The Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer

Today has been one of those summer days – lazy because it’s summer, hazy because of the smoke from wildfires in the state, crazy because – it’s one of those semi annual days of the blues, the day after the day my kids have, again, flown the coop. It happens every summer and every winter. It is a day through which I stumble about the house, putzing around here and there, doing nothing worth mentioning, but keeping my mind occupied. More or less. Just a crazy summer day.

On the upside, today was somewhat cooler than the past several days have been – those days that broke high temperature records as well as the records for the number of successive days of those record-breaking temperatures. Just a tiny bit, but welcomed. Enough cooler that I could enjoy a late afternoon beer on my deck, the pleasure of which was diminished by the absence of both Kat and Gep. I am not complaining. I am grateful for their visits, always, and the joys of having them here for the time their schedules allow trumps the blues of them leaving. These feelings are not unusual, not new feelings, bittersweet but, oh, so worth it.

My furry girls have noted their absence – at least, when Gep left a week ago, Kat was still here to talk to them, give them treats and bites of what she was eating, cuddle with them – make them feel that much more special. For them, she is one of theirs. As is Gep, but she gives more attention than he does. Today, Shasta slept for awhile on her bed. Then watched out the window for her. She hovers near me, as does Bailey.

For me – for me, there is the adjustment period, offset by the comfort of knowing my kids spend time with me because they choose to. The knowledge that they will be back, that they would welcome visits from me – that is more than enough in this life.

Tonight my evening wine time will not be shared with anyone, but the memories of the shared times will be strong and in the forefront.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer

  1. loisajay says:

    You have great kids and you all have great smiles!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. dawnkinster says:

    The hellos are joyous, the see you laters are tearful but the love is forever.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great post! Feeling the same these last weeks after comming back from visiting my Mother and family back home in Latvia 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hugs to you. You are blessed.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know the transition time is hard no matter how often it happens that you go from full house to empty nest Take comfort in the happy memories and photos and in the knowledge that they will come again because they love you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lakeafton says:

    Great picture of everyone in Portland.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mama Cormier says:

    What a timely post. I’m going through the same thing right now. My son and his wife flew back to England on the weekend. I loved our time together but I miss them already. I know we’ll see each other again but just not sure when.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carol — Vibrant and cheerful, that photograph is FANTASTIC!

    Like

  9. Lisa says:

    Our August feels more like late September with highs only in the 80s and lows in the high 50s and 60s! Not much for pool weather for the end of summer. Your photo reflects such a wonderful energy of you and your (adult) kids. It’s really fantastic. I imagine your furry girls will need some reassurance you aren’t going anywhere anytime soon now that Gep and Kat have left. I will lift a glass to you this evening as I spend time on the patio with my fur baby (Entrepreneur is out of town this week). xoxo

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Your temperatures now are much like ours. A relief from the heat we had and much more to my liking – these are more normal summer temps for us. I lift my glass to you in return.

      Like

  10. leendadll says:

    I love that photo!!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

