Yearning

Cabin fever has come early this year and I find myself yearning for warm sandy beaches, the sounds of waves slapping the shoreline – the desire to go. As I look out my window and see snowflakes in the air – again – and the cold, cold snow covering the ground and caressing the branches of the trees and shrubs, that yearning burns in my soul and feeds my discontent. I know this too shall pass, but for now I yearn.

I yearn for an open road in front of me
P1040248

Taking me beyond the snow-covered mountains, transporting me to warm sandy beaches
P1030416

where I can stand on a bluff and see forever
P1040545

where I can sit in a chair with a view of the beach
2016-01-08 10.35.13

enjoying a cold beer
20150721_210322

and watch children race with abandon into the welcoming waters
P1040551_edited-1

followed, in the evening, by a glass of wine
P1040903

or perhaps, if the evening is chilled, a hot Irish coffee.
P1040791

Are you seeing a theme here?
P1030407P1030364

Ahhh, yes, the luxury of sand, water and beverages!

But, if I were to leave, if I were to venture off seeking the solace of those things that fill my dreams, my furry girls would miss me. Shasta would miss me the most, I think – the girl who, when left home without me, needs the security of my scent, embodied in shoes and slippers, which she carries to the middle bed because she can lie there and watch the driveway through the window, awaiting my return.
P1050311

So I will stay home, feel the cold through my windows, read my books, play my iPad games, watch inane TV shows, enjoy the warmth and security of my home and my friends. I will wait. Spring will come as will our Girls’ Week at the coast, and my soul will find its peace and joy.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yearning

  1. Lisa says:

    You have the patience of Job. But I totally understand about not wanting to leave the furry children. 🙂 Love your photos and may they *tide* you over until the spring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. suzicate says:

    Love these photos. The weather here is up and down, extremely windy today but warm enough to walk outside without a jacket.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Robin says:

    I was whisked away for a moment. Thank you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. cobbies69 says:

    Is the dog looking at the shoes for a reason…:) 😉 great post..

    Like

  5. Dawn says:

    I know that yearning. I don’t necessarily require a beach, though I have to admit a beach does sound tempting. I just need (always) to be “away.” I also know how hard it is to leave the fur babies…especially if one of them is anxious while you’re away. I hope your cold and snow lets up soon. I think your cabin fever came early because your winter seemed so early.

    Like

  6. Carol — I love the photo of Shasta on the bed with your shoes. We’re going to have to leave Willa for a week in April when I’m teaching at the Writers’ Institute at UW-Madison. When we leave her at “The Lodge” (where she attends “day camp” once a week), we’ll also leave my intentionally unlaundered flannel jammies so she’ll have my scent until I return.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

