Share Your World – July 10, 2017

This morning I was reading the new posts of the bloggers I follow, thinking I used the “like” button a great deal lately – kind of to let you know I visited and appreciated your words – but have not been so generous with comments. That shortage of words that I’ve had most of the time lately, I guess – certainly not intended to convey the impression I don’t care about what you have to say. I hope that’s understood. But, I digress – so now, on to share with you all and with Cee as I listen to the crows yelling at one another outside.

How do you like to spend a rainy day? That depends (my magic word) – sometimes I like to curl up in my big chair and read, sometimes I like to play with my inks, on a warmish day that isn’t blustery I might sit under the canopy on the deck and watch the raindrops fall. Always, I will take a nap. I might even, if the winds are blowing the right direction and karma is in the air, cook or bake or (gasp!) do some housework.

List at least five favorite treats. (They do not have to be sugary).
1.Chocolate. Anything chocolate. Unless it also has coconut.
2. Smoked Gouda with Good Thins corn and sea salt crackers
3. Salty potato chips
4. Ice cream topped with fresh fruit (warm weather only)
5. Cheesecake.

Where’s your favorite place to take out-of-town guests? Crater Lake. Living where I do, it has to be Crater Lake.

You are trapped in an elevator, who would you want to be trapped with? Someone with a sense of humor and a extra dosage of understanding, and it had better be a big enough elevator to allow me room to bounce off the walls. Preferably my kids, because they would understand and they would make me laugh. I do not like enclosed spaces for very long periods of time, nor do I like feeling trapped.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for having done a couple of paintings I’m satisfied with. I’m grateful for sunshine, breezes, and glasses of wine on my deck with my furry girls. I’m looking forward to the arrival of my kids for their summer visits – Kat flies in this evening and Gep expects to arrive this weekend. My summer joy.

I must, I must do some vacuuming and dusting today. My old vacuum took one look at all the Shasta hair (labs like to shed) that had accumulated the other day and declared itself dead. It shouted “Nope! Not gonna do it!” My new vacuum arrived yesterday evening, and says it needs to jump into the fray and show me what it can do. And then I must ready myself to go pick up my Kat. But, before I do any of that, let me share those couple of painting I was satisfied with and one that was just for the freedom and fun of it. Those of you who are Facebook friends have undoubtedly already seen the first two.

First, Fire and Ice:

Second, New Mexico Mesa – or, Georgia O’Keeffe country:

Finally, just for the Fun and the Flow:

Wishing you a day, a week, a life filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Share Your World – July 10, 2017

  1. As ever. Love your words and your painting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I adore your fire and ice painting. It was good to hear (and see) you are painting again. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dawnkinster says:

    I read the question: “Name your 5 least favorite treats” and your first being chocolate, I thought REALLY????? Hahahahahahahahahahaha.

    Trapped in an elevator with….my mom and dad. For sure.

    What to do in the rain? Well….nap in my tent is at the top of that list.

    And out of town guests? I take them to Cook’s Dairy for fresh ice cream, to be eaten while walking among the cows who provided the milk. Of course.

    LOVE your work…and the cat eyes at the top? Spectacular!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Relax... says:

    Beautiful paintings!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carol β€” Your artwork is spectacular!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. puppy1952 says:

    Love your art. What a pity house cleaning has to interrupt creativity

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ally Bean says:

    Your paintings make me feel relaxed and safe. Such pretty use of colors. Also, I like smoked gouda and am sorry that I didn’t list it as one of my favorite treats. [Suppose I’m allowed to change my answers?]

    Like

  8. Phyllis Lake says:

    I love fire and ice. Great contrasts!

    Like

  9. loisajay says:

    I love that you added birds to the Fire and Ice. Very nice! Have fun with your kids–I know you will. πŸ˜€

    Like

  10. Love the paintings! (from someone for whom stick figures are an artistic challenge)

    Liked by 1 person

  11. loisajay says:

    I thought of you today! Pinterest dropped into my Inbox and Gloria Clanin does Alcohol Ink. I quickly scanned to see if she had any of your tiles, but didn’t see any. Not sure you are on Pinterest, but I thought you might like to peruse her work.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Lisa says:

    All excellent answers to Cee’s questions(with the exception of housework!). My words are few and far between these days….as are my visits to my bloggy friends. Good thing we can keep in touch through FB! xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  13. leendadll says:

    Crater Lake… I know I’ve been there but I remember nothing (I was a teen).
    Your 5 treats answer made me crave potato chips w/vanilla ice cream. My dad taught us that one… soooo good (salty, sweet, warm, cold, crunchy, soft….)

    What variety is your new vacuum? I have my ol’ DustBuster (set on fire twice, still survives), a Dyson that I hate (but is good for “quick vac”), and a Roomba that I virtually never use because there is always cat barf (or toys) on the carpet.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

