Share Your World – July 3, 2017

Actually, it’s now July 4 – Independence Day. I shall celebrate the day quietly, at home. Our little town has a parade mid-day, but the sun is hot and it’s much the same from year to year. Kind of a “been there, done that”, although I don’t mean it as cavalierly as it sounds. Instead, I’ll share with Cee, clean up my kitchen mess because I didn’t do it last night, then see where my heart takes me from there.

For your main meal do you prefer sweet and sour, hot and spicy, spicy and sweet, bitter, salty, bland or other? Like so many things in my life, that depends on my mood. Bitter is rarely a choice, hot and spicy has limits on how hot and spicy. Now that I have no one to satisfy but myself, I usually follow either my cravings or whatever is easiest. Yesterday I was craving macaroni salad, so I made macaroni salad – served with a hot dog for dinner. Satisfying a craving as well as easy. Perfect! Since cooking for one person is not possible, at least for me, I will be having macaroni salad again. A couple more times, at least. Until it’s the last thing I want for awhile.

Where do you hide junk when people come over? I try not to let too much junk accumulate, but I am a “piler”. If people come over, I would hope they’re coming to see me, not inspect my house or check on my housekeeping skills, so whatever has been piled up is there. Because. If I invite people, then I do try to clean up, at least surface clean, a bit.

What daily habit would you like to introduce to your life? Same thing as many others have said – exercise. I have always hated exercise just for the sake of exercise. I used to walk more than I do now because now the weather has to be just so to get me out walking, neither too cold or too hot, without rain, snow, or hail. Ice keeps me in. We had a very long, cold, wet winter, followed by a cold and wet spring, immediately into too hot to walk in the sun. So I think about walking, or at least riding my stationary bike, then decide what I need is a nap.

If you were to perform in the circus, what would you do? In a virtual world, I would like to have the daring and grace of a trapeze artist. I would fly, ever so beautifully, over the crowds, feeling the freedom of soaring and thrilling the crowds. In the real world, I would never be able to deal with the height, and my body was not blessed with grace. So.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for being a week closer to having my kids here for their summer visit. I am grateful for sunshine and blue skies. I am grateful for birdsong and the beauty of blooms around me. I am looking forward to a week of more of the same – a week filled with enough.

Some of what I’m grateful for:

Daylilies starting to bloom in the windmill bed.

Early evening on my deck, with a glass of wine and my furry girls (sadly Bailey does not come out to the deck with Shasta and me very often anymore).

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Share Your World – July 3, 2017

  1. Yes, Trapeze Artist!

    Like

  2. loisajay says:

    I get this picture in my head, Carol–you as the amazing trapeze artist stacking piles higher and higher as you swing back and forth, and the audience oohs and aahs. I am off from work today, so my head is a dangerous place… 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Mike says:

    Macaroni salad sounds good! Now I might have to make some for myself. But as you say, tough to cook for one so I would have to enjoy it for a few days. Love the pic of the day lilies, mine haven’t bloomed yet. Hopefully soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mama Cormier says:

    My day lilies are just about to open. I was thinking trapeze artist as well but I think I’d be happier closer to the ground.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I remember when I friend said to me, “I come to visit you, not to inspect your housekeeping.” It was a revelation to me! I still prefer some advance notice because the only time I see the cobwebs is when company comes!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m a piler also. I REALLY try to limit the piles but sometimes…well it just piles up on me 😉

    Like

  7. Laura says:

    I love your courage — a trapeze artist! They’re so graceful (yet it looks so terrifying).

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Cee Neuner says:

    Chris is a piler too. It is fascinating to watch. I enjoyed reading your responses this week. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  9. leendadll says:

    I tried to Like this but it appears that Chrome is not playing with wp again – at least not on my side.

    “So I think about walking, or at least riding my stationary bike, then decide what I need is a nap”… EXACTLY!!

    Trapeze takes sooooo much energy and all the muscles (arms, hands, waist, back, legs…). I’m glad I tried it, and I may try static trapeze at a place that lets you start down low by the floor (no need to hold yourself up) but flying trapeze was not nearly as fun as I had imagined. On their last tour through SoCal, I think it was Kurious, they had a new act which involves bouncing (trampoline-style) on what is traditionally a trapeze catch net. It looked REALLY fun!

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I’ve looked at trampolines often, but am convinced I’d probably whack my teeth out with a knee if I tried it – that’s the kind of grace I have.

      >

      Liked by 1 person

      • leendadll says:

        lol… I figure they’ll be too much strain on my knees. I’m no longer limber enough to kick out my own teeth – but fully able to fall onto the hard frames and knock them out that way!

        Liked by 1 person

  10. How nice to get to know you better here as you answer the questions. I think I’d get too dizzy as a trapeze artist – I’d want to rub down the elephants. But I’m so glad the elephants are no longer part of a circus! Love your photos of tiger lilies. They’re all over our area here, too, and definitely speak of SUMMER in all it’s sunshiny warmth.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ally Bean says:

    Your photo of the glass of wine on the pretty table with the dog is my idea of the essence of the good life. Summer perfection. Now as for you desire to be a trapeze artist… you’re on your own with that one. No way for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I agree with you about the food – it depends very much on my mood. Your lovely day lily photos have reminded me that mine haven’t come up this year (and neither did my irises) – I wonder what happened to them?

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Heather says:

    I wish our town celebrated with a simple parade. Instead, the marketeers who push Traverse City into the world have created a giant fair that we call the National Cherry Festival. It runs around July 4, spanning both weekends, with a 2-day air show. It’s centered directly downtown, where few of the patrons of this fair actually do business. It is loud, and smelly (like all fairs tend to be), and dirty. If you think maybe I’m just being a curmudgeon, Traverse City has a population of about 15,000 – with the entire area home to under 150,000. Over 500,000 people visit for this festival – which doesn’t even occur around our cherry harvest! Harumph. I’ll stop venting now 😉

    I’ve learned to feel the same way about my house. If people come to see me, I hope they can see around my lived-in home. We’re pretty neat since it’s just the two of us + Petey, but I figure if someone’s going to judge me over my home, we probably shouldn’t be friends anyway.

    Hope you’re having fun with the kids!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

