Share Your World – January 23, 2017

Taking time off from headlines because they’re overwhelming me. Too much, too much. It’s much more pleasant to play with Cee.

Do you prefer juice or fruit? I think my life is chockfull of those “it depends” situations. I sometimes prefer juice, sometimes fruit, but I don’t consume nearly as much of either of them as I should. Juice is usually either orange or V8 – the regular kind of V8. I tried their fruit fusions a few years ago, but they didn’t do it for me. I’m not a fan of sweet fruit-flavored liquids. If I eat fruit, it’s most often banana, or sliced apple with cheese – sometimes cherries or grapes. In the melon season, I always have cut-up melon in the refrigerator.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it? Small towns. I’ve never lived in a big city, and I’m not sure I’d want to. Visiting Portland, OR, however, I’ve felt if I had to live in a big city, Portland would probably work for me, mainly because of it’s mass transit system. I would definitely need to have a balcony, preferably overlooking some kind of green space or water.

If you were to paint a picture of your childhood, what colors would you use? Tough question. First I have to figure out what colors say what to me. I love blues, but if I were to say I’d paint my childhood blue, would that be bad or good? Red seems like it would be angry. My childhood, like I’m sure many others are, was a mix of good and not-so-good. It was okay, it was not perfect. Can’t come up with a color that would be sort of medium. Maybe sunny yellow days, mostly those spent on the shores of Minnesota lakes, interspersed with some angry red days, and some calm blue days.

Ways to Relax List: Make a list of what relaxes you and helps you feel calm. Quiet time with myself. Time snuggling with my furry girls. In warmer weather, time on my deck, watching and listening to the birds and other creatures. Time not spent reading headlines lately.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for my warm house, I am grateful for the little bit of sunshine we’ve had, I am grateful for a morning out for breakfast with friends, I am grateful for email communications with my friend and my kids, I am grateful for furry girls to cuddle with – and talk to, if the truth is to be told. I am looking forward to a week much the same. I am looking forward to some snow melting, but I don’t think that’ll happen during the next week.

No photos to share, because my camera and I are taking time out, but I do have a couple of my alcohol ink paintings to share. I apologize to those of you who are also Facebook friends, who are probably saying “enough, already”.

reflections-jpeg

snow-horseswww

green-hills-of-home-jpeg

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Share Your World – January 23, 2017

  1. Dawn says:

    You know I love your work. I am leaning toward favoring the impressionistic ones…but maybe it’s just the colors in those I enjoy. If I were to say what color my childhood was I’d say green…spent mostly clomping around the woods, or paddling on a weedy inland lake. I think heaven, for me, would be green.

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Ahh yes Minnesota lakes. That is pure joy and fun. Thanks Carol for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. loisajay says:

    Darn, Carol—your paintings are wonderful. I especially like the first one.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Joanne says:

    It’s a treat to see your paintings twice, Carol! I love this artistic side you are sharing lately, so don’t stop creating.

    Wishing you another week ahead with more cuddles with your fur babies. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heather says:

    We almost never have juice – I prefer fruit all the way, and all the good things that you get from the actual fruit.
    My childhood is unquestionably green. With farmers for parents, we were surrounded by corn, or bean, or wheat fields. And my mom always had (still does) a huge garden full of beautiful produce. And a big grassy yard. Definitely green.
    I admire the textures you create with your inks. Smooth transitions in the skies, sharp lines for hair and grasses. It’s all so interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol — That first alcohol ink painting is my favorite. WOW!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

