August Photo Hunt

I’m not sure how it happened, but here we are at the end of another month. One day left after today and it will be September. September is one of my favorite months, but truly time needs to slow down a bit. All of this is leading up to the fact that it’s time to post this month’s entry for Karma’s Photo Hunt. This month, Karma wants us to

Show me the place that is “the end of the earth” for you OR show me some of the “extremes” of your city, town, area, state, province or favorite vacation spot. >

So here goes, my concepts of “the end of the earth”.

20120830-073112.jpg
Eastern Oregon, heading east – apparently to the very end of the earth.

20120830-073200.jpg
At Craters of the Moon in Idaho. This looks like what I think would be left if the earth had ended.

20120830-073249.jpg
Somewhere – I think maybe Wyoming. Surely, just over those mountains, is the end of the earth. There is nothing more in sight – it is very very lonely out here.

20120830-073348.jpg
The North Dakota Badlands – again, what would be left after the earth had been fried.

I hope no offense at my comments will be taken – each of these places has its own kind of beauty, but it is a very rugged, “I dare you to survive this” kind of beauty. And you cannot deny that the end of the earth would definitely be throwing down the gauntlet, daring us to survive.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to August Photo Hunt

  1. suzicate says:

    Awesome, as always!

    Like

  2. Really good choices, Carol. These photos capture that “end of the earth” feeling.

    Like

  3. Very end of the earth feel! The Badlands?
    Extraordinary image, Carol.

    Like

  4. Heather says:

    Great choices, as always. Those places look very desolate – the end indeed.

    Like

  5. tajmutthall says:

    When contemplating photos about the end of the earth, I had in mind a shot just like your first one, where the road just gets smaller and smaller and ceases to exist–nice one! And the others, yeah, I find them beautiful but also, like you, feel that they could be what the literal ending of the earth might look like. Fun variety of feelings.

    Like

  6. Joanne says:

    The first photo, looking along the road to “who knows where” really does look like it will lead to the ends of the earth Carol. I can feel it as I look at the photo! You certainly have visited some desolate areas around the USA. I prefer to stay near to the coastal areas of Australia, as I’ve seen photos of “The Red Centre”. Although stunning in colour, I don’t think I’d like to visit there!

    Like

  7. WOW — These photos definitely capture the essence of “the end of the earth.”

    Like

  8. taniamend says:

    Great photos…beauty with rock! Love Eastern oregon heading east

    Like

  9. Lisa says:

    Each one a stunning photo of “rugged beauty” for sure. I’m not sure I’m rugged enough to survive in those areas…end of the world, or not! I think you captured the prompt perfectly. Hope you can slow down and enjoy the weekend, my friend. xoxox

    Like

  10. Karma says:

    What a great selection of photos, Carol! I always love your takes on my photo hunts – you have quite an eye for seeing and interpreting. Thanks very much for playing along!

    Like

  11. Dawn says:

    Great job! Funny…I used a road too. Love your ‘out west’ shots…the badlands are one of my favorite places, haven’t seen them in a really long time. I see they are still bad.

    Like

  12. Dawn says:

    PS: I have new blog address: dawnkinster.wordpress.com

    Like

  13. Pingback: It’s the Ends of the Earth as We Know It « Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

  14. Lynne Ayers says:

    Great shots, Carol.

    Like

  15. dawnkinster says:

    Glad you found me Carol! 🙂

    Like

  16. Hello neighbor!
    I knew I have been recoginizing photos and your stories, I am over here in the high desert,, central Oregon. So many times I’d see something.. say the Klamath Basin.. and think I know that…
    How wonderfully awesome Carol. I am proud of our Oregon. You do it justice.

    Like

  17. What beautiful desolation ! I am amazed at those roads, long and straight, so unusual in a country as small as mine (Switzerland). Very surprising too the special North Dakota Badlands, almost surreal. You really got the End of the Earth feeling and your photos are superb.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.