Fly Me to. . .

No, not the moon – fly me, instead, to Nha Trang. Taking the taxi from the airport, we drove through flat areas of sand dunes and a few buildings, into the hills where the tropical forests were thick and high up in the midst of that forest you might see the odd structure.
P1030340
We arrived at our hotel, settled in and went two doors down to Yen, the restaurant that became our favorite, where we met Du (or Tu? Not sure), who became our favorite waiter
P1030348
sadly, I caught him with eyes closed.

After lunch, we headed out to explore, to see what we could see, from ground level
P1030356
and from way up high.
P1030389
Always, there were the odd parking habits
P1030381
P1030373
there was the restaurant to go to when you needed to regain your sanity
P1030380
and the shop to visit when you felt perhaps your life was too –
P1030377
really?! Shirt? I must confess to never having felt my life was too – shirt. Every day brings a new experience.

We found beachy places
P1030403
P1030364
P1030358
and birds in cages.
P1030355
Then Kat wanted Mexican food for dinner – we stopped first at a “Mexican” restaurant owned by Russians (should that have been a clue?). But we did enjoy the music made by the band of ex-pats at our second “Mexican” restaurant, where we had another failed Mexican dish (the moral of this story is do not choose Mexican food in Vietnam – Mistake) and sat at a table on the sidewalk enjoying a cold beer in the warm evening.
P1030374

Stay tuned for more of Nha Trang.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fly Me to. . .

  1. jay53 says:

    Those parking habits remind me of Italy. When space is at a premium .. !

    Du (or Tu) looks about fifteen. Was he really that young? I think you should persuade him to transfer to the Sanest Restaurant – a place of which I think I am in dire need. Life’s too shirt, Mexican food which isn’t Mexican food, no broadleaved trees at all … it all looks so strange and exotic. I have never felt any desire at all to travel to the Asian countries. I keep remembering the Chinese curse: May you live in interesting times. It all looks far, far too ‘interesting’ to me, and I’d be imagining snakes falling out of those beach umbrellas and dog meat on the plates.

    Did you have a good time?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      They parked that way in Poland too.

      Du or Tu was probably in his early 20s. There were broad leaved trees, perhaps I haven’t shown them, no snakes falling down or dog meat on the plates. I like Asian food, at least what I’ve had this trip and in 2010 when Kat and I visited Gep in Seoul and then in Beijing. Very healthy eating, actually. Yes, I did enjoy the trip – it’s always interesting to visit other cultures.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  2. Carol — I especially enjoyed the BEACHY photos — but my absolute favorite is the one of you and your son. Fantastic. Absolutely FANTASTIC!

    Like

  3. Beautiful beach photos!

    Like

  4. Ruth says:

    Looks like a grand adventure. Happy new year to you.

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    I agree with Laurie – love the photo of you and Gep! And now I also want to decorate some outdoor haven with bright umbrellas on the ceiling.

    Like

  6. Angelia Sims says:

    I didn’t know Mexican food and Vietnam could be in the same sentence! Lol. That is so cute. And hey, it’s always an adventure to try mexican food anywhere, but Texas (or Mexico). Lol. I sooo love the views! Nice!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

