The Chips – and Where They Fall

Last night, just before I headed to bed, I read a blog post written by a bloggy friend, whose husband has suffered and beaten kidney cancer. But those chips – they fall. Not always as we want, not always in our idea of good timing. As they prepared to head out on their annual family vacation, he went to the ER. He was admitted. There are many fears, but we pray – we pray he will be just fine.

Her story raised goosebumps on my skin – and reminders from the past, when husband was suffering, when he had a cancer he could not beat, that found it’s way into his brain. The surgery. The year following. The end. I wish, I pray, I fervently hope this is not the path she is looking at. I would wish that on no one. Her husband is younger, has much to live for. Please, let him live.

I wrote those words, re-read them – hope, if she reads them, they do not bow her lower. It is not my intention to weigh her down more. It is a reminder to me – to each and everyone of us – to appreciate more, to find fault less, to remember – always – that there are no promises. Don’t waste your time with your loved ones in anger. Make peace. Tolerance, thoughtfulness – without those, there cannot be living together.

Because those chips – they fall when and where they want. And when they fall, they can raise a fiery fury in the heart.
fiery-furywww

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Chips – and Where They Fall

  1. Your intentions regarding your prayer are meant to uplift. I’m certain that will understood.

    Sometimes, when I feel helpless, and don’t know what to do, because, there isn’t really anything I can do… I remember that prayer, sending positive energy, thinking good thoughts… all of these are very doable and an important part of offering support.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dawn says:

    I’m so sorry to read about your friend and her husband. I hope they will be able to treat whatever ails him. And that regardless of the outcome there is little fear.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Joanne says:

    I’m so sorry your bloggy friend is going through a difficult time. Peace, tolerance, thoughtfulness, love – that is what we need in the world, now more than ever. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I shall pray for your friend too.
    And hugs to you my friend.

    Like

  5. I agree. We should live each day with no regrets. No harsh words or deeds we wish we could take back. No steps we wish we had taken. Your ink picture captures that wishful and abstract mood.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. “Don’t waste your time with your loved ones in anger. Make peace. Tolerance, thoughtfulness – without those, there cannot be living together.”

    Amen

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

