Share Your World – March 13, 2017

Another Monday, a sunny warmish one this time, showing signs of spring. A wonderful gift, this sunshine and warmth! There is also, of course, Cee’s weekly gift, the opportunity to share of bit of ourselves with all of you.

Do you push the elevator button more than once? Do you really believe it makes the elevator faster? There are not a lot of elevators in places I go, but I usually only push the button once. Unless it’s taking an inordinately long time and I don’t see the arrow showing the floor it’s on moving, then I might push it again. It’s kind of like clicking on a link on the computer but nothing is happening – or reminding a child that he’s supposed to be doing what you told him to but he’s not moving very quickly. The need to nag, I guess.

Do you plan out things usually or do you do them more spontaneous (for example if you are visiting a big city you don’t know?) I am a planner, and like to have plans made as far in advance as possible. It’s kind of like priming myself to get going, I think. However, on a trip to some place new, the plans I’ve made may fall to the side if something else intrigues me.

Describe yourself in at least four uplifting words. Oh Cee, this is hard! I was raised not to blow myself up or praise myself – to the opposite extreme perhaps, but still that’s ingrained. I believe I am creative. I believe I am fair. I believe I am organized, or relatively so. I believe I am loyal.

If you had a choice which would be your preference salt water beaches, fresh water lakes, ocean cruise, hot tub, ski resort or desert? Salt water beach, for sure! Although a fresh water lake would be a good second. Although my astrological sign is a fire sign, I am definitely a water person. Ocean cruise is good too – a great way to get a taste of places you might like to explore more at some time. Ski resort? Maybe in the lodge, in front of a fire, sipping a hot toddy of some kind. Never, never, out there in the cold snow, slip-sliding on two skinny little boards risking life and limb and too close contact with a tree. Desert – for brief periods only.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for signs of spring – the return of the tree swallows and western bluebirds, a first sighting for this year of an American Goldfinch – daffodils popping up through the soil – my resident jackrabbit loping across the yard this morning. Sunshine, warmer temperatures than we’ve had for a long time. I am looking forward to more of the same. I am looking forward to whatever this sinusy, making-me-tired thing I’ve got being gone so I can get out into the sunshine and start doing some of the spring yard work.

Playing yesterday with the inks – because every now and then I need to not be serious with them and just let go. This one turned into my version of a campfire.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Share Your World – March 13, 2017

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    I am with you on the signs of Spring. The last 3 or 4 days have been marvelous. We are getting a little rain today, but it was warmish – even at 7am I could sit outside and enjoy the morning. Thanks for sharing with us today. 😀

    Like

  2. Mama Cormier says:

    We had signs of Spring in February. I knew it was too good to be true. Winter is upon us once more. Snow for the next too days preceded by two weeks of freezing temperatures.

    Like

  3. loisajay says:

    I think your art work is wonderful, Carol. Before I even read your post, I looked at the picture and thought, “Fire!” And it was.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the fire art! I’m also a planner, but I keep trying to become more spontaneous. I wonder if we can ever change?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Blowing our own horn is one of the most difficult things to do. And since we squelch our own inner flag-wavers, that means we must count on external judgement. That can be a tricky walk.

    I hope that the sinus thing clears up pronto! Maybe you could bundle up, find a sheltered but sunny wall, sit and take a therapeutic sunbath.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Even where I’m at (in my undisclosed sabbatical location) there are the hints of spring. Yay!

    Like

  7. pattisj says:

    Yes! The ski lodge–that’s where I’d want to be, too. Those are all great qualities, I suspected those things from reading your blog. I’m so glad someone has spring! We had gale force winds and snow flurries today–I hope that was winter’s way of saying ‘goodbye.’

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

