Share Your World – August 7, 2017

August 7 is a few days past now, and August 14 is only a few days out, so I thought if I was going to join in sharing with Cee this week, I’d better get at it. The news this week has been worrisome, and I’ve been debating about doing a post ranting, pleading for reason, talking about feelings – but so far I’ve opted not to. Instead, I’m going for a bit of light-heartedness.

What was the last URL that you bookmarked or saved? Hmmm. I know I recently bookmarked the URL for Greater Good, the animal rescue site that sells various items to help feed animals. I’ve bought some tunic tops from them which I love, despite the fact they’re made in India and need to be hand washed. A personal benefit from buying from them is that I can tell myself that by treating myself I’m also helping animals somewhere. I believe that’s called rationalization.

Do you believe in the afterlife? Reincarnation? I don’t know. Maybe. Sometimes. Other times not so much. I make jokes about “in my next life”, but I’m undecided.

If you were or are a writer do you prefer writing short stories, poems or novels? I don’t consider myself a writer. I like to play with words, and enjoy blogging now and then – sometimes more often than others – but as to actually being a “writer” – I cannot imagine myself creating characters and story lines, and I am not the least bit poetic.

What inspired you this past week? Feel free to use a quote, a photo, a story, or even a combination. Although technically this was not the “past” week as intended in this question, what has inspired me most recently was the Ken Burns’ documentary on the Statue of Liberty I watched a couple of nights ago. I had not given much thought to the lady or what she stood for in a long time – this show was a good reminder, and made me wish our government would view it and give some thought to the reason she is there, the reason this country exists. But then, I do a lot of wishing that our government would give some thought to many things.

This week’s photo is of a very large thistle plant on a side street in Portland:

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Share Your World – August 7, 2017

  1. Ohhhhhhh, that thistle is gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    That is a big thistle plant. I adore any work Ken Burns does.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lisa says:

    I have always thought thistles were very interesting plants….unless they are in my garden beds! I like their fall seedpods too. I’m sure you already know my views on the afterlife. 🙂 I have always had a soft spot in my heart for Lady Liberty and the opportunities she represents. And, I’m saddened by those who don’t or won’t follow our process for legal immigration. Despite our country’s flaws, it’s still a very desirable destination for many people. Every one of our immigrant ancestors (except Native Americans) followed a process by which they were granted legal citizenship, with all the benefits that accompany that status. I believe it’s naive to assume open borders would be in our best interest in this day and age. I hope the weekend ahead of you is wonderfully peaceful and enjoyable. xo

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I wouldn’t preach for open borders, but would like to see the offices that approve visas and applications for citizenship adequately staffed so processing can be done in a reasonable amount of time.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Like

  4. Pingback: A nomination for The Unique Blogger Award – Thistles and Kiwis

I'd love to hear from you!

