Sharing My World, Week 10

Cee has again challenged us to share our world. I am going to do that, but I’m also going to share some photos I took when I tagged along with some friends to visit the wildlife refuge on Sunday afternoon. Won’t you tag along with me now?

Can you change a car tire? No, sadly I cannot. I think that’s why they make men and cell phones so you can call a man to help.

Are you a collector of anything? Over the years, far too many things. For awhile it was clown figurines, then cat figurines, always books and magazines. I’ve always said you could tell my latest obsession by the magazines I’m reading.

If you HAD to change your name, what would you change it to? Oh goodness! I have no idea. Lucy Ludlow? Have no idea where that came from. I think I’ve been a Carol for too many years to feel like I might be something else now.

What am I wearing right now? This is where you get me to confess that I rarely am dressed before 10 or 11 a.m. So right now I am in navy yoga pants, a white t-shirt and my aqua robe that has snowflakes on it.

If you could be a tree or plant, what would you be? A quaking aspen tree – because they just sway gently in the breeze, pretty much going with the flow.

And now, the photos from the wildlife refuge tour, where the bald eagles should have been abundant this time of year but seemed to want to stand way far out in the fields, the few of them we did see.

A Blue Heron that ever so kindly posed for us

A Bald Eagle, far enough away that my unsteady arms beat out the image stabilization with full zoom

Bald Eagle taking off

This is where I insert that one of our group, the dieter who is now known as the woman without all her parts (she just had her gall bladder removed) has a special effect on flying creatures. As she sneaks up, ever so slowly and quietly, the birds sense her arrival and fly away. This would be fine, if ever I was prepared enough to catch them as they fly away. In this particular instance, I was focused on the sitting bird and just accidentally clicked as it decided to leave now, I’m done thank you, it squawked.

Another Bald Eagle sitting on a post far far away

A canal, which sat quiet and still for me

Red-Tailed Hawk, sitting on an idle crane (the mechanical type)

Trumpeter Swans landing amongst various types of ducks, coots, water fowl

That completes the first part of our tour. Next time, we’ll see Snow Geese and some other things.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sharing My World, Week 10

  1. suzicate says:

    great pics; love the heron!

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Beautiful!!!! Thanks for participating in the fun!!

    Like

  3. The hawk on the crane is my favorite. So nice he cooperated for you.

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Wildlife is so hard to capture; you just never know what they’re going to do. I confess that we dress about the same until 10 or 11, minus the robe. I only really use one straight out of the shower, and otherwise, find them cumbersome.

    Like

  5. Angelia Sims says:

    Wow! What a beautiful refuge. I really, really want to see Bald Eagles in the wild. I am planning a trip soon to a lake about 100miles away. It is REALLY hard to capture birds. Their hearing is amazing! I love what you got. Very cool!!

    Like

  6. DAwn says:

    What a great place! And when I’m retired I”m not going to get dressed in real clothes for days on end. Love the red tailed hawk on the red crane!!

    Like

  7. Margie says:

    Really liking that hawk on the red equipment.

    Like

  8. Lisa says:

    Definitely a lovely place to spend time. I’d go back frequently just to “practice” catching eagles in flight. 😉

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

