Share Your World – April 24, 2017

I have been fighting with my printer this morning – lately, it’s decided not to connect with the network to allow me to print things when I want to or need to. It’s really very annoying, and I’m resisting the urge to throw it to the ground and stomp on it. My right foot, the one I twisted so energetically, would not stomp well, but I can lean on something and stomp with the left foot. Instead, I think I’ll share some more of my world, then do a shut down and restart of computer and printer, just to see if that works.

Wanting something to quench your thirst, what would you drink? To really quench thirst, I’d go for water. It has to be cold though – in the winter just out of the refrigerator without ice is fine, but in the summer, ice is a must. In warm weather, I do enjoy a cold beer after working outside, but nothing really quenches thirst like water for me.

Complete this sentence: Never In My Life Have I…. Won anything. I finally gave up on buying into opportunities to win that golden prize, or the million dollars, or even a set of knives, because it’s just not going to happen. If I want it, I’d better work for it. I guess I was not born with the winning gene.

If you could be given any gift what would it be? That’s a tough one. I have the gift of my children, my friends, life, a home, my furry girls, space to call my own. I think I’ll go the greedy route and say the gift I would like would be enough money to travel more; enough money to donate to those causes I view as worthy.

What do you do if you can’t sleep at night? Do you count sheep, toss and turn, or get up and try to do something productive? I usually don’t have a problem sleeping, but sometimes I will wake in the wee hours and sleep does not come back to find me. I lay as still and quietly as possible, because there is that eternal hope that sleep will find me soon – although it usually takes a couple of hours to do that. I try to keep my mind blank while I wait, but generally sleep isn’t returning because my mind thinks it needs to worry about things that don’t need to be worried about, at least not in the dark hours of morning.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful that life as I know it continues. I am grateful that I have been able to divorce myself, at least separate myself a little, from our political climate – a self-preservation separation. I am looking forward to the sunny days the forecast says are coming, and the continued healing of the pulled muscle in my foot so that I will soon be walking normally, rather than almost normally. I am grateful for the young man I was able to hire to rake up the pine needles and pine cones in my yard because that’s something I no longer care to deal with.

Now, I want to share my alcohol ink painting of the Homeless Man, from a photo my son took a few years ago. My Facebook friends have already seen this, so they can go no further if they choose.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Share Your World – April 24, 2017

  1. Sandra Sparks says:

    That painting is awesome! Are You selling any of your pieces

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  2. lakeafton says:

    If I was suddenly to have money, I too would travel and donate to worthy causes. I’d invite you to go with me.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the painting of the Homeless Man!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ally Bean says:

    “a self-preservation separation”

    That phrase is brilliant. I, too, am divorcing myself from politics, but find that it sneaks back into my life. Your painting is beautiful. Also, I get your printer angst. Ours is an ornery machine that I want to take a hammer to– but my kind heart + cheap nature have stopped me from doing so. Thus far.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gobblefunkist says:

    Oh wow. That painting.
    Winning something – I never participate in anything that involves winning anything because I strongly believe that unless I earned it, it’s not mine 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. leendadll says:

    I remember winning a frozen turkey from some raffle and being sooooooo happy! But years later, I rec’d a notice of certified mail and, being very in debt, didn’t collect it. The day I finally called the post office to find out the sender was the day they returned it – it was a $250 Amazon gift card drawn from an event I recently attended. It ended up going to the person who went with me and he refused to share. lol.

    your sleep story is why i take xanax and/or keep the tv on at night. my “back brain” has to be turned off (xanax) or given a distraction (tv) or it will spin all night on useless topics.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Robin says:

    Wonderful painting, Carol! I don’t have the winning gene, either. I don’t bother to enter contests for that reason. I completely understand about the “self-preservation separation.” I’ve been pulling away from opinion pieces and Facebook. I check the news in the morning and leave it at that.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.