In the Dark of the Night, Horror Creeps

Warning: Some of you may find this post offensive, in which case I apologize. But these are words that I must speak.

The headlines on the newscast last night spoke of another horror in Afghanistan. Another case of one of our military losing control, giving in to the stresses. It was a horrendous tale of a horrendous act. Before we condemn the man who lost control, who brought the horror into the night, however, let’s look at how he may have gotten there.

Two tours in Iraq. Another tour in Afghanistan. Too many years of living in the midst of violence and death. Too many years of reinforcing the training we impose on our men to kill. As mothers, we try to raise our children to be fair, to not bully, to be reasonable. Sometimes we are successful, most times I would hope. Then they grow up. They feel a loyalty to their country, a need to protect and defend the freedoms their country offers. I applaud that loyalty, I applaud the courage and the caring that our young people demonstrate when they join the military, when they choose to fight for their country. Truly the largest majority of them are heroes, heroes who deserve our admiration, our respect.

Out of this story of horror, perhaps something can be learned. Perhaps our leaders, those who we hope are wise and reasoning, will someday realize that men cannot be subjected to war, to carnage, for as many years as is currently happening. Perhaps someday man will learn to talk, to listen, to reason, to find a way to resolve differences in more peaceful ways. I happen to believe the war in Iraq should never have occurred. I happen to believe our administration, or their advisers, led us into a war that was not truly justified. I happen to believe we cannot possibly take care of all the woes in this world, and we should not attempt to. I believe we cannot force democracy on cultures that do not understand it, that are not prepared to handle it. I know many people disagree with me, and that is their right as it is my right to feel the way I do.

I hate what mankind does to mankind. I hate the agony this soldier’s family must now be suffering. The agony far too many military families have had to suffer. The agony the people remaining in those tiny Afghanistan villages must be feeling. We have that in common – the agony. We have that in common with all of those who lose loved ones, livelihoods, homes. Whether we are American, or Iraqi or Afghanistan citizens, we have that agony in common.

I hope, I pray, that someday, someday, reason will prevail. I hope, I pray, that our military will pay more attention to the reality, the devastation of PTSD. That they will provide the assistance needed immediately. Not later, not when it’s too late.

I hope, I pray, for peace.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to In the Dark of the Night, Horror Creeps

  1. Heather says:

    Hoping and praying with you for reason to prevail and mankind to stop trying to control others.
    To “force democracy on cultures that do not understand it, that are not prepared to handle it” is the height of irony. How sad.

    Like

  2. So true. We can not expect an end to war without understanding that we can not control everyone. We must respect their cultures and autonomy, even if we do not share their values. Trying to make peace in the world can create its own kind of stress. I do not blame Hillary Clinton for leaving her job at the end of this year. Look at the toll it has taken on her. All of our military forces pay the price too; whether PTSD, physical disabilities or death. I hope we can work out a peaceful resolution in the end.

    Like

  3. I agree wholeheartedly, and couldn’t have said it better.

    Like

  4. Thank you for this timely post. My prayers are joined with yours.

    Like

  5. Lynne Ayers says:

    Eloquently said Carol

    Like

  6. suzicate says:

    Some of those who live the horrors of war return changed…I know people who have been affected and it’s sometimes scary to watch their tempers in action.

    Like

  7. Dawn says:

    I don’t think people should be in active combat for more than one tour. And one is too many.

    Like

  8. Lynne Ayers says:

    You have been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award – see details at http://lynneayersbeyondthebrush.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/tickled-pink-or-green/

    Like

  9. Lisa says:

    When I heard about this, of course my first thought was how utterly horrible it was. Then, my mind turned towards the soldiers family and what awful fallout they were going to have to endure. Until he is debriefed, we’ll never know what snapped to cause this carnage. I was shocked to hear how many times he’d been deployed in such a short time. I shudder to think as our military is cut, how many more servicemen/women will be forced into multiple tours before they’ve recovered from the last one. And I hate being the world’s police. I’d be in favor of pulling out of 90% of the areas we are currently stationed and using those troops to protect our homeland.

    Like

  10. Kathy says:

    I agree with you, Carol. I pray for peace. too.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

