The Bedroom

This morning I read a post by Gobblefunk Words, who got it from Sparks from a Combustible Mind, who got it from Pressing Patience – reminds me of that old game we used to play when we were kids called Post Office – that I thought was fun, so I decided to join in the crowd. Once again, me avoiding something that needs to be done.

Do you have a “before bed” ritual that you do, well… before going to bed? If so, how long have you had this ritual? How uncomfortable are you if you cannot, for some reason, perform it? Not really – although I do take the dogs out before heading to bed in the eternal hope that they’ll let me sleep late. Otherwise, it’s just get me into bed before I fall asleep.

Does sleeping in someone else’s space make you uneasy? or can you sleep anywhere? Not usually, although sometimes it might take me longer to fall asleep.

Where is the strangest place you’ve spent the night? How well did you sleep there, if at all? Gosh, have I slept in a strange place? Define “strange”. Perhaps many years ago when I was very pregnant with my daughter and we decided to go camping – although we had only rudimentary camping equipment. Of course, it rained, and we ended up sleeping inside our station wagon. Three of us, husband, son and me – one very pregnant. Did I tell you that? I slept, but I cannot say I slept well.

When you were a child, did you have a preferred blanket or toy you couldn’t sleep without? Not that I recall, but then it’s been a very very long time since I was a child.

If you could build the perfect mattress for you, what would it be made of? I sometimes think a feather mattress would be heaven – in the winter especially. Probably not so much in the summer, because in my imagination it would envelop my body.

Do you sleep with your bedroom door opened or closed? or does it matter? Although I don’t like closed doors, I can sleep if I have to close my bedroom door. I just do it only when absolutely necessary.

What is the longest consecutive period of time time you’ve gone without sleep? Probably about 36 hours, only once. It was not a happy experience.

Contrarily, what’s the longest consecutive period of time you’ve slept? Hmmm. Probably about ten or eleven hours. My body seems happiest if it can have about 9 hours of sleep, but I usually only get that if I take a nap in the afternoon. Those dogs I mentioned – or at least one of the dogs.

Have you been informed that you snore? or do you sleep with someone who snores? What, if anything, do you do about it? I do snore, and so did husband. When the other person’s snoring disturbed one of us, we’d poke the offender. Now, the dogs don’t seem disturbed about my snoring, and if the one that sleeps with me snores, I poke it.

Everyone dreams, it’s a scientific fact, but do you — in general — remember your dreams? I often remember at least parts of a dream when I first wake – but that memory leaves very quickly normally. I more often will remember the feeling of the dream, whether is was peaceful, happy, frantic, frightening, stressful.

Do you think that the dreams you remember are significant in any way? Yes, I do think dreams are significant. I’m just not sure how to interpret them. I remember once reading something that mentioned dreaming in color, and that night I dreamed my mother got a new pair of shoes, which were a bright turquoise. Everything else was black and white.

How difficult/easy is it for you to go to sleep once you lie down at night? and/or wake up once you get out of bed? I usually fall asleep immediately when I go to bed, and generally am awake as soon as I get up, although that doesn’t mean I move quickly. One of the treats of retirement is not having to move quickly in the morning, and I take advantage of that to its fullest.

Have you ever had an episode of sleep paralysis? Not that I know of. Although if some part of me was paralyzed it would probably be the brain, so I wouldn’t remember it.

Do you wear bedclothes of any kind? or do you prefer to be au naturel when slipping under the covers? Underwear with either a tank top or short, light gown. When staying in a hotel, I wear pajamas or a longer gown.

If you have pets — cats, dogs, and the like — do they share your sleeping space or is it a “humans only” area? I have two dogs, and I don’t think there is a single human only space in my house. When my old furry girl was younger, she slept with husband and me. Now she is too old and arthritic to get on the bed, so she sleeps nearby and her younger sister sleeps on the bed. Good thing, because they’re labs and two of them on the bed would mean I’d have to sleep somewhere else.

When it comes to going to bed and waking up, are you on a schedule (bed by X up at Y) or do you just go with the flow of your body’s rhythms? Being retired, I can now go with the flow of my body’s rhythms, which seem to be pretty consistent. To bed somewhere between 10:30 and 11:30 normally – although getting up in the morning is dictated by younger dog – left to my own devices, I would sleep at least another hour I’m sure.

Have you ever had hypnagogic hallucinations? They’re very common… Not that I recall.

Can you sleep without blankets? or must you have something covering you when you sleep? When I was very young, I always had to have my feet covered because I just knew there were things under by bed that would grab my toes if they were exposed. If it’s very hot, I will sleep mostly uncovered now, but usually need at least a sheet over part of my body.

Do you need silence to sleep? white noise? or do fall in the middle and can sleep no matter what’s going on in the background? If I’m tired, I’ll sleep no matter what.

Do you have any superstitions or taboos regarding the bedroom and/or sleeping? For example, no shoes and/or hats on the bed. No, no superstitions. I just try not to put any dark colored clothing on the bed, but that’s because it will immediately be covered by white lab hair.

And that is that. Just a quick update on the internet situation – after an hour or more of the repair technician checking this and checking that, it was determined that my iMac is the problem. Okey dokey then. After he left, I did some Googling (because how else am I to learn anything?) and it appears it might be the result of a recent operating system update. I found suggestions to resolve the problem, which involve removing some files from the operating system. Scary stuff, but I’ll give it a go and hope for the best. In the meantime, I have turned the wireless on the Mac off and disconnect the ethernet cable when I am not using it. That works – last night I was able to watch some more of Longmire.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Bedroom

  1. I can relate — “I just try not to put any dark colored clothing on the bed, but that’s because it will immediately be covered by white lab hair.”

    Like

  2. dawnkinster says:

    I’d sleep at LEAST another hour is a certain furry little one would let me. I fall asleep right away, but am often up for a minute or two..frequently…at night. I thought that was normal. Guess it’s not. I’m hoping to get more sleep then usual while I’m on vacation. Except for the cat…she gets me up early too. Drats.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So fun, no? Little inconspicuous things, but make us what we are.
    I suppose I missed a question. I love perfect silence and pitch dark to sleep. I seldom get that because hubby needs white noise and mild light to sleep.

    Like

  4. leendadll says:

    I think you’re actually correct about being absorbed by a feather mattress. I have a feather bed topper and it does that. But, one unexpected reality: the points of the feathers (quill) poke through the cover and stab me all the time. I had to put a mattress pad over the featherbed to reduce (not end) the unexpected pointy bits.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. leendadll says:

    I was thinking of you the last couple days – I got the bad computer speed juju too. Fortunately, mine turned out to be due to unplugging my notebook (an unreplaceable internal battery is dying and I have to keep it plugged in at all times now)

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I haven’t yet determined the cause of my problem – I’m going to take my computer to a friend’s house, perhaps this afternoon, and see how it behaves on their internet. After I see what it does, I’ll have to decide where to go from there. Sigh.

      >

      Liked by 1 person

      • leendadll says:

        good luck! it can be so frustrating!
        I have FireFox and Chrome set to delete all cookies and files on exit but when I ran the system check software (Avo or Avoo), and told it to also look for FF/Chrome cookies & history files, it found 35,000… THOUSAND… to delete!! I have no idea why the apps themselves were not deleting them but I’m now running the Avo software after every use.

        Like

  6. Patience says:

    Thank you for answering my questions! I honestly don’t know why i’m not getting pingbacks on my blog (probably a setting I missed) so I haven’t seen who’s answered them. I used to have a feather bed and it was way comfortable, but as someone else pointed out, unless you get a really good one, you’re gonna get poked by the feathers after a while. But it’s cool in the summer and warm in the winter.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

