should be, I think. Sometimes I get a bit snippy with me. Then I think perhaps I should use this time, in the wee dark hours of the morning. I could read. I could blog. I could knit. I could listen to music on my pod, earbuds in place so as not to disturb husband. But I don’t. I lie there, because I think if I lie there quietly I’ll drift off to sleep more quickly. That doesn’t always work, but I always think it will.

Where is this taking us? you ask. Shall I give you an answer that I think will please you, or shall I be truthful? Let’s go with truthful. I have no idea where this is taking us. I just felt like blogging, like sharing some inane chatter, some blather, some words. Because I like playing with words, you know. I have no earth-shaking, wise words. But it’s interesting to see how they come out, whether they make any sense or just end up words strung together in a row, pretending to be a sentence. And then pretending to grow into a paragraph.

Another Morning

So in those wee hours, I lie there, my mind darting about from place to place, resting nowhere, concluding nothing, just playing. A lot like a kid in a mud puddle – there’s no reason, but they play because they are there and they can. Eventually I fall back to sleep, with no realization that’s happening. But I know I do because later, still in the dark hours but not so wee hours, the Shasta dog will come to me and tell me it’s time to get up now. I respond that it’s too early, lay down. She does, briefly. Too briefly usually. Sometimes I tell her it’s too early, then look at the clock and find it’s actually a bit later than she usually comes to me. So I get up, out of bed.

Now here comes the “probably TMI” part – the hairy/furry girls have a routine. They follow me into the small room almost all of us go into when first we get up, to take care of our business. Bailey brings her ball, so I can toss it to her. Shasta plays interceptor or ball thief, whatever works for her. Lily kitty watches, and Twiggy kitty lurks in the dining room, waiting for us to appear. And appear we do, because it’s breakfast time for the hairy/furry girls. The larger girls go out, I dispense the appropriate breakfast to the appropriate girls, let the larger girls back in, gather my coffee, my iPad and my keyboard and head in to the morning room where I check the weather, the email, Facebook, read my blogs and the morning headlines, watch for the sunrise and, inevitably, see colors in the sky that require my camera and another photo. One can never have enough photos of skies. Or shadows. Or reflections.

After the Showers

So now I have shared my morning with you, many words with you – perhaps too many words, but that is for you to decide – I have had my coffee, husband is up and about and I should think about getting myself ready for the day. My morning routine has been completed, and I am content.

For all of you, on this Sunday morning, I wish you the very best of enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Words, words and more words – where will they take us?

  1. Kathy says:

    I like your words. I like that you blind-blogged, letting your words come up without censorship, or too much censorship anyway. It’s sometimes so hard to be awake in the middle of the night. It’s a gift when we can be kind to ourselves. Liking that photo, After the Showers.

    Like

  2. I am not usually up before sunrise, so I don’t have a chance to catch such beautiful photos. From the TMI part on, though , our routines are similar. The only extra part I have in the mix is making sure my son gets up and on the school bus. Once he is gone I do my yoga routine, but by then I have already had 2 cups of joe.

    Like

  3. Heather says:

    Your body and mind may have been restless, but your pictures all speak of hope to me.
    I, too, sometimes have difficulty going back to sleep in the wee hours, and my mind will plan minute details of inanity. I also tell myself that I should get up and at least do something, but then usually before I’m completely grumpy and not sleeping when I think I ought to be, I wake up and realize I was asleep.
    Thank you for the wishes for enough. I had just that, and perhaps a bit more šŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Lisa says:

    I, for one, am happy you share your life with all of us. We can all learn from each other…and our words. I very much enjoy coming here for daily visits. (Although I’ve been somewhat remiss this past week)

    Like

  5. Madhu says:

    Loved the images and your words!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

