I Wonder, Why Why Why

Today I read a news article stating that #45, DT, has ordered drastic cuts by the State Department, which cuts would have a major effect on funding to the United Nations. The article did not specify why these cuts are to be made – ostensibly they would help to balance the budget – to enable an increase in funds for military defense spending, perhaps to fund THE WALL. After reading what I view as additional disturbing news, as if we needed additional disturbing news, what started buzzing around in my head were lyrics from the song Runaway: “I wonder, I wah-wah-wah-wah-wonder, Why, Why, why, why, why, why” – which, of course, relates not at all to the article other than that it started me wondering – again.

We like to represent ourselves as a Christian nation – yet, my concept of the teachings of Jesus were forgiveness, understanding, helping, acceptance – providing aid to those who need it. Loving everyone as our brothers. Caring. Caring. Caring. I am wondering, why, why, why, and how, how, how – spending money on a wall to keep out “bad dudes” (do all “bad dudes” come from places other than the U.S.?) and build up our ability to go to war relate to being a Christian nation? How can we defend cutting funds for humanitarian aid so that we can build weapons to kill? How can we battle a woman’s right to choose an abortion if she feels that is her answer, but applaud building more weapons of war? Please note that I am not condoning abortion, but neither will I condemn the right to choose it. We should not, cannot, judge unless we are walking in those shoes. But I digress.

I am watching a not-so-gradual loss of human rights, denial of the reality of climate change, ignorance of what it is like to be in the lower percentage of income earners, complete disdain for the “common person”. I am wondering why, why, why? We delude ourselves when we applaud the actions of our government, when we feel the need to continue to support a man who respects no one and nothing but the holy dollar, who cares not at all for the commoners – those who put him in office, to whom he promised the world. It is hard to admit having placed faith in the wrong person. It is hard to admit that maybe, just maybe, we were wrong. But he who promised much is and will continue to take much, will continue to care more about being bigger and better, than about we common folk.

There is increasingly little to enable us to honestly say we are the greatest country in the world. We were – we could be again – but the path we are on is not a path to greatness. It is a path to wholesale destruction of those things which have always been important to us – the willingness to help where and when help is needed, whether it be within our own country or those countries undergoing hardships greater than ours.

Look at the eyes of this little girl, a little girl from one of those starving nations, and tell me it’s okay to cut humanitarian aid. Look at these eyes and tell me weapons and walls are more important. Look. And ask why.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Wonder, Why Why Why

  1. Sandra Sparks says:

    Love your painting 😍

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carol, I love your painting! Even as an abstract it has so much expression. You should try some more portraits, you definitely have the talent. Art is inspired by times like these- whether it be words, pictures or music. I can only hope that as more people feel passionate about these causes you mentioned ,we will be able to turn the tide of change.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I have tears in my eyes. What is happening to us as a species? ITs not just your country Carol. Everywhere there is disdain to things that really matter – the humanness, human misery…everything What became of us as humans to watch out for each other?
    I am glad I am in my forties…I probably only have a few more decades to live. I fear for my daughter whose life is just starting. Will she never know what being a human being really is?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, and awesome painting.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Mama Cormier says:

    Well said as always. Beautiful painting.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

