Things That Make Me Sad and Block My Muse

These past weeks have been difficult for me – I have had little to share, because my muse has turned recluse and I seem to be collecting more cold pricklies than warm fuzzies. I have finally sat down these past couple of days and played a bit with inks – something I had not done for over a month, because my muse has turned recluse and I have been busy collecting cold pricklies. Since I am certain you are asking “why? What is it that’s bothering you?”, let me count the ways:

1. A winter that overstayed its welcome far too long, followed by an indecisive spring that cannot decide whether to be a continuation of winter, a decent spring, or maybe a touch of summer here and there. All of this has meant

2. Too many days of gray skies. Oh, there have been mornings that have started with blue skies and sunshine, only to be overridden by the gray before the morning is done. And yes, we’ve had a sunny day scattered here and there – just often enough to make us all express our awe at the beauty of the day, but not enough to satisfy the soul.

3. No beach walks or ocean waves to soothe my inner demons, those that visit because of the things that made me sad.

4. A world that seems to be breeding idjits that think the answer to whatever distresses them or whatever wrong they think has been done them is violence, death, maiming – damage.

5. Because of #4, there is too little caring, concern, welcoming, loving, smiling, wishing others well.

6. A political climate that is for me, to say the very least, extremely distressing. I know those who simply no longer pay attention, but I cannot do that. I cannot turn a blind eye to what I see as destruction of the future for our planet. That planet on which we live now – but I question whether it will survive us for our grandchildren and their children to live here too. I see a Congress that cannot agree on anything, cannot even consider working together, that can only do things “the way my party wants it done”, with no regard for the consequences it’s forcing on the people, the planet.

7. A president who behaves, in my opinion, like a little boy in big man’s clothing – who tweets his every disagreeable thought, who can give credit or respect to no one – who promised he would take care of the “little people” but has proposed a health care system and a budget that will do harm to everyone but his cronies, that 1% that needs no help. Who claims he is the subject of a witch hunt, and so I ask: If truly you have done no wrong, encouraged no wrong, are as innocent as you profess to be, why do you not speed up this whole process by cooperating? I realize that’s a foreign notion to you – one who has always just dictated how it will be – but you might be surprised at what cooperation could bring.

8. A cabinet consisting of no one that could possibly equate to or understand what the real “little people” in this country experience, how we must live, how we must struggle to continue surviving. How we feel ignored, until it comes time to reap our votes, then they are all “there for us”. At least with their words.

9. At a world growing increasingly corrupt with no ramifications apparent. Other than the continued demise of the “little people”.

10. At a society that is so desperate it blurs our thinking and our perceptions – it deludes us into believing, hearing, seeing, what we want to believe, hear, and see. Reality need not intrude. Neither may opposing opinions intrude. You say my side is hateful, I say your side is hateful. The truth is we are all becoming hateful.

So I have been seeing the world like this:

Wherein darkness is descending and there is little light to break the gloom.

Which makes me sad, and turns my muse into a recluse.

When what I would like to see is this:

Light and growth, coming out of the fog.

Please?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Things That Make Me Sad and Block My Muse

  1. pattisj says:

    All in favor…say Amen! Reminds me of a quote: Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine.
    Anthony J. D’Angelo

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Ally Bean says:

    “a society that is so desperate it blurs our thinking and our perceptions”

    That is such a powerful and apt description of what is going on. We suddenly seem to be living in a society in which selfishness rules and cooperation/truthfulness are of no import. That which I do well [the latter] is no longer of value, while that which I cannot bring myself to indulge in [the former] has taken center stage. I don’t know what to make of it, truth be told. It’s all blurs and misperceptions to me, with no solid footing anywhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lisa says:

    Our culture has been on a slippery slope going downhill for a number of years. It is very sad the state of our politics on both sides of the aisle. Not sure it’s any better on the other side of the pond in any country. What island would you like to move to?! How are your basket weaving skills?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dawnkinster says:

    I’m sad for you. We have had a beautiful spring…turning into summer. Hot now, too hot, but I can live with it. I wish you could come here for a visit! We could explore the lakes and woods and sky. If you can’t physically come, I guess I’ll have to bring you along on Katie and my adventures via the blog. But it won’t be the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Ahh, I would love to join you in person, but the budget and my old girl Bailey is restricting my travels. Her arthritic joints make me hesitant to board her, and she has developed anxiety attacks which I’m beginning to think is separation anxiety.

      Like

      • Dawn says:

        Awwww….I know. Bonnie (previous sheltie) got to the point we couldn’t board her either. But that’s OK, small price to pay, staying home, for the years of love they give us.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. I much prefer your outlook number 2. I see and feel your gloom in your words and outlook number 1. I was hoping the “Team Scalise” mood would bring us all back to our senses, but it doesn’t look long lived. We just have to keep doing what we do in our own way to bring cheer and hope to others. Don’t let this get you down. I look forward to your brighter side showing through soon.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joanne says:

    I understand how you are feeling, Carol. One day a while ago, when everything in the world seemed dismal and gloomy, I logged on to Facebook and one of the first posts I saw was from our mutual friend, Kathy (who lives in the little house in the big woods). She challenged her friends to write down ten things we were grateful for that day, so I did it…and you know what? This exercise made me feel so much better!

    Why not give it a try? I hope finding the positive aspects in your day brightens up your world in the same way it did for me when I followed Kathy’s advice. xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Thank you for the suggestion. I know I have much to be grateful for, yet sometimes these glum feelings overwhelm and need to be poured out before I can move on.

      Like

  7. There is always the blog world, where you have friends from all over, to send you unconditional and borderfree cheer.

    Like

    • Carol says:

      That is a wonderful thing – one much appreciated. Also the blog world that allows spewing those words and feelings that are churning in the brain, because, somehow, when the light shines on them they seem less foreboding.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I know just how you feel Carol. I have always been an optimist hoping that things would work out for the best but these days it is harder and harder to remain so. We seem to be surrounded by haters. Nevertheless we must carry on because what else is there to do.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Heather says:

    We had a winter like that. It was the most depressing winter I can remember. So many grey days – not good for the soul, as you say. We even have the beach nearby, and it’s just not a cure for sunless days.
    I just can’t immerse myself in politics. I will vote and petition when I can, but it brings on all kinds of unhealthy emotions if I stay too abreast of the details. I’ve been taking the broader approach where I read the headlines and skim the stories. I’m not the most informed. I know it. But I also know how much impact my being informed has, so I choose to remain aloft. We each have to deal our own way.
    Hugs from one northern gal to another. The sun will shine again.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

