Share Your World – October 23, 2017

Somehow this week has gotten away from me – sleeping late, trip to town, trying to get a couple more winter preparation projects done while fall is still with us – and suddenly, it’s Wednesday! I’m late to Cee’s sharing party. Again!

Was school easy or difficult for you? How so? Insofar as school work goes, it was easy for me – until I hit algebra. Algebra was a “what the heck?” “Who needs this?” I have only known one person in my life who actually used algebra. The social aspect of school was not so easy – it was hard to really fit in when I might only be in that school for two or three months – sometimes less. Usually the people with whom I made friends were others who didn’t quite fit in.

List some of your favorite types of animals. Furry ones. Slippery ones, like dolphins. Dogs, cats of all sizes, giraffes, llamas (when they don’t spit at me), animals, large and small. My choice for pets, however, is pretty much limited to dogs and cats.

What is your favorite large city you have been to? What is the one thing you remember most? Ummm. Here comes another “it depends”. It depends on my favorite for what? If it were a large city I was actually going to live in, perhaps Portland, Oregon, downtown, because of it’s mass transportation system. For unique (to me) things to see, Beijing. For Dunkin’ Donuts and Starbucks that really felt out of place, Seoul, South Korea. For keeping me on my toes and alert to those around me, New York City – admittedly, this is based on a trip there many many years ago, when I was hunting for a book by Erich Fromm titled The Art of Loving – Bad thing to ask for around Times Square, at least at that time. I think each large city I’ve been to, including Los Angeles and Chicago, have had some charm to them, but I’m really not a city girl. Woman. Old Lady.

What inspired you or what did you appreciate this past week? Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. The return of some nice fall weather after a few days of cold winds and rain showers. The return of warmth has inspired me to get to it, to actually finish the necessary winter preparation chores. Especially since a look at the bank account has reminded me I cannot take off to warm sunny ocean beaches for the winter. Might as well get ready to hunker down here.

Now to share an ink on tile I recently did, which was very very very loosely based on a photo taken by Heather of Snap Happy Gal Photography. Take a look at what she does – she’s terrific!

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Share Your World – October 23, 2017

  1. Carol — Algebra was a “what the heck?” “Who needs this?” Amen, siSTAR!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Embeecee says:

    Adding my voice to the WTH moment about algebra. Beginning of the end of my love affair (never happened) with math. I loved science though, but the math? Nooooo! I’m rather uplifted to hear you too had issues with it (and Laurie there too) because I was under the mistaken impression that it was the Utah education system that did me in vis a vis math. I read a statistic somewhere that in the 60s and 70s teachers stopped trying to teach (actively) math to girls because girls were ‘never going to use higher math anyway’. When I was 40 years old and in college, I finally met a teacher who made algebra make sense. Briefly. As you say, it’s not useful really for anything..

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Nice title. I liked reading your responses. 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jay says:

    Algebra was definitely a ‘what the heck, who needs this?’ moment. I was doing really well in maths right up to that moment, too!

    You’ve been to more foreign countries than I have, but I’ve visited Auckland, Vancouver, Toronto, London (of course) New York, Denver, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Washington DC, Sassari and Cagliari (Sardiniia), Rome … but my favourite is Genoa. I can’t even explain why, it’s an emotional thing, I think.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ally Bean says:

    Will you throw me out of here if I say that I got algebra, but couldn’t figure out geometry? That’s where my math education ended, between parallel lines with alternate interior angles– or some such nonsense. 🙄

    Liked by 1 person

  6. dawnkinster says:

    I thought high school was hard in that I never fit in with any group except band. But college was way more fun! I’d do college again. Oh wait. I did. Twice.

    And I love NYC, though I wouldn’t want to live there. It’s so noisy!

    Favorite animals? Oh come on; let me think about it. Ummmm shelties?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. loisajay says:

    Algebra and I were never a match. Never. Ever.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. leendadll says:

    I was okay till Calculus, when I had a (literally) insane teacher. Dropped the class and took a college class instead (Sr yr of high school, I was denied early grad so I took 1/2 day at high school then 1/2 day at college).I had a big social circle, due to merging all the reject groups together. But I never fit in to any of them.

    fyi: I’ve heard that alpacas are nicer and don’t spit.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lisa says:

    LOL! Algebra…..I’ve never though letters and numbers should be mixed together! I did better with geometry. My dad (an architectural engineer) tutored me every night when I took Algebra II and Trig in high school just so I would pass the class. And, I’ve ne.ver used it. I didn’t even try Calculus. Other than math class, the rest was relatively easy for me. Socially, I had friends in all the different groups so I suppose I could have been considered a chameleon. Our warm Autumn has given way to days in the 40s and 50s with nights in the 30s. Brrr…..winter’s a comin’! I hope you have a warm and wonderful weekend. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

