What Happens When the Brain Disengages but the Mouth Does Not

This morning I’m going to share with you photos taken in the Badlands in North Dakota during our 2009 trip to Minnesota. As for the words I’ll share, who knows? I’ve had thoughts for blogs flit through my head when I’m doing something that prevents me from making notes, which means I do not now have a clue what those ideas were. So be it – possibly this post will consist mainly of photos.

20120515-073515.jpg

That nature can create such majesty amazes me. The complexity, the recognition of how many different components must come into play to create such beauty is just mind-boggling. Almost as amazing to me was that we so no manmade debris laying around on the ground when we were there. It was very windy and I wonder, if one were to work their way down to the gullies, to the crevices between these huge, carved mounds of rock, would there be the tell-tale paper or styrofoam cup hidden under the foliage? Does the wind blow it all into hiding?

20120515-074001.jpg

Or could it be that our soda/coffee/beer guzzling populace no longer frequents the great outdoors? Could it be that that populace is hidden away in buildings, behind computer monitors, mesmerized by video games? I choose to hope that, faced with such compelling beauty, our populace restrained themselves from disposing of their debris where they stood, showing respect for what took more than the lifetime of many men to create.

20120515-074356.jpg

Today is primary election day in our area. Sadly, I could not, would not, vote in this primary. When we moved here, husband and I decided that we would register with different parties of choice to assure we would receive literature from both parties. That was back in the day when we were non-partisan and voted by person, not by party. That was before our government became so partisan they could not work together and make choices for the good of the country and its people. Before I decided I could not fight them so I must join them, and realized I was registered in the wrong party, the party for whom I simply cannot, in good conscience, vote for its candidates. I do not like this. I do not like this, Sam I am – I do not like green eggs and ham.

20120515-074912.jpg

Last night I watched Dancing With the Stars because it has lured me in, with its mindless, requires no thought and little concentration viewing opportunity. I marvel at the way those people move, the footwork, the grace, the drama – without tripping over themselves! Were I to try that, I am certain that not only would I promptly trip myself, but on the way down I would undoubtedly knock over anyone near me as I flailed about. I have never ever been accused of being graceful. Or coordinated.

20120515-075408.jpg

We’ll close out this series of photos with one in which Bailey is more or less front and center. This was before Shasta joined our family, so only Bailey accompanied us. A bit reluctantly – she prefers short rides and I had made her life less comfortable by suggesting we remove the second and third seats in the van so she could have her bed on the van floor – thinking it would make her happier. Wrong! She did not like that at all, but by the time I figured that out it was far too late. She humored us, but not without letting us know how she was suffering. She did enjoy it when we stopped and she could get out and gather information. And stretch and do the other things dogs do when they’re outside.

I think now we are leaving North Dakota, although in truth we drove through that state when we left Minnesota, heading north to Canada. I will try, in future, to get back into sequence although I have completely skipped the early part of the trip. Sequence be gone! I shall share as it moves me.

For today, I am done sharing. There are other things requiring my attention. I wish you all enough on this day!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What Happens When the Brain Disengages but the Mouth Does Not

  1. To share as it moves you is a good thing! Thank you for sharing with us, Carol! Lovely pictures, and I enjoy hearing your thoughts over a cup of coffee.

    Like

  2. cobbies69 says:

    I think I like North Dakota. Your pictures are fab advert with your words to match… šŸ˜‰

    Like

  3. “Sequence be gone! I shall share as it moves me.”

    You made me laugh!

    Like

  4. Lynne Ayers says:

    A few things made me smile today –
    which means I do not now have a clue what those ideas were šŸ™‚
    I do not like green eggs and ham – my 6 yr old grandson memorized this whole book and ‘read’ it to me šŸ™‚
    but on the way down I would undoubtedly knock over anyone near me – perhaps I should post my most embarrassing moment … šŸ™‚
    Let’s hope that people finally have the message: NO littering! Is that possible? šŸ™‚
    and
    Sequence be gone! I shall share as it moves me. – amen šŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    I am constantly amazed at how beautiful utter desolation in nature can be. I, too, hope that our populace chose not to litter. I think that not seeing trash on the ground helps encourage folks to keep their own trash in their possession – sort following the set example.
    For politics, I wish we’d just get rid of parties altogether and just vote for what the candidates believe….or say they believe, but that’s another story entirely.

    Like

  6. The pictures are wonderful, but your musings are fascinating… I never thought about where debris in the wide outdoors might gather… and looking at those majestic views, it’s both a relief and a wonder that more people haven’t spoiled them.

    As to politics, don’t get me started…

    (I’m inhaling, I’m exhaling, I’m inhaling, I’m exhaling…)

    Like

  7. orples says:

    Wow. We sure do live in a beautiful Country. I would love to do some trail riding through those gorges and some of the less rocky areas. I’ll bet there are some sights to be seen from the back of a horse. You got some breath taking shots, Carol.

    Like

  8. Lisa says:

    Never been to ND, but the scenery is very majestic! You took Bailey?! What a great trip!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

