Cheers and Grumbles

Or should that be Grumbles and Cheers? At the moment, it feels as if there could be more Grumbles than Cheers. But let’s start off with a cheer: our weather has finally turned to spring, although it does seem to be on a temporary mad dash to summer. The skies are blue, sunshine is bright, and temperatures are where I like them – in the mid 70s, although we are to hit 80 for a couple of days. I’ll take that – green is a much lovelier color than white – then again, white is not a color, is it?

Grumble: I am on eternal hold with my internet provider right now. I have been on the phone with them for nearly an hour already – first with an obviously low-level tech support person whose accent made it difficult to understand her – then off to another person, who was very clear, but could not do what needed to be done, so now I wait – for one more person. Since I’ve returned from my trip to Santa Fe, my internet speed has been horrid – bouncing around like a maniac, but rarely ever hitting even .5 Mbps – out here in my rural area, the maximum available is 1.5 Mbps, which is not great, but if it would stay there, I could live with it. So – the first tech support person said I either need a new modem or I need to upgrade to a higher speed – I’m not sure I understand that rationale, but okay. Transferred to Douglas, who said a higher speed is not available (I already knew that, really I did), and I’m leasing the modem so why they didn’t just arrange to send me a replacement, he could not say. Transfer back to a person who can arrange for a new modem. Here I am, on eternal hold. Have I told you before that calling tech support is probably my very least favorite thing to do? Have I told you it’s even lower on the scale than cooking or cleaning house? That’s pretty darn low.

Cheer: I roasted a chicken yesterday, made a fruit salad and a green salad, so my dinner is set for a couple of days anyway. That’s the way I like it.

Grumble: the grasses are doing a great job of growing – in my flower beds.

Cheer: I’m breathing.

Grumble: One part of my sprinkler system seems to be not working as it should. I’m trying to understand why with little success.

Cheer: Maybe the pine cones are done falling now? Maybe.

Grumble: I seem to have had no time to play with my inks since I got back from my trip. Why is that? I think it’s called laundry, yard work, housework, lower back killing me.

Cheer: Tomorrow I go see my chiropractor to see if she can make my lower back stop killing me.

Grumble: so far I have not managed to get any photos of the trip to Santa Fe together to do a blog or two to share our adventures. I’m trying to get my photos into iCloud, unsuccessfully, probably because of my internet.

Cheer: More or less cheer. I finally got a tech support person who was easily understood and who actually knows stuff. Of course, we had to redo the things we’d already done, and she says the modem is getting the speed it should, although the speed is not making it out of the modem. I’ll be getting a new modem tomorrow. We will hope that solves the problem.

Grumble: Why can’t we just be put through to a person who is competent in the first place? Oh yeah, I know – there are many of us out here that think the CD holder in a computer is a cup holder. Sigh.

Final grumble: why is it third world countries have faster, better internet that rural areas of the U.S., which is supposed to be so far ahead of other countries?

I shall end this now, offering apologies, and promising better posts in the future. Near future, I hope.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cheers and Grumbles

  1. Welcome back. You were sorely missed.
    Hugs to you for both the grumble and the cheer.
    The Indian-pretending-to-be-American-and-failing-miserably call center people are pretty annoying, aren’t they? The irony is that when I call a call center, they put on a ridiculous accent to me, until I yell at them and ask them to talk normally :).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Thank you for missing me.
      I hate that I have trouble understanding other accents and dislike feeling that’s a sign of prejudice in me, but it is a problem.

      Like

      • Oh no. Nothing prejudicial about it. I have trouble with the American accent too, despite having lived there a few years. I suppose I am too stuck up with the Queen’s English πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Heather says:

    Fingers crossed that your new modem will fix the issue! Does your computer still have a CD/cup holder? I haven’t had one for a few years. I have tried turning it off and then back on…it still won’t hold my drink πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m right there with you, hating having to call customer service. I also hate sore lower backs. I do hope these two issues are resolved quickly and to your satisfaction!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Cheers and grumbles = balance πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dawnkinster says:

    Tomorrow will be a better day both for your back and your modem.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pattisj says:

    There are no headaches like computer headaches, and add tech support on top of that…put them on speaker and paint while you wait! πŸ˜‰ Glad you’re seeing spring, finally. You did a good job of turning some of those grumbles into cheers. I hope your chiropractor was able to help you.

    Like

  7. lakeafton says:

    telephone computer experts is one of my complaints too.

    Like

  8. loisajay says:

    This was a fun post, Carol. I felt like you had a daisy in your hand and instead of saying, “Loves me, Loves me not,” you were saying, ‘Grumble, cheer, grumble, cheer.’ I love it! Welcome back.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Ally Bean says:

    I like your grumbles and cheers format. Gets to the heart of things. Sorry to read of your internet difficulties. We went through a similar thing a few years ago, and it took months to finally get the speed we were paying for. I like your approach to cooking. I do the same thing, and chicken with fruit salad + green salad sounds yummy to me. In fact, maybe tonight…

    Like

  10. Robin says:

    Calling tech support is my least favorite thing to do, too. I’d rather clean the cats’ litter boxes. That’s saying a lot! lol! As for your final grumble, it’s one of my grumbles, too. Then I tell myself to be thankful I have internet service at all since I’m living in No-Man’s-Land.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

