Share Your World – February 20, 2017

February in my neck of the woods is a gray month. Oh, we get bits and pieces of sunshine now and then, and occasionally it will manage to last for nearly a whole day, but those days seem to be few in number. That adds to the cabin fever that visits me in February every year – although I think this year it arrived in January. One of the ways I escape the gray, if only for a little while, is to immerse myself in the computer, and sharing with Cee is a good way to do that.

When you cut something with scissors, do you move your jaw (as if you were about to chew)? I don’t think so. I tried to test this yesterday, but I was so aware of what I was doing, I’m not sure I got an accurate reading. I can tell you that I hold my mouth open when I put mascara on though.

Do you chew your pens and pencils? No – I don’t think I’ve ever done that. I don’t chew my nails either, but I do pick at them a lot.

Are you a collector of anything? If so what? I think I’m a collector of way too much. I have a collection of cat figurines, for a long while I collected clown figurines (those are all gone now), then there was the time I collected small pewter figurines. And hobbies – I collect hobbies. When I move on to a new hobby, which happens every couple of years I think, you can tell by looking around my house what I’m into now. Currently, it’s alcohol ink painting. It’s just everywhere.

What size is your bed? My bed is a queen size, which is a good size. Now. When husband was still alive and Bailey could still get up on the bed, it was way too small. Bailey is a black lab/border collie mix and always sleeps on her side, legs stretched out. In the middle of the bed. Which meant we each had a small space on the edges of the bed. Plus, we always had a cat that would be sharing my space with me. Then Bailey’s old hips wouldn’t let her get on the bed, but we had gotten Shasta, who also likes the middle of the bed, although she sleeps more curled. And likes to snuggle up right against me.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for having a hobby to keep me occupied during these gray February days. I am grateful for the one afternoon when the temperature was pretty nice and the sun was shining, and I went outside and swept pine needles off the front deck, which I could finally do because the warmer temperatures and rainy days had melted the snow off it. I am looking forward to being one week closer to spring.

Yesterday, I decided to paint this tile with a little tree frog on the flower stem – I found the reference photo on Pixabay. As usual, when I first finished it I was not happy with it, but today I like it better. That’s pretty normal for me.
flower-frogwww
Followed by a shameless pitch for my other blog: http://inkarts.wordpress.com. I’d love to have you visit!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World – February 20, 2017

  1. ghostmmnc says:

    That frog painting is wonderful! He’s so cute. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Joanne says:

    I adore your froggy painting, Carol! It’s one of my favourites so far. Moving your jaw whilst cutting must be a habit some people have (as Cee said it!) but one I’ve never heard of before. I know I don’t do it. I sew (a lot) and would have noticed, or someone else would have mentioned it, if I did.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love the frog! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. February is the longest month, even if it has fewer days. I always feel we should celebrate making it to March first.

    Love the froggy. šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lakeafton says:

    Cute frog. I like it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    Oh Carol, I so adore your title. It’s perfect and oh so bright cheerful.

    Like

  7. That frog painting is brilliant! He’s so cute…I so venerate your title. It’s ideal and very brilliant sprightly.

    Like

  8. leendadll says:

    i love the flower/frog painting! I enrolled in a silk scarf painting class in mid-March.

    i saw an online pic of a “pet friendly” bed that was a King (or larger) with a full, sideways, at the end (where a foot board or chest would usually go). Great idea if you have the room! I had 4 cats in bed with me last night, all sleeping against me. It was great when I first went to bed and was cold but horrible when I woke up at 4am, roasting to death. I had to move to the living room sofa.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Robin says:

    I love the little tree frog. How cute! I collect hobbies, too. Sometimes I wish I would just settle down into one, but where’s the fun in that? šŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Heather says:

    That is the happiest little frog šŸ™‚
    That’s a funny question about the cutting. I don’t think I do it, but I bet Tony does. He moves his jaw as he plays guitar. I’ve noticed a lot of musicians do this.
    I chewed my nails when I was a little girl, and then decided to quit when I was in the fourth grade. I remember the moment in math class. I’m still a moderate picker though. Is that dirt? I better dig it out!
    Petey is not good at sharing the bed either, so he isn’t allowed on the bed until about half an hour before we get up. He likes to snuggle at first, but then he gets hot, and it all turns to pushing and kicking.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

