Just Call Me Klutz

A week ago, Monday morning, I drove myself down the road and across the river to find the nearest Amtrak station. Well, not really a station, but a platform where the train stops. My plan was to board the train and go to Portland, where I would have lunch and then board another train to head south to my old home grounds and visit friends for a few days. That was my plan.

However, my klutzy self got in my way. I boarded the train by falling into it – blame my brain on not agreeing with my eyes, my backpack making me top heavy, and a very tall step. It went like this:

The train attendant was standing outside to the left of the door – the normal folding step they put out was not out. Because the attendant was to the left I moved to the right and reached for the grab bar – the one my eyes didn’t see but my brain insisted was there. Top heavy, stubborn brain, high step, and I plunged forward, landing on my left knee and outer ankle bone. It hurt, but I told the attendant I was fine because I thought I was, and took my seat. Fortunately, I had requested a lower level seat for that early, shorter portion of the trip.

Yeah – “I’m okay” – except by the time we got to Portland, I realized I could not put any weight on that ankle – whoops. So – we filled out the Amtrak paperwork, they called an ambulance, and I became Queen of the Day – center of attention as I was wheeled through the station on a gurney, heading to that vehicle with the blinking red lights – you know, the one that’s hard to see so no one is whispering to the nearest person about its presence. Off to the hospital we went.

The hospital part was fine – everyone was very nice, very attentive – they had people to come check me in, then another people to come do a little more checking in, then a security guard to search my belongings – that says something about where this country is, doesn’t it? They finally took me to x-ray, and it was determined that I had fractured my fibula. The fibula, it turns out, is not a weight-bearing bone, so the solution was a walking boot and a walker, and I was free to leave. Free to leave – but I’m sure in the not-too-distant future I will be notified that I did not leave for free. I had made a hotel reservation for the night, thank you iPhone and Expedia – and called Lyft for a ride there. The driver was very nice, took good care of me, and carried my bags into the hotel. The hotel staff was very nice, very helpful, and took my bags up to my room – because when using a walker, carrying bags is not much of an option. Who knew? And using the bag as a backpack was also not a very good option, it seemed. I thought I’d take the train home the next day because continuing my trip seemed a very foolish notion, but Kat said no, I’ll pick you up. Good thing, because how did I think I was going to manage my bags? I mean, the backpack thing – not doing that one again.

A modern product of Covid came to my aid – I discovered what a wonderful thing Door Dash is. And how nice a lot people really are. My Door Dash driver brought my dinner to my room, and even opened the bottle of beer I had ordered – because I was absolutely certain that my day warranted a beer. At the very least.

Kat picked me up the next morning, brought me home, has tended me very nicely. I have learned that I can walk, slowly, with the walking boot on (hmmm, maybe that’s why they call it that), but don’t even try without it. I have learned the walker is for stability and balance, and I can do without it as long as there are things near to use for support if needed. It works now for things like getting to the bathroom, getting coffee, things like that. Not to be taken lightly, however. I am managing. Not necessarily happily, but I am managing. I will go see the local orthopedist on Tuesday, and how we proceed will be seen more clearly then. I hope.

This is interfering greatly with my patio cleanup project, and our weather has been perfect for getting outside and doing things. Of course. The birds are building new nests in the nesting boxes. The sun is shining.

But inside, there is some nice stuff happening too. Lila, my lemon tree, very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet – I cannot say lemon tree without the song popping into my head – has what I really do believe might be lemons because they seem to be very slowly getting larger:

I’ve found seven of those little guys. So exciting! I’m going to be a mom again!

And my little “Christmas” cactus has a tag that says it’s a “holiday” cactus. One half of her bloomed a couple of weeks ago, and now the other half is getting ready to take its turn.

That’s not a very good picture. Blame it on the ankle – that’s a handy excuse for everything, don’t you think?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Just Call Me Klutz

  1. Karma says:

    Oh dear Carol! So sorry to hear about this mishap. I hope you’re not in too much pain and that you are on the mend soon. I’ll be posting a spring photo hunt in a couple days – I hope you’ll be able to participate even if only from your patio!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lois says:

    A fall away from home–my worst nightmare. I am so glad that people were there to help, but mostly glad Kat was able to drive you back home.
    I Googled fibula because I was not sure which bone it was and it said a fractured fibula is a common injury in the NFL. Who knew? I hope you heal quickly, Carol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Ha! I didn’t know the fractured fibula was common in the NFL, but I guess that makes sense. If they hadn’t shown me a copy of the x-ray, I wouldn’t have known what bone the fibula was either. Could’ve been a lot worse, I just don’t like restrictions of any kind that aren’t self-imposed.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hope you;re doing OK. Your cactus is lovely. I had one very similar and gave cuttings to a lot of people, then moved house and mine died

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Margo Johnson says:

    Take care and ask for help.

    Like

  5. Joanne says:

    Oh Carol, you need to be more careful! Ha! Says I, who is sitting at home, currently awaiting my husband, who this afternoon had to dash off to take our 31 year old daughter to the emergency room at hospital. She cut her hand – deeply – slicing bread! So don’t go thinking you are the only klutz around. 😉
    And yes, lemons you have – Congratulations!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dawnkinster says:

    Oh Carol. I meant to comment on this post earlier, days earlier. It sounds so scary, to be injured and immobilized away from home and on your own. You handled it with grace. I hope you are now on the mend!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      I saw the orthopedic doctor in town yesterday – she says it’s a stable fracture, in that when I put weight on my foot neither the fibula nor the other bone (tibia?) move, so that’s a good thing. I will need to continue using the boot, and gradually move to a soft boot and therapy. The swelling is what I think causes my pain/discomfort, and it will take awhile for it to go away. In the meantime, I have the walker, or she said I could get a cane, and my neighbor brought her knee scooter over for me to use. I do think it’ll be awhile before I get back to my patio cleanup project though. Thank you for your good wishes.

      Like

  7. Lisa says:

    Not sure how I missed this post but I’m happy you are on the mend. Sounds like there were many blessings surrounding your mishap that helped you through the initial crisis. I broke my inner sesamoid bone (very rare to break that one) and had to wear an attractive wood shoe for a while. Fortunately I discovered calcium pills with boron and magnesium and was out of the shoe in 2 months. All the best to you and hope your recovered and back to your busy self. 💜

    Like

    • Carol says:

      It’s recovering. I’ll be out of the big boot in a week or two, into an ankle brace device that can be worn with any shoe that it will fit into – it’s fabric rather than metal, so it should be more comfortable. At least now I can walk more normally and the pain is gone. I was able to do some patio cleanup yesterday when we had lovely sunshine, which made me feel good.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.