Share Your World – November 13, 2017

What?! November is half over already? But it just got here, didn’t it? Time is going way too fast for me. Speaking of time, it’s that time again – time for sharing our worlds.

Do you ever sit on a park bench for more than ten minutes? There are no parks nearby my house, although there are a couple in the bigger town down the road aways. So, no, I don’t sit on a park bench for more than ten minutes, and if there were a park with a bench nearby, I probably would not anyway. I do sit on a chair on my deck in the nice weather for more than ten minutes on a fairly regular basis. It’s hard to sit for long if I’m not doing something while I’m sitting.

When you lose electricity in a storm, do you light the candles, turn on the flashlight or use your cell phone for light? I light candles and the two oil lamps we bought specifically for that reason. When we first moved here, power outages happened fairly often, but in the past few years they are much more infrequent. Which is good, because my house is all electric, so when I lose power I have nothing. Except darkness. Candlelight. Oil lamp light. The good thing about an e-reader is they have their own light, so now I can still read.

Would you rather be given $10,000 for your own use or $100,000 to give anonymously to strangers? This question is one I’d rather not answer, because although I’d love to be generous and have money to give away, my budget is very tight, and there are places I’d like to go, things I’d like to see – so, at risk of appearing to be selfish (because I guess I am), can we make a deal here? Can I take the $100,000, keep $10,000 of it to fund my travels, and give the other $90,000 away anonymously to strangers in need?

What inspired you or what did you appreciate this past week? Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. Inspiration is still running low, although I did come up with an idea for a series of greeting cards, which I may or may not follow up on. Here’s a sample of what I’m thinking of doing:

I did appreciate a dinner with several friends and their other friends on Veterans’ Day. It was a potluck, and as usual, there was far too much food, all of it delicious. The company was good, and conversation enjoyable.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Share Your World – November 13, 2017

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I like your idea for the money. Well done. 😀

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Carol — Bravo on your money idea!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. dawnkinster says:

    A park bench? No, probably not for more than 10 minutes…but a log in the woods? Definitely have sat on a log for more than 10 minutes. And when the electricity goes out here I am so lucky that we have a generator to take over. Except the first time this fall that the power went out the generator didn’t come on. I guess it’s good to know something is broken early in the season. I liked your answer for the $10K v.s. 100K. A win win.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ally Bean says:

    I don’t know if I could sit on a park bench for longer than 10 minutes. It’d depend on what I saw as I sat on it. Central Park in NYC, yes. Pokey little city park around the corner, no. I like your money idea very much.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Embeecee says:

    I loved your money answer…I had the same difficulty with that one. Your answer was far more creative than mine though.. 🙂 and the greeting card is lovely…I do hope you go ahead with that project. There is a real need (IMHO) for some decent and pretty greeting cards..the ones on market right now are mostly unattractive or the thought is lame.

    Like

  6. Lisa says:

    Your deck chair certainly counts for the park bench question. After all, isn’t your yard sort of a park? 🙂 Very diplomatic answer for the $100K question. I’d like to split it among my kids/grandkids since I’m not certain about their financial future. We don’t lose power much here since our utilities are underground, but when a transformer goes out I reach for the flashlight….to find the candles! I like your greeting card idea. An Etsy project, maybe? xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Thank you. I don’t know what I’m going to do with my ink things. I looked at Etsy some time ago, but not really comfy with it. Truth is, the minute I think about turning a hobby into a business, it starts to feel like a job.

      Like

  7. Sandra Sparks says:

    Love your idea

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  8. leendadll says:

    I love the card idea but it will need a bolder font (I have fairly good eyes and found it hard to read). where would you sell them?

    Quick Q answers from me: I’d prob sit on park benches for 10+ min because my knee is acting up again and frequent breaks are necessary. Plus, I love to sit and watch things. Power outage = flashlights… maybe candles if it goes long but I’d prob just go to bed instead. Agreed on the $$. I’d normally give away $100k but I’m running low on funds so I might have to choose taking 10. Historically, when I come into “found money” (job bonuses or gifts) I give at least 50% to charity. Inspiration: fb post that said “face it, you haven’t read a book since fb” inspired me to get off fb and read again; I’m having a wild hair about learning 3D modeling & printing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      The words on the card weren’t really meant to be easily read, just kind of there. Don’t know where I’d sell them, maybe just post on FB. Once I decide to make a concerted effort to sell, it feels like a job. Thinking about 2hat to do.

      Like

      • leendadll says:

        I thought that might be the case (with the font). I only asked about the selling because it *could* be a lot of effort without reward if you don’t know how you’ll recoup expenses. But it’s just a thought… I have no business trying to advise anyone on what to do!!

        Like

  9. Pingback: Share Your World: November 18, 2017 | The Day After

  10. BeckyB says:

    Brilliant answer to number 3 😀

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

