Share Your World – 2013 Week 29

Do you know how many times I checked my calendar yesterday to make sure it was Monday? It was Monday, my calendar said so – but no notice from Cee that it was time to share. I knew she was okay, because I saw other posts from her. It all got better today when I received a post that said something burped, but it was there, just go here. Ahhh. Life is now complete.

1. While in school who was your favorite teacher – what grade and why? I’m not even sure I remember many of my teachers. I went to so many schools, anywhere from 4 to 8 a year most years. I do remember a couple of teachers I really didn’t like. I think the one I do remember that I liked was my 9th grade Civics teacher – Mr. Faccionello. He was also the football coach. He brooked no nonsense in his classroom and he made the subject interesting.

2. Would you accept $5,000 to shave your head or die it bright lime green and continue your normal activities while not explaining the reason for your haircut or color? Sure, why not? My hair has never come back to what was normal since I had chemo, so I keep it very very short now anyway – shaving it wouldn’t make a lot of difference. As to lime green – that would be a bit of a stretch and unusual for me, but hey! It’ll grow out, right? And an extra $5000 would be nice.

3. You are trapped in an elevator, who would you want to be trapped with? My kids. Both would find the humor in it, and Gep would remain calm. I really can’t think of many places I wouldn’t want to be with them.

4. When you are with your friends, do your interactions include much touching—for example, hugging, kissing, rough housing, rubbing backs? Would you like to have more of this? (Note: the answers may vary depending on where you live on this wonderful planet.)
Not a lot of contact – hugs when we first see each other if it’s been awhile, most often hugs when we part again. A touch here and there if one of us is having a tough time. One of my favorite memories of childhood was when a girlfriend would spend the night and we’d take turns rubbing each others’ back. If I could manage to have a gentle backrub, foot rub and scalp rub all at the same time, I’d be in heaven. Okay, you’ve got me going! I must call and schedule a mammogram, and I think I’ll schedule a massage for the same day. A “me” day!

And of course, a couple of photos:

20130827-143858.jpg Spirea in bloom

20130827-143939.jpg The Globe Thistle beginning to bloom out, with a bee enjoying its nectar

20130827-144024.jpg The Globe Thistle bloomed out – they are soft once they bloom. The one in the background is waiting its turn.

20130827-144117.jpg Chenille flower – a little annual I decided to try this year.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Share Your World – 2013 Week 29

  1. HI Carol,
    Your personality comes through every answer in this post! I especially love the elevator question, and my answer would be the same.

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    Such a practical answer on your hair! Mine is quite long; someone would have to offer me more than $5,000 for me to consider it! I was going to inquire about the thistle – I’m glad for no accountable reason that it’s soft while blooming. It’s fitting somehow 🙂

    Like

  3. “If I could manage to have a gentle backrub, foot rub and scalp rub all at the same time, I’d be in heaven.” Ditto that! And I love today’s photographs.

    Like

  4. Myas says:

    My kids would be great in that kind of a situation. I could never get tired of them or need a break from them. Just one of those things.

    Like

  5. I understand about your hair not coming back from chemo…. my sister’s wasn’t the same either. Funny, we both picked family to be in an elevator with…they people we love the most. I’ll come by next week and see what you have to say.

    Like

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    You definitely need a “you” day. Get a massage. I adore them. I’m so glad Chris gets notices of my posts…and she never got a notice. I couldn’t figure out why no one was looking at my SYW yesterday. I’m so glad you caught up with it. Thanks for being a huge part of SYW.

    Like

  7. I loved your answers. I am with you about the $5000.00 I would do it today if I could. I loved your photos especially the globe thistle.

    Like

  8. Trisha says:

    I love your “why not?” attitude about the hair changes!

    Like

  9. Joanne says:

    Shaved green hair for $5000? Why not! Hair grows back and dye can be re-dyed. The photos are gorgeous, your garden must be looking very lovely right now. 🙂

    Like

  10. Dawn says:

    Love your answers. Don’t know if I could shave my head and dye it green….would take more than $5K I think. For me anyway.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

