Share Your World – 2015 Week 27

Another week, another chance to play with Cee.

1. What is your favorite month of the year? Usually I think spring months, May and June, but then September and October roll around and I would probably choose them. No, I cannot choose just one month. My least favorite times are the hot days of summer and winter days that are laced with ice – if I have to go out.

2. Do you drink coffee at all? Yes. Nowadays I have two cups in the morning, the first caffeinated and the second non-caffeinated. When husband and I still lived in SoCal, we often went to a local coffee shop where we could sit outside and relax with a cup of hot Mexican coffee (or what they called Mexican coffee) in the cool weather and a blended banana mocha coffee in the warm weather.

3. What was one of your first moneymaking jobs (other than babysitting or newspaper delivery)? I think my very first non-babysitting money making job was when I was about 12, and I worked at a drug store stocking shelves. Briefly. It seems the manager of the store was overly friendly and I fled after only a couple of days. Back to babysitting.

4. List: If you play video/computer games list 5 games you like? These days I play some games on my iPad – more often than I sometimes think I should. For the most part, I try to pick games that make me think a bit, exercising the old brain. Right now my favorites are:
1. Bubble Witch Saga 2
2. Words Tour
3. Alpha Betty – sometimes
4. solitaire
5. Crossword puzzles

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I think what I am most grateful for during the heat of this past week are the fans I have scattered about my house and the one on the front deck, which I would turn on to bolster the evening breeze while I enjoyed the squabbles of the hummingbirds and a cold beer. I am looking forward to the cooler weather that is to be here this week, and maybe even getting out and getting some yard work done.

The photos I’ve chosen to share this week are some I’ve taken as I sit on the deck.

One of the Rufous Hummingbirds that has declared all feeders his territory
P1040703

and sits, wings rarely still, poised to fend off the interloper Anna’s Hummingbirds should they attempt to feed.
P1040702

The most recent visitors to the nectar feeders are a pair of White-Headed Woodpeckers – this the female – that have become frequent visitors, and who the Rufous do not disturb.
P1040638

P1040637

I wish for all of you during this week a life filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World – 2015 Week 27

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Glad to hear you are getting a break in this heat. We are but not that much. We are slowly getting some plants planted, but we fear it is too sunny and hot for newly transplanted babies. πŸ˜€ Thanks so much for sharing this week.

    Like

  2. Carol β€” Like you, I don’t like months with ice in the forecast. I’ll take a greeting card dusting of snow, but not ice. I love your photos of the white-headed woodpeckers.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Robin says:

    Lovely hummingbird. We only have the Ruby-Throated variety here so it’s always fun to see a different type. I chuckled at the woodpecker and how the hummingbird doesn’t chase them away. I like the more temperate months, too, but always a enjoy a good snow day (if I don’t have to drive in it).

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Karma says:

    Love your hummingbird photos. I haven’t managed to grab a shot of my ruby-throated hummingbird this year, despite his being a frequent, and very territorial, visitor to my feeder.

    Like

  5. pattisj says:

    I agree, “enough” is a good place to be. Fun to see your hummingbirds and hear of their territorial disputes.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. jay53 says:

    Here’s something I’ve always wondered but never asked: do you get bees and wasps at the nectar feeder too? Or is it really just birds?

    Like

  7. Joanne says:

    The two birds you show here are hugely different in size and appearance. Your birds are so different to my backyard friends and I love seeing the variations between our country’s wildlife. I hope the heat doesn’t become too unbearable for you this summer. Apparently we are in for a cold snap. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lisalisa says:

    I’m an Autumn lover, but think each season has it’s beauty. I love spring after a hard, cold winter. And sometimes the summer heat feel good after a cool spring. I love the smell of coffee, but not the taste….in anything! Solitaire is my go-to game but I’ve been known to play Bubble Pop with Peanut from time to time. πŸ™‚ I’ve seen our hummers, but there aren’t as many as in years past. Probably gone to warmer, drier climates!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. dawnkinster says:

    I think, now that I’m retired, that I like all months! We’ll see how that theory pans out as we get to winter. Did not know woodpeckers liked nectar! We don’t have more than one kind of hummingbird, at least I don’t think so. Ours are green. Hey! I saw a bird I’ve never seen before when Katie and I were camping yesterday….I’ll post about it eventually.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

