There Are Those Days

You know how some days you realize you just should have stayed in bed? How you seem to be in complete destructo mode? How you don’t come to that realization quite early enough? Yep. I’m having one of those.

I’ve been considering painting my dining area walls, which I’ve always treated as accent walls, for two or three weeks now, but have been undecided as to color. It’s the one area in the house that gets no sunlight and is a dark alcove type area. It’s been a medium turquoise for about three years now, but I had grown weary of that color and wanted a change. I picked up four paint samples, before I hit one that I thought would be good – a golden yellow, and although I’m not really a fan of yellow on walls, it seemed to be the pick up that area needed. So yesterday I went to our local hardware store and bought the paint.

I got the first coat of roller painting done yesterday before my body decided that rebellion wasn’t getting my attention, so it went for a wholesale coup. This morning, energized, I was back at it, but I thought before the second coat on the main parts of the walls, all of it’s little corners and nooks and crannies – the back wall is known as an “architectural feature”, a nice addition until it’s time to paint – the parts that needed the strokes of a brush, should be taken care of.

The offending wall:

So. I was on the ladder, with my smallish paint container and brush on the top of it, painting away. Then my phone called me – it told me I had a text message, and you never know, it might be something really important. I have never been able to ignore the call of a phone, despite the fact that I do not like phone calls. So I got down, found a text message from Famous Footware that “hey! we’ve got this deal going today” – yeah, right. Like I need shoes. I deleted the message, and decided I should move the ladder before I got back up on it – you can see it now, can’t you? You’re right on – I forgot about the paint container on top of the ladder. Because it had been all of, what, one minute since I’d seen it there. Did I tell you I had also failed to move the protective tarp before I put the ladder where it was? Yeah.

All I can say is I’m glad it wasn’t the whole half-gallon paint on top of that ladder. A quart of carpet cleaner, a couple of big old towels, several buckets of water and a roll of paper towels later, I have done the best I can. Any remaining stains will be forever known as spots of sunshine, despite the fact there is absolutely no way spots of sunshine could get to that part of the carpet. Oh, had I failed to mention this area is carpeted? It is. The carpet is old, could stand replacing (with non-carpet), but the budget just laughs at me when I mention it. So, like the dandelions in my yard, my carpet now boasts spots of sunshine.

No, I did not take pictures of the damage. I didn’t because it was my intent not to tell anyone what I’d done. But I always tell on myself. No secrets here.

Old brains are a real pain, you know?

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to There Are Those Days

  1. “Spots of sunshine,” you trend setter, you!

    Liked by 4 people

  2. dawnkinster says:

    Awwww…I’d do the same thing. Actually have but not on carpet. The big question is…do you still like the yellow?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. leendadll says:

    lol… sounds like something I would do! except the cleanup. I’d just say,”Life wanted the carpet to have more ‘expression'” and I’d either leave it or add to it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I always tell on myself also.
    And I think even a young brain would do something like this!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. loisajay says:

    “I’m Walking on Sunshine”–not a particular favorite song of mine, but it might be!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ouch. Your day sounds like my every waking moment ! Like leenadl says, the only way I can handle my klutziness is to look at the bright side (forced) of it – such as “oh, the floor needed a wash anyway”. “That dress needed mommy’s attention for hand wash” and so on….

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Ally Bean says:

    What a mess. I’m clumsy so being around paint is stressful for me. However I need to adopt your positive attitude about painting– and anything that happens in the process of doing so.

    Like

  8. Oh no! There was carpet? I bet the can fell in slow motion and your “noooooooooooo” echoed in the reverb chamber of your mind.

    Makes for a good story, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Laura says:

    Shoot, you say old brains, but my brain does plenty of stuff like this and I’d like to think I’ve got another 40 years to go. 😉 I’ve nominated you for the Blogger Recognition award. Details are here: https://riddlefromthemiddle.com/2017/04/13/rftm-sunshine-on-an-april-morning/

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Thank you for the recognition and nomination – I will see what I can do with it. I must tell you, however, I am horrible at the nominating other bloggers part.

      >

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

