Remembering Why I Started

A day or so ago, Flamingo Dancer posted a blog “Remember Why You Started”, a nostalgic look back at why she started blogging. This triggered my thoughts about starting to blog – remembering why and when. It was back in the fall of 2009, I believe, when I started a blog on Blogspot with the goal of keeping friends and family advised of where we were and what we were doing while we were on vacation, driving back to Minnesota to visit brother and sis-in-law. Long ago and far away, I think those posts no longer exist – I migrated to my own website for awhile, using WordPress software, then to WordPress where I have stayed quite happily.

Looking back at the oldest posts available to me now, starting in January of 2012, I see a change in my postings. A change I’m not certain I’m pleased with. In those earliest days, the days of Blogspot probably, many of my posts did not contain photos. The addition of photos – beyond those first posts on vacation – happened as time went on. Many of the posts without photos were voicing thoughts and opinions of items seen in the news, as I recall. That changed, I started playing more with the camera, and playing more with words. The days I see now as the fun days in my blogging. But reading those in my WordPress archives, I feel like I am less creative now. Using less imagination. Drier. Boring? Yet those days were more fraught with stress and problems than my days are now. So what happened?
P1010863

I am living in the same world, yet it is not the same world. I am in the same body – well, a semblance of the same body. Gravity has been winning more of our battles, the skin is less elastic, is showing more character (that’s what we call wrinkles, you know), wearing a few more badges of honor for having lived a few more years, more of my body is in my feet I think – at least they seem to have grown some. Yeah, changes happen. Change is the constant. But through change I think it critical to preserve humor, to be able to poke fun at yourself, to find the best there is in each day. I wonder if I’m losing that. I want to work on finding more of it.
P1030490

I want to play more with my camera. I want to sit less, move more. I want to broadcast my foibles, lest you all begin to think I am just too perfect. Yeah, that’s going to happen, right? I want to grow feistier as I grow older. I want to walk down the street, dragging my cane along the metal fence posts, announcing my presence. I want to spend my Social Security on brandy – no, make that wine – and chocolate. I shall wear a purple dress with a red hat (Warning by Jenny Joseph), paint my house pink with purple polka dots, talk to the birds, the squirrels, the rabbits. Raise chickens. Ride my quad in circles in the dirt, pretending to be a Moto-X contender. And then I want to take a nap. So I can awaken refreshed and ready to go again.
P1040682

I want to be – who I was. I want to be – young at heart. I want to be – the old lady walking down the street who makes people think “Oh no! What is she up to now!” Or something like that. I want to be me, but better.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Remembering Why I Started

  1. loisajay says:

    I want to walk with you! This was such a fun read, Carol. “…dragging my cane along the metal fence posts,” Oh, that so resonates with me! I am toasting you now, girl! Better you shall be.

    Like

  2. jay53 says:

    You want to be Nanny Ogg – a Discworld character who benevolently terrorises 99% of the world (including her own daughters-in-law, who do ALL her housework and cooking – or else), trades heavily on being a ‘little old grey-haired lady to get her own way, cracks walnuts with her teeth, passes off incredibly strong alcoholic beverages to people with the words ‘it’s made of fruit .. well, mostly fruit’, cooks bizarre and dangerously aphrodisiac food, and basically does exactly what she wants to do, when she wants to do it. She always has a snack, money and/or alcohol hidden under her knicker elastic, and loves her (‘Ooos a gooboyden?’) vicious and mangy tomcat. And I want to be her, too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I join Loisajay in toasting YOU. Wait a sec… what’s that I hear? Oh, it’s Carol dragging her cane along the metal fence posts. Now I’m smiling 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Lisa says:

    Oh, my dear Aunt Carol, where have you been all my life? Sometimes I think you and I are two peas in a pod. I just turned fifty, and I am more fabulous now than I was even five years ago. So I will help you paint your house, and when we finish, you can help me paint mine. And I will bring along a cane, and we’ll make double the noise. I will wear a red dress with a purple hat to compliment yours. Then we can sit in the woods with wine and chocolate covered strawberries and marvel at what a wonderful, colorful, blessed world we live in! Love you!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Robin says:

    Cheers to you, Carol, and all of the outrageous things you will do! 🙂

    Like

  6. Joanne says:

    I’m sure I will love you, no matter what you do, Carol! But remember, when you are becoming the eccentric lady you portray here, I still want to see photos! (As I grow older, I will be the crazy cat lady, you know, the one with eleven cats! 😉 )

    Like

  7. Creative Habits says:

    Me, but better – I echo that intent!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I like your list of who you want to be, Carol. I feel that too, I want to be feisty and adventurous and young at heart until the day I die, if my health and physical stamina allow me to! I’ll also be happy spending my Social Security on wine. Maybe not chocolate but something salty. And I’d love to be more creative, more adventurous and more outgoing, and to walk more than sit. I can certainly relate to all of the above. You go for it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You may think your posts have changed over time and that you have more mundane topics to cover, but I always love your eye catching photos, your marvelous sense of humor and the words of wisdom that come from your “elusive mind”. Keep on blogging, Carol. You are wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. dawnkinster says:

    I know what you’re saying. I often think the addition of photographs has been the demise of my writing. I don’t have to paint pictures with words when I can just insert a photo. I think my writing was, for the most part, better in the beginning. I have my very first posts…I was with a different server, and we migrated the file to WordPress..but I lost a good chunk in the middle because the file was too big. Ah well.

    I agree we should age, not gracefully, but vividly. I’m with you.

    Like

  11. Karma says:

    This is a great post. I hope that declaring who you want to be will cause you to do it, and keep us all informed along the way!

    Like

  12. Lynne Ayers says:

    I enjoyed this post, Carol. I’m at the point now where I find I actually look GOOD in purple, but wine is giving me such a flush it’s uncomfortable. I’ve talked to the birds and squirrels for years and have full conversations with my friend, Cooper-the-lab-mix. I may not run my cane along the metal fencing, because I live in the country and there isn’t any, but you will find me shushing me feet through piles of dead leaves just to listen to the sound. But you’ll never see me in a red hat. I don’t wear hats.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Love this… I think about getting older and what that will look like. My mother is still around and will hit her 70th birthday this year. She looks great for her age! I will be 52 next month. Yep, she was a young mom. My daughter dates a young man whose parents are the same age as MINE!? ick…. he is only 32. But still.
    I love the way you look at life and think about getting older not gracefully but kicking and screaming, sliding in on our butt saying “man what a ride!” 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  14. leendadll says:

    that 2nd pic is hysterical!
    fyi: You’re suddenly getting comments from me because i saw you in FD’s comments and added you to my blogroll (trying to re-expand my neighborhood)

    Liked by 1 person

  15. So your post begs the question – what’s keeping you from being as free and creative and silly and funny as you want to be, or feel you could be on the inside?

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

