Share Your World – 2016 Week 14

After being AWOL for a couple of weeks, I decided to reenter the world and share some more of my part of that world with Cee and those of you who choose to read my thoughts.

1. If you could hire someone to help you, would it be with cleaning, cooking, or yard work? Yard work, first and foremost. Although I enjoy some of it, I would like less of it. Then cleaning – just maybe every three months or so, to do the real deep cleaning parts that I tend to ignore. Cooking is not a problem, most of the time, and when I really don’t feel like cooking a large green salad works for me.

2. What makes you laugh the most? Usually something one of my furry girls does, or one of the outside critters does. Sometimes something I see on TV or in a movie. Although I think I would like to laugh more, there is more laughter in my life than tears, and that’s a precious thing.

3. What was your favorite food when you were a child? Mashed potatoes topped with butter and peas. Yum. Even now, that’s something I really enjoy, although I don’t make mashed potatoes very often. Usually only when Gep is home and requests them. From “real potatoes”, he says.

4. List at least five favorite flowers or plants. Oh! Peonies. Lilacs. Daffodils. Heliotrope, because it has the most wonderful scent. Angel wing Begonias. Any flower that is brightly colored and lightly scented. Anything that blooms in the spring helps to wash away the winter doldrums. Anything that blooms in the summer sun, laughing at the heat. Anything that blooms in the fall, prolonging the season, abating the onset of thoughts of winter.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for life. For conversations with loved ones, hugs, wagging puppy tails, the bird song, watching the swallows pick their summer residences. I am looking forward to continued spring weather, more green sprouting from the warming soil, waking each morning to puppy kisses.

The month of March brought bright skies and persistent squirrels, along with the other joys that come with spring.
2016-03-26 07.03.11

File Mar 02, 6 34 49 AM.jpeg

P1050427

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Share Your World – 2016 Week 14

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this week Carol. I enjoyed reading your answers. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the smell of peonies and so if you say Heliotrope has a wonderful scent, well I must search them out now and smell them!

    Like

  3. Your squirrel photo made me smile because that is just what they do in my garden too! Mashed potato topped with butter and peas – I might have to give that a try.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mashed potatoes and peas — yes please!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I used to love mashed potatoes and peas as a child too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Peonies are perfect!! I also would get help with yard work, as I don’t enjoy any of it, even gardening, which so many people adore. I love mashed potatoes any time, but with gravy only, no peas please. I’m glad the spring is coming along to bring us all out of the gray winter doldrums. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. lakeafton says:

    My daughter and I drove across Virginia yesterday. The redbud bushes and trees were most beautiful beside the new green leaves. Glorious!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Moon in Capricorn says:

    I love peonies, too. I really don’t think there’s a flower I don’t love. Each is so unique and so beautiful. Nature is a wondrous source of fascination.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Heather says:

    My mom used to make new potatoes with creamed peas. I haven’t had it in eons, but I always loved that. I bet I’d enjoy real mashed potatoes and buttered peas 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. pattisj says:

    Wow, that squirrel’s tail is impressive! It looks healthy and well-fed. My cousin like peas mixed into her mashed potatoes, too. I don’t think I ever tried it.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Kathy says:

    Carol, I am reading blogs again and just had a rush of delight coming to your blog. Have so missed everyone–even though loved the time away, as well. You strike me as a person who remembers to be grateful, who recognizes what is “enough”. Not that we can always live it. But it delights me to see that a person is trying. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Karma says:

    Love your answers to #4 – those are some of my favorites as well. You’ve posted some lovely photos once again – thanks for that, I’ve been locally uninspired myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. gahlearner says:

    The way you described the flowers you love is wonderful, made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Lisa says:

    You aren’t the only one who has been AWOL in the blogosphere! I feel like I’ve been away for months. Once again, your answers are a mirror into my inner self. There’s not way I could pick just a few favorite plants/flowers. Hope the weather has straightened up for you. We are still looking at frost and freeze warnings at night! Blech.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Kathy says:

    Wonderful to hear there’s been more laughter in your life than tears. More sunshine than rain. Hoping you’ve had a good week, Carol. I am back to reading blogs on the weekend and enjoying it very much, even some “older” posts.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

