Nature Needs to be Treasured

I’m reposting a portion of a post by Robin of Breezes at Dawn. Recently I posted the image below on Faceb00k because I interpreted it to mean that we are taught to worship God, who created our earth, who created all that Nature offers yet we destroy our nature with pollutions of various kinds.

 

The quotation Robin chose for her post today says essentially the same thing, I think. It’s very pertinent to how things are today.

“You carry Mother Earth within you. She is not outside of you. Mother Earth is not just your environment. In that insight of inter-being, it is possible to have real communication with the Earth, which is the highest form of prayer. In that kind of relationship you have enough love, strength and awakening in order to change your life.

Fear, separation, hate and anger come from the wrong view that you and the Earth are two separate entities, that the Earth is only the environment. That is a dualistic way of seeing.

So to breathe in and be aware of your body and look deeply into it, realise you are the Earth and your consciousness is also the consciousness of the Earth. Not to cut the tree not to pollute the water, that is not enough.

We need a real awakening, enlightenment, to change our way of thinking and seeing things. When we recognise the virtues, the talent, the beauty of Mother Earth, something is born in us, some kind of connection, love is born. That is the meaning of love, to be at one.”

~ Thich Nhat Hanh

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Nature Needs to be Treasured

  1. Carol says:

    I love your quote, which I took the liberty of using for a post on my blog. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Robin says:

    Yes, I think they mean the same thing, too, Carol. I honestly don’t understand why people think we’re separate from the earth when we are dependent on it. There’s also that little business about how everything came together on this earth, in just the right way, in order to create life as we know it. Seems to me that’s a miracle of some kind.

    Thank you for the mention and the link. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Ally Bean says:

    Great quote. Who is Hubert Reeves? Should I know of him?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lisa says:

    I understand the motivation behind this quote, but it’s too pantheistic for me. I do agree with Robin that it’s too coincidental that our planet is the only one within our entire galaxy where all the elements to support life came together in perfect unison. Obviously, I believe there is a Creator who put all the laws of nature in place within our environment to sustain life. And, it is our responsibility to take care of this creation we’ve been given. We were created to have dominion over the earth….but that word means stewardship, not lordship. Unfortunately, because we are all fallen creatures, we are not capable of fulfilling that command perfectly….but that’s not a pass to actively destroy our environment. Common sense and consideration for all life plays a huge role. One does not live at the expense of the other.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol — This is an EXCELLENT post. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. aFrankAngle says:

    Over from Robin’s Walktober. Thanks for the strong quote and your strong words to support nature. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.