Karma’s Spring Challenge

Karma has offered a signs of spring challenge. Her challenges are always fun, so I’ve decided to join in.

For me, spring is a time of renewal, regeneration, new beginnings, and growth. It’s a needed lift after winter, when the gray skies and cold seem as if they will never give way to sunshine and warmth.

Leopard’s Bane – which begins blooming even before the daffodils – a very welcome spot of sunshine which brings with it the promise of more. Sadly, it withers away to nothing when the summer heat sets in.

Next to the Leopard’s Bane is a tiny little Spirea – planted fairly late last summer, I’m hoping it spreads its beauty out this summer.

In the parking strip, commonly called the “hellstrip” – that section between the street and the sidewalk – are a few little Jumping Jacks, tiny little violets, smiling up at me when I go out to check the mail, cuddled next to the Weigela which is still in winter mode.

And back to the border in front of the house, we have the usual harbingers of spring, the sunny daffodils, the plants that hold so much promise and offer so much joy early in the gardening season.

Further down in the border are the Grape Muscari and the new growth of the Allium, promising to share its beauty a little later in the season.

Spring – that time that nourishes the soul and provides a space of safety and confidence in this world which seems to offer so little of both. It’s what makes me know I can continue on, and urges me to get out there and clean up the patio – my planting space. And to add that new little Floribunda rose at the end of the front border – which will offer up its little coral blooms during summer. Hope and beauty.

Spring – a season that ensures me that I have enough. I hope you do too.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Karma’s Spring Challenge

  1. lois says:

    I have spirea planted along the front of my house and it is in full bloom now–so pretty! Down here, it just stays green in the summer, after the flowers have faded. Those little Jumping Jacks are adorable. I think their faces are cuter than pansies.

    How is your leg doing?

    Like

  2. Carol says:

    I agree – I like the jumping jacks better than pansies.

    foot is getting better, slowly. Most of the swelling is gone down so the pain is much reduced. Thanks for asking.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dawnkinster says:

    Oh what a pretty yellow flower! I don’t think we have those here. And I LOVE the jumping jacks, we have a few of those that came into the garden attached to something else that someone gave me. I see lot of daffodils around but mine are just getting their bloom on. Doesn’t help that we got 5 inches of snow a few days ago, right on top of their nodding buds. I haven’t done Karma’s spring challenge yet…how long do we have?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love your Johnny-jump ups, and found it interesting that they’re called jumping Jacks where you live. They always cheer me up, wherever they pop up!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Karma says:

    I love your look at spring Carol! The weather hasn’t been great, but it is good to know at least that we are trending in the right direction. Thanks for playing along!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lisa says:

    Spring is very welcome! We had some days in the 70s….which spoiled us so much as that is warmer than normal. Now that we expect nice days, temps have plummeted back into the 30s at night and cloudy days with rain. All lovely pics that remind me that this too, shall pass! 😜

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Signs of Spring??? Photo Hunt Wrap Up | Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  8. Mike says:

    Wonderful floral pics! Not sure how I missed your post but happy Karma included a link in her photo hunt round-up. I’m really loving the Leopard’s Bane<

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Laura says:

    What lovely flowers! We have some pretties that pop up but we’ve had freeze warnings the last three nights so some of them are dying off. We lost our daffodils way too early this year!

    Like

  10. Joanne says:

    Carol, it is so good to see you are enjoying spring flowers in your garden now! It’s always interesting to hear alternate names for flowers – your Jumping Jacks, which I think are a smaller version of pansies, are called Violas here! Regardless of the names, your flowers are all so delightful. 💕

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.