Dear World

Dear World, I have a few things I want to say to parts of this world. Just because I can. Nothing terribly important, prophetic or philosophical, just some words I want to share.

Dear Government, I think it would be really nice and helpful if you could stop arguing amongst yourselves, one party against another, and simply get down to business. Oh, and while you’re at it, perhaps showing some respect for the President would also be good? I don’t care who the president is, his position deserves some respect. I’m not asking you to agree with him all the time, you understand? If you could do those things, then perhaps I would have some respect for you and maybe even feel that my vote matters.

Dear Mother Nature, could you be kind to my part of the world until after the New Year? I really want to be able to safely drive over the mountains to fetch my loved ones from the airport over there for the holidays – because TSA cannot see fit to come back to our town enabling us to have flight service here. Once they are safely back on their way home, you can bury us in snow, I won’t care. I don’t think I’m asking too much, really, am I?

Dear Deer,
P1050214
You really are welcome to visit my yard anytime you wish. I like to watch you and admire your beauty and your grace. But could you, would you, please not munch on my roses? I mean, they’re not prize winners, they are simply Rugosa roses, the kind that will survive our climate, but I do like them and would like to enjoy them for many more years.

Dear Bloggy Friends, it’s amazing to me how much you have all added to my world and how close I feel to many of you, despite the fact that we have never met and may never meet in person.

Dear Squirrels,
P1050210
P1050207
P1050206
I do love watching your antics and listening to you running across my roof. I give you points for ingenuity when it comes to finding food, but I do think lifting the lid of the feeder and climbing in is cheating a little. Just a little. You have to remember to share with the birds. It seems the chipmunks may have gone into hibernation since I’ve not seen them for a couple of days, so there is that much less competition now. Play nice.

Dear Me,
I am so glad it seems you are finally getting over yourself and giving yourself a little break. I mean, really! You have been acting like the world will end if you don’t accomplish, accomplish, accomplish. It seems you’re finally figuring out it will not – and so what if there’s some dust on your furniture and some clutter here and there? Are you expecting critics to come visit? I think not, and I think it’s good that you’re figuring that out. After all, there is only one of you living here with your furry girls and so how much do you think needs to be done every day? You don’t need to be able to eat off your floor, and you are who you are. Not perfect. Never have been, never will be. Accept it.

Whew! Just needed to get that out of my system. I feel so much better now.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dear World

  1. Robin says:

    Great series of letters, Carol, and those squirrel pictures made me laugh. I feel the same way about my Bloggy Friends, too. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love your letters to the world. I hope the weather is kind to you, because I know you really look forward to having your kids visit for the holidays! Have a wonderful time. šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh how FUN. I loved reading your letters!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joanne says:

    Respect, kindness, caring, sharing and self-respect, wouldn’t the world be a better place if everyone felt this way towards others? ā¤

    Like

  5. LG says:

    Your letter to yourself is written to me. Or I wish it were. I am still chasing shadows trying to accomplish accomplish accomplish.

    Like

  6. Great letters! I will keep my fingers crossed that the weather stays good until the airport trip is over. I think your squirrels must be related to mine – they are very clever at finding their way into the bird feeders!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Dawn says:

    I agree that everyone should respect the position of President of the United States, even if you don’t agree with his (or her) politics. I have unfriended people that lack that respect. When their guy was in office I didn’t bombard social media with slurs, taunts and rude remarks. He was still the President. I don’t understand why people need to be disrespectful.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. loisajay says:

    Dear Carol, this was great. Your squirrels are an absolute riot! Dear squirrels: thanks so much for the laughs and for the reminder that there is no way in hell I could ever hang by my toes and eat upside down! šŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Heather says:

    I loved these šŸ™‚
    And I am so glad to have met you online! I agree that my bloggy friends have added so much to my world. Thank you for being part of it. And for taking it easier on yourself. Now, could you pass a little of that wisdom my way?

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

