Share Your World – May 22, 2017

I’m sitting here waiting for the internet repair guy to show up – because the new modem arrived yesterday – after nearly an hour of me trying to get it set up and connected, another one-hour call to tech support to get it connected was required because although their setup page said it was connected, the internet light on the modem continued to blink red and loading a web page was not an option. The outcome was that they got me connected – at the same turtle-slow speed I’ve been experiencing, which prompted a repair ticket order. So here’s hoping it’s an easy fix of their equipment in the box at the edge of my yard, and not something that will take forever and a day and cost an arm and a leg. Hoping. I am hesitant to start anything with the anticipation that the repair guy will show up as soon as I get involved, knowing full well he will not show up until I am involved in something.

So – I will play the sharing game with Cee, jumping forward to this week’s questions with a possibility that I may go backwards to last week’s questions at another time. Maybe. No promises.

What one thing have you not done that you really want to do? Take a road trip through the British Isles and western Europe, as well as a Mediterranean cruise. I want to visit Santorini, Greece.

How often do you get a haircut? That varies, depending on my mood, as so many things do. Since I had chemo, my hair has never really come back, so although I used to have very thick, heavy hair, I now have very thin, fine hair. Frustrating, to say the least. For a long time, I kept it short short short, so I was able to cut it myself using clippers and the 1″ attachment. Now, however, I’m trying to let it grow a little longer, so it will be back to the salon for haircuts. How often? When it starts to make me crazy, however often that may be. Perhaps I should say crazy-er.

In regards to puzzle what’s your choice: jigsaw, crossword, word search or numeric puzzles? Well, here we are again – it depends. Sometimes I’m in the mood for jigsaw puzzles, sometimes crossword, sometimes word search – never numeric.

How many cities have you lived? You can share the number of physical residences and/or the number of cities. I don’t know, I really don’t. I’ve been in 35 states (or was it 38? Or more?), lived in many of them, sometimes more than once. I’m going to pick a number out of the air, and guess around 50. Or it could be 75. Or any other number around there. I can only say that when I applied for a civil service job many years ago and had to fill out the paperwork for a security clearance, I had to have my mother send me a list. Not sure how the heck she remembered where we’d been when.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for a safe return home from our trip to Santa Fe. I am grateful for the opportunity to make that trip to spend time with special friends. I am looking forward to more spring weather, getting more yard work done, enjoying pleasant early evenings on my deck.

Today, a few photos taken in Santa Fe, focusing on food and drink. I have my priorities.

We had delicious drinks, an amazing hot chocolate on our first day there when the weather was showery

And of course, a margarita with a late lunch and wine with cheese and crackers later in the afternoon

And we ate – brunch or late lunches out and snacks at home later in the evenings.



That’s all for now. I’ll share more photos of our trip another time.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Share Your World – May 22, 2017

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Thanks Carol for sharing this week. 😀 😀

    Like

  2. Carol — I was in Europe for three weeks last May. One full week of that was in Santorini, Greece. I would go back in a heartbeat!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. WOW – don’t know why, but suddenly I’m starving!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. puppy1952 says:

    What a delicious post. All those dishes look yummy 🙂

    Like

  5. loisajay says:

    Darn–you ate well! Great photos of some wonderful looking dishes. Speaking of which, I love the hot chocolate cup and saucer.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ally Bean says:

    Santa Fe… ahh, it’s been a long time since I was there and I enjoyed it so much. Glad you had a good time, sorry that your internet is being difficult, still.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. leendadll says:

    I love that cocoa set!
    If you live in an area with older teens, you might want to ask one of them to come over and check out your interwebs connectivity. In my experience, they’re usually1000% times better than any official company rep.. more able to think outside the box.

    Like

    • leendadll says:

      ps: I’ve been having a lot of issues with internet speed for the past couple of weeks. I’m hoping it’s been provider/site-based, due to that mega virus that broke out.

      Like

    • Carol says:

      I live in an area where I am the neighborhood tech – sad, isn’t it? I did just find that one of the (very few) technology places in the town down the road is supposedly Apple certified, so I might call him tomorrow. What’s most interesting, I think, is that my son was here for the day yesterday, and his Apple laptop, running the same version of operating system I’m running on my Mac, had no problems. That makes no sense to me. I found a supposed fix online, and gritted my teeth because it required going into the operating system which I dislike doing to delete some files, then changing the DNS address – but I did it. Sadly, it made no difference. It really annoys me when electronic devices and mechanical devices do not work as they are supposed to.

      >

      Liked by 1 person

      • leendadll says:

        I feel ya on that “don’t work they way they’re supposed to”. I’ve spent tons of time looking for fixes to bugs or legit repair software. I now have some good “search & repair” apps on my computer but I run a pc so I can’t help you.

        Like

I'd love to hear from you!

