The Rivers Run Deep

Many of the blogs I read seem to be thinking deeply, pondering life, its meanings, its purpose – our purpose in that life. Is it the season?

There is the question of fairness as posed by Lisa. What is fair, anyway? Sometimes life seems to be unfair, but we have not been given promises that it would be otherwise. Sometimes the unfairness comes as a result of our choices, sometimes it comes for reasons over which we have no control. We can only work to change it, to make things better – to deal with it if it cannot be changed. There’s no point in moaning about it. Complaining sometimes, if one needs to just vent, get it out of the system. You work to change it or you work to accept it, find a way around it.

Kathy thinks about holiness – what is holy? Is it perception, is it everything? I believe there’s a holiness everywhere, in nearly everything, if we pause in our living of our lives for long enough to see it. There are those things that I think have not a hint of holiness – there are wars (yes, even those Crusades from way back in history, despite the fact they were fought in the name of religion), there are murders both physical and emotional, there is maiming. There is insanity, inability to deal with life. These things are not holy – at least not in my estimation. But I think opening my eyes each morning, loving, laughing, having the ability to make choices – those are holy for me.

Is it the season to ponder, to think deeply, to question? Is it the season that arouses these feelings of faith, these questions? I think the season contributes. I think faith, hope, the recognizing what is holy in our world are important. I care not what you put your faith in, but believing that there is a higher power looking over us, walking beside us, is important. Recognizing that this higher power gives us the ability to be good people in the way we live our lives, the ability to treat others as we wish them to treat us, to overcome adversity, is important. We have been given the ability to make choices, to reason, to differentiate between what is bad and what is good. Because we make our own choices, we bear the responsibility for those choices.

Pause a moment – look at what is around you. Appreciate the good. Appreciate the life. Appreciate the freedom. Yesterday I complained about too many days of cloudy skies and then the sun came out. This morning I awoke early, as I usually do (because I have help called Shasta), and I enjoyed a beautiful sunrise. My gallery below contains photos of that sunrise, a sunrise from last week, and yesterday’s walk with the girls in the sunshine.

The rivers run deep – it is the season.

Click on a picture to see a full-sized slideshow.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Rivers Run Deep

  1. Kathy says:

    Tis the season to think deeply, it is, Carol. You’ve got that right. Or maybe just to enjoy a slideshow of beauty.

    Like

  2. Heather says:

    I think it must be the time of year. I haven’t pondered much on the blog, but Tony and I have had many lengthy conversations regarding fairness, and thankfulness, and togetherness, and presence. And being appreciative. We did not have a glorious sunrise, nor do we have blue skies. But we are here, and we are thankful.

    Like

  3. Kathy says:

    P.S. Carol, did you watch the video to expand on what holy (wholeness vs. our usual definition of holy) might reveal itself as?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Yes I did. Quite moving, very thought-provoking.

      Sent from my iPad

      Like

      • Kathy says:

        Yes, to me that is what holiness is. “Wholeness”. The fullness of life in its goodness and badness, its joy and deep sorrow. I went back and edited my blog to share that. Trying to express a “wholeness” that is beyond what we ordinarily think of holiness and non-holiness. Something which encompasses both. A wider perspective, looking at something larger. So very hard to express. This wholeyness does not have an opposite. It encompasses both.

        Like

  4. Lisa says:

    Thank you for the shout out! I cannot agree with you more when you say to appreciate everything in our lives. But we all need to vent at times, so it’s good to get it out and then move on. That way it’s not bottled up inside and causing problems.

    Like

  5. The rivers do, indeed, run deep. But even the shallow ones are holy as our mutual friend Kathy pointed out. As always, I enjoyed your photographs 🙂

    Like

  6. Lynne Ayers says:

    I like that – work to change it or work to accept it – totally in agreement with that philosophy. “We make our own choices, we bear the responsibility for those choices.” My philosophy as well. It seems to me that there is less understanding of that – too many want to blame rather than accept responsibility for their own choices, or non-choices, or that accidents simply happen and that no one is to blame. Work to change, or work to accept.

    Like

  7. dawnkinster says:

    We go in cycles I think, delving into deeper thoughts, or skipping along the tip top of events of our day. Perhaps the shorter darker days make us spend more time being introspective. Or maybe it’s just that time of year.

    Like

  8. Karma says:

    I agree, there’s a lot of deep thinking going on in the blogosphere these days. I suppose we will never really have true answers to our questions, but, as you said, we do need to find a way to accept. Your photos are lovely. I like the way the captions pop up when you hover over a photo -I’ve never seen that before.

    Like

  9. Interesting post, Carol, and I think it’s true, this is the time of year to think deeply about our lives, and about life in general. I’ve been fascinated lately by the idea of pilgrimage, walking into the center and contemplating what my humanity means. What my destiny is. The idea of a labyrinth appeals to me. Meditation, being centered. Limitless contemplation to be done….

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.