Self Congratulations, Then Bitch and Moan

I’m looking forward (NOT!) to a day in the 90s, and in looking forward, avoiding launching into anything energetic. Although, if energetic was in my mind for today, I should be doing it now, not waiting till later.

I wanted to share my pats on my back with all of you. Because I have become such a sedentary creature, I require that I applaud myself whenever I actually do something, and Thursday, I did things! I have found that feeding just one person, using fresh vegetables and fruits before they start to fade away is difficult. I had things in my refrigerator that I thought needed to have something done in an attempt to lengthen their life span, so I spent a good part of the morning washing, slicing, dicing, and vacuum sealing celery, pineapple, blueberries, strawberries and zucchini into jars and bags to be stored in the refrigerator because not everything should be frozen for specific uses. Now we’ll see how that works.

And then I realized that my only source of sweets of late has been fruit, which is not bad – but – sometimes the body and soul just need chocolate. And my cookie jar was feeling sad.

Ah ha! Yes! I had a roll of cookie dough in the freezer.

Thus, my feeling that I deserved to pat myself on the back and give myself a round of applause.

Random thoughts buzz through my brain. This morning I was trying to read the fine print on a label and I realized how things change with time. In my youth, I would simply have read that fine print, no problem. As the years passed, I would have had to put my glasses on to read that fine print. More years pass, and my glasses are always on if I’m awake, but I need to find a magnifying glass to read that fine print. Sigh. Maybe I should consider learning to read braille.

Becoming quite annoyed with my current medical provider. It seems to take a very long time to get a refill for a prescription authorized. I am currently waiting for one that had expired – my hope in calling it in to the pharmacy early in the week was that if the doctor was reluctant to authorize a refill, they would call me. Still waiting. The problem is, it’s hard here in the rural world to find a doctor that’s taking patients. I think our medical system requires a major overhaul, and not the kind Congress is considering.

Also wondering what the heck reality is anyway. It seems there are different versions of reality in our world, and none of us are willing to accept questioning about our version. I worry – are we becoming a society with no standards or true values? Have we lost our respect and desire for integrity, intelligence, moderation? Discussions with those on the opposite side of beliefs only reinforce this notion.

On a happier note, yesterday I wandered about the yard for awhile and found what’s blooming now. Soak in the beauty, I think, because it’s badly needed.

I feel the need for a smoothie this morning. Should I use blueberries, strawberries, or pineapple? Perhaps blueberries. Hoping your day is full of flowers and sweetness.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Self Congratulations, Then Bitch and Moan

  1. You read fine print? You are my hero.
    Your yard is a sight for sore eyes…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pineapple smoothie for me please. šŸ™‚ T Your plants and flowers look lovely- perfect for chasing away the blues.

    Like

  3. Love the lush garden – also the clever cookie jar that reminds when it’s time to bake!

    Like

  4. Carol ā€” I love your “fill me” cookie jar!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. loisajay says:

    Thank you for saying you use a magnifying glass in addition to your glasses. I feel so redeemed.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Heather says:

    We signed up for a CSA this year, and that means we’ve been struggling to eat all the greens we’re getting before they wilt. We have been eating some very good meals though as a result – both healthy and not so healthy.
    I think I’d be in trouble if I had a cookie jar that said “Fill me” on the bottom. I hardly need an excuse. But you’ve given me one. I think I’ll make a cake today! You know, for my soul.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ally Bean says:

    Your photos of your yard are beautiful. I enjoy nature in all of its glory, especially when it’s colorful and full of life. I, too, wonder about integrity. I’m finding as our political leaders drift away from that concept, so do the people in my daily life. Not pleased with either situation.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Lisa says:

    I’m sorry your day was a bit on the low side. I completely understand. I’ve thoughts for a long time our culture and government has been sliding down a slippery slope…and may be in a complete mudslide now. And, it’s on both sides of the aisle. No one seems to be interested in trying to understand the “other side.” There are good and bad points in every position if we would simply stop and choose to listen and engage in an adult conversation. I do believe there is a Universal Truth that is neither “right” or “left” that many people have chosen to ignore in order to push personal agendas. But, on the flip side, the shots of your yard are a breath of fresh air! Thank you for closing with such positive thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Robin says:

    The flowers are lovely. I think you’re right — we need to soak in the beauty. Right now (and that will likely change later), I’m believing that the beauty and love are all that count. The rest is trifles, as they say.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

