Share Your World – May 1, 2017

Somehow another week has passed – and the world survived. My foot is improving, and I have hopes that it will be “normal” by the time I head out of town next week. In the meantime, before I must prepare myself for a trip to town – because my body deserves a massage – I want to share with Cee, and all of you, one more time.

Would you rather live where it is always hot or always cold? I know I am not the first to say this, but I would prefer moderation. I do not like extremes in much of anything, but certainly not in weather. Mid 70s to 80s works fine with me, although I don’t mind 50s and 60s for short periods of time. I could probably deal with a one-month long winter with cold temperatures – after that, it’s outstaying its welcome.

Do you prefer long hair or short hair for yourself? I prefer short hair for myself. However, my hair has never returned to the thick, coarse texture of pre-chemotherapy, and I am most unhappy with the thin, fine hair I’ve got now. Although I guess I should be glad I have hair at all.

What is your favorite month of the year? Probably May – depending on when spring decides to show up where I live. And October – again depending on when fall decides to appear. Some years it could be September. I can never decide whether my favorite season is spring or fall, because by the time each rolls around I am grateful. Spring, because it means the end of winter, and fall because it means the end of yard work.

What is the easiest way for your to learn something new? By reading, by seeing and doing, in a classroom? I am a follower of instructions, although once instructions have been read, I need to do it myself to really learn it. Whenever something new crops up that I decide I want to learn, I immerse myself completely. Although I am a half-way person when it comes to chores (like housework and yard work), I am definitely not halfway on things that really interest me.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for the improvement in my stupid twisted foot that has occurred during this past week. I am grateful for the sunny days. I am grateful for the arrival of our summer birds and flowering plants. I would be grateful for grass that would grow to a length chosen by me, then just stay there. In this week that has now arrived, I look forward to more sunny skies, getting the phlox plants I ordered and the crocosmia gifted to me in the ground, and life to continue peacefully.

Now I’d like to share a few spring photos, taken as I wander about my yard. The first is a branch of one of my aspen trees – I’ve never before seen the fluffy little whatever it is.

And one of my favorite gifts of spring, the American Goldfinch.

Finally, the awakening of the Maple tree.

That’s it for now. I wish you all enough of everything.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Share Your World – May 1, 2017

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I’m so glad that spring is finally coming your way. This week we are back to cloudy (hardly any rain) and cold. Thanks Carol for sharing. Let’s hope for lots more sun and spring.

    Like

  2. Carol — I love the photo of the aspen tree branch!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like so many songbirds, but the American Goldfinch is right up there – their little giggling chatter makes me grin.

    Sorry to hear about your foot – hope it heals quickly for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lovely blog post, I try to be grateful but some days it’s hard. We had more rain in April then ever recorded and had the most rain on 1 May in 100 years. But I am grateful that the leaves are beginning, grass is very green and growing. Next week, my youngest niece gets married and we’ll have great weekend together with family. Love your ink art too.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m with you on those temperatures!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dawnkinster says:

    Somewhere along the line I’ve missed what happened to your foot? Hope it’s better soon…real soon. And I have also missed where it is you are traveling. I guess I need to go back and read when I get home!

    Regardless….May is my favorite month too. So much hope for a great summer. October is not so bad either.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      No, you haven’t missed where I’m traveling because I hadn’t mentioned it before. A friend and I are going to visit another friend who lived in our neighborhood, but moved to Santa Fe, New Mexico a couple of years ago. My foot? The klutz in me somehow twisted it as I was coming in the house, which made me spin around (gracefully I’m sure), fall down, whack my head on the doorframe, land on my left hand, day lots of words, etc. that was about ten days ago, I think.

      Like

  7. I’m glad to the point that spring is at last coming your direction. This week we are back to overcast and icy. Much obliged Carol for sharing. We should seek after parcels more sun and spring….

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

