Sharing my World – Week 23

I’m a day behind because my internet died Saturday night and did not return until Sunday night. I believe it was an operator’s error (husband being operator), but he says no. Do you have any idea how crippling having no internet is? My normal morning routine is to sit with my coffee, check the weather, check Facebook, read email, read and comment on blogs, then do my blog. All of which requires internet. Yesterday morning, with no internet, I was forced into . . . horrors of horrors! I had to actually do some HOUSEWORK!

Ahh, but today we are back to normal and I am now ready to participate in Cee’s sharing of our worlds.

1. You are com­fort­able doing noth­ing? For long stretch­es of time? No, not really. I am content to sit with a glass of wine on my deck and watch nature’s world for awhile, but rarely do I sit and do absolutely nothing for any length of time. Even watching TV, I need something to occupy my hands – hence, the knitting. Before I quit smoking, the cigarettes kept my hands happy. Just not so good for my body.

2. If you could inher­it a vaca­tion home any­where in the world in which you could spend two months a year, where would it be? On the coast, preferably the Oregon coast. Or maybe I should get an RV with an endless supply of gas, then I could drive it to wherever my whims took me.

3. If you were instant­ly able to play one musi­cal instru­ment per­fect­ly that you never have played before, what would it be? Oh gosh. I don’t know – probably the guitar or maybe a harp. If I had a harp and could sit and play it, maybe people would think I’m an angel. Or not.

4. Would you rather be given $10,000 for your own use or $100,000 to give anony­mous­ly to strangers? I would love to have $100,000 to give as I see fit, but to be completely honest at this point in my life, living on a fixed income, I’d have to say I’d take the $10,000. That would let me have laminated wood installed in my house – no more carpet!! Maybe even some new cupboards and tile backsplash – ceramic with glass tiles inserted here and there.

Today I think I’ll share some photos I took when we drove back to Minnesota; actually, I’ll probably be sharing some photos from that trip for a few days. If any of you were following me way back then, when I was on Blogger, you may see some repeats. Today I’ll share some old buildings – I love the bits of history that can be found out in the middle of nowhere, in this case I think it was North Dakota.

20120514-090815.jpg

20120514-090850.jpg

20120514-090915.jpg

20120514-090939.jpg

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sharing my World – Week 23

  1. Heather says:

    I love an old barn! I attribute being a farmer’s daughter as the reason the last picture is my favorite.
    Cee comes up with some good questions. I might have cheated on the money question. I’d love to have $100,000 to give to those I know. I would be fine with the anonymity still.
    As for the internet, we had a stint with ours where it would go down for hours at a time…and we use it for telecommuting. We took lots of walks, which I’ll admit is better than housework!

    Like

  2. “…horrors of horrors! I had to actually do some HOUSEWORK!”

    Still laughing. The faded red barn is my favorite. (I’d take the 10,000 for home repairs too)…

    Like

  3. The other day my daughter Bea turned off the internet so she could do some serious studying for her IB tests. I was so impressed with her self-discipline that I had to Mom Up and do without. It did make me realize how dependent I am upon it. These photos are beautiful, Carol.

    Like

  4. Being without the internet when I am on vacation is a welcome break; but having an unplanned separation can leave me frantically wondering what emails I am missing, or who posted on their blog and I need to catch up. As for the housework, that never goes away. It has to happen with or without the internet. Some things don’t change.

    Like

  5. Lisa says:

    We’ve had intermittent problems with our phone/Internet. It’s been “fixed” three times in a month. Yeah, right. I’d take a vacay home anywhere in the tropics. Any.where. The $10K question is a hard one. In this economy, there’s so much that money would help in our budget…yet, there’s so many more deserving people. Hard choice. Love the red barn! I bet it was a grand site in its prime.

    Like

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    Carol, I already think you are an angel!!!!
    I love your photos of Minnesota!!! Especially the old red barn!

    Like

  7. Lynne Ayers says:

    Boy, pictures of times past – nothing stays the same …

    Like

  8. Joanne says:

    I love the barn photo Carol. When my son arrived back from the States, he said one of the things he liked about road travel there is how there are tiny towns, after about half an hours drive, so you never feel quite as remote as when taking a road trip in Australia. In some areas here, you can drive for hours, with no sign of civilisation!

    It sounds like your morning routine is similar to mine, and I would be at a loss if the internet was down too! 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

