Dark Skies

I feel like the skies over our world have darkened, obliterating any light that might come through, threatening the future for all of us. The news is bleak.
2012 06 24_2933

The news from Paris is frightening, the inhumanity of mankind is frightening, extremism seems to be running rampant. It makes me wonder if there is any hope for mankind. It’s as if we are reliving the horrors of 9/11.

The knee-jerk reactions from the powers that be are also frightening to me. The response to the horror in Paris is to inflict more horror upon Syria and other countries where ISIS is destroying life. The governors of Alabama and Michigan have said they will not take immigrants from Syria – because one of the terrorists in Paris came into France with a stream of immigrants. But does that make all immigrants a threat to us? Aren’t the majority of them simply trying to escape the same horrors that we are fighting? Will barring immigrants stop the terror? Have we forgotten that it was immigrants that built this country? Has anyone noticed that at least one of the terrorists was a citizen of France? Are any of these reactions the best answer? I don’t know.

I don’t know the answers. I only know that I fear the children of my grandchildren will have no peace, no sunshine, no place of safety. We have a government that does not work, a world population that knows no compromise, no willingness to allow the freedom of choice so that we can each believe as we wish, no moderation.

Darkness seems to be descending.
2012 03 28_1878

I pray for light. I pray for understanding. I pray for peace.
IMG_2700

Now I’m going to go back to bed, and hope that when I awaken again the sun will be shining and my mind will not be filled with foreboding.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dark Skies

  1. Your pictures definitely show your dark despair. I hope tomorrow will be a sunnier day with a bright outlook. I don’t know what the solution will be, but we can’t live in a shell. Besides, that could be the day the roof caves in. It is better to live with hope and compassion and not let our enemies take the joy of life away.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      You are very right. I just get this desperate feeling when it appears we do not learn from the past and we are so quick to spread condemnation over a large group of people.

      Like

  2. LG says:

    And on the other side of the world, Nature’s fury (our incessant rains and resultant floods in my hometown – Chennai) has brought out the humanness in us – strangers helping strangers, opening their homes to homeless and citizens joining with the government to help rescue people.
    I am really confused about our species. What are we? Angels or devils?

    Like

  3. Lisa says:

    That cloud capture is stunning….and disturbing at the same time. As are the events in the world. I do sympathize with the legitimate refugees. But, how do we vett them to weed out the terrorists? No one wants to risk another 9/11. And it’s a strong probability there are already terrorist sleeper cells living in our nation already…just waiting for their orders. Our nation was built on immigrants, but didn’t include people who wanted to destroy the country. It’s very frustrating to want to offer that better life to legitimate immigrants, yet needing to use common sense so to not putting those ideals in jeopardy. I have no answers. Just prayers.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Lisa, I’m not sure there is an answer. Man has been committing horrific acts of violence since the beginning of time, I think, in the name of his beliefs – think the crusades. My concern now is whether we’re going to repeat the ostracizing and punishment of a ethnic group that we inflicted on the Japanese during the Second World War. It seems the older I get, the more deeply I feel.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  4. Carol — Your photographs are a stunning representation of how you feel.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Robin says:

    I wish we humans would give up religions as it seems to me they are at the root of most evil done in the world.
    Your dark clouds are beautiful. Even in that darkness, the light is visible.

    Like

  6. lakeafton says:

    I REALLY THOUGHT WHAT YOU WROTE WAS WORTH REPEATING. I TOOK THE LIBERTY OF COPYING IT TO MY BLOG TODAY.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Heather says:

    I echo the others’ sentiments about your photo choices.
    I too despair at our nation’s response to this. I wish we were better at weighing relative risks than we are, and I also wish our first response wasn’t grounded in fear.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.