Share Your World – 6-19-2017

Here’s me, avoiding going outside into the sunshine to do some yard work. Here’s me, wishing for a gardener. Once again, playing with Cee is me doing avoidance.

What is something that people are obsessed with but you just don’t get the point of? There are a lot of things many people are obsessed with that I don’t get the point of, just as I suspect some of the things I get obsessed with baffle others. I think, as someone else on here said, it would be most of the “reality” shows, which aren’t very real at all. I mean, really, would anyone choose to live on an island and eat insects if they weren’t being offered a lot of money to do so? Or subject themselves to terrifying challenges without the promise of big dollars? Well, okay, some might, but I don’t get it either way.

What quirky things do people do where you are from? Climb trees and swing from branch to branch. That’s my way of saying I’m not sure what quirky things people do here. Perhaps that just means I have the same quirks which I don’t recognize as quirky. Hunting is a big thing around here, and, although I don’t think that’s quirky, I don’t understand wanting to go shoot animals or birds.

What are some things you wish you could unlearn? I wish I could unlearn to follow the news. I wish I could unlearn needing to be informed.

Who is someone that you miss having in your life? I miss my mother, as she was when I was in my twenties and we could talk and share experiences, before the struggles of her life made her angry.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for having some nice sunny days, time with friends, evenings on my deck with my furry girls and a glass of wine. I am looking forward to more of the same.

A few photos now, from my May visit to Santa Fe, New Mexico, where we visited the Georgia O’Keefe museum, and a few days later drove out to the Ghost Ranch area, where we saw the mountain known as Pedernal. I will forever think of that as Georgia’s mountain because she felt that if she painted it often enough, God would give it to her.

An interesting flower on a bush – fresh, but looks as if it were dried.

Interesting tree branches at the lavender ranch.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Share Your World – 6-19-2017

  1. Carol — I enjoyed the beautiful photos that you shared. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dawnkinster says:

    Me too, me too – the avoiding going out in the beautiful day to do yardwork. Which is why I’m here instead. Love your photos, and your header…and I miss my mom too.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    I’ve not watched the news for decades now. Although there has been a few times I had to watch. Like when I lived near Columbine High School. We did have the TV on a lot then.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lakeafton says:

    I try not to be a news junkie, but like you, I gotta know. Afterward, I mumble, “Who cares?”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I like playing with you and Cee – thanks for sharing the bit about your mom.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lisa says:

    Sante Fe is such a fun town. And has a lot of beauty given it’s surrounded by desert. Thank you for sharing your photos with us. I completely understand your lack of motivation. I sit on the patio and think of 25 things I need to do in the yard…..and then I sit some more. I didn’t know chemo fatigue was contagious!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ally Bean says:

    And here I am avoiding the weeds in the garden while reading your blog! Not a fan at all of reality TV, and while I watch/read some news I keep it to a minimum anymore. Santa Fe is one cool place to visit. Seeing your photos I want to go back there soon.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

