Share Your World – January 16, 2017

It’s another frosty, cold, white morning out there – it’s beautiful, really it is, but I confess to having grown weary of the sameness of that frosty, cold, white landscape. It’s only January, and already I have been complaining about winter. So this morning, in an attempt to divert myself, I’m going to join Cee in Sharing.

Do you sleep with your closet doors open or closed? That depends on whether I actually took the few seconds it takes to pull the closet door shut. Husband used to have a thing about that – closet doors had to be shut when we went to bed, but I’m a door swinger rather than a door closer, so usually my closet door will be open at least a few inches.

Do you take the shampoos and conditioner bottles from hotel? Sometimes, because they’re nice to have for traveling times, in case you are somewhere that doesn’t provide such amenities. I’m really more likely to grab the little bottles of lotion, because they’re a good size for in my purse.

What is your usual bedtime? When my eyes refuse to stay open any longer. Sometimes. But generally somewhere around 11:00 p.m. I head to bed. For a long while a few years ago, I was in bed by 9:30, but now I nap more often in the afternoons and can stay up a little later. I will have the TV on in the evenings, watching or kind of watching programs, but usually turn it off around 10:00 and read for awhile.

Do you like to use post-it notes? How did we ever survive without post-it notes?

When was the last time you wrote a letter to someone on paper? A personal letter? A very long time ago, I’m sure. Most often a letter written (more specifically, typed on the computer, then printed) is directed towards some business entity with whom I am disagreeing.

Any phobias? Phobias? Me? How can you ask that, don’t you know I am woman, I am strong? I see doubt in your eyes. I’m not sure if this classifies specifically as a phobia, but I have a major anxiety toward edges – like trying to look down into the Grand Canyon takes a lot of work and that “bravery” is generally very short-lived. Getting up on the roof to remove pine needles is the same, and last fall I decided I was not going to do that any more.

How tall are you? I used to be 5’11”. I am no longer 5’11”. Gravity has taken it’s toll. My height has sunk into my stomach and my feet.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for having a warm home and furry girls with whom to share that home. I am grateful for friends to share a cup of coffee or tea with when cabin fever pushes me out my door. I am grateful that winter does not last forever, although it seems like it does. I am looking forward to warmer temperatures, even if they do not go above 40 degrees. If spring chose to arrive next week, I would welcome it with open arms.

A couple of photos of how my world looks now – the cold white stuff Shasta loves to roll in because she has a much greater tolerance for it than I do, and the first moon that had shown its face for several nights.

2017-01-10-10-20-17
2017-01-11-17-29-26

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Share Your World – January 16, 2017

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    OK you have a lot more snow than we do. But I’d be shocked if it was the other way around. We have our closets doors in our bed wide open. They are sliding doors and no guide rails on the bottom, so our cats would be opening them all night and keep us awake. They are also good about opening cabinet doors in the kitchen but that is far away from the bedroom. Thanks for sharing Carol. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. joey says:

    Beautiful snowy photos!
    I’m not keen on standing on the edge of great heights, either. I wasn’t always this way, which is sad, but it is, as they say, what it is. I think it’s FINE you’ve decided not to climb up on the roof to clear debris. Plenty of people happy to provide that service.
    Here’s hoping it warms up enough to break your cabin fever 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There is no snow in my area . Just cold- which I wouldn’t complain about if I could cross country ski; instead it just chills my bones and the path I walk switches from ice to mud and back again. Maybe you can redirect your snow here. Oh well. ..

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pat B says:

    I don’t like being high up on a ladder either. I just don’t do that now, and really didn’t every do it much. Your description of how gravity has taken its toll on you made me chuckle. I can relate to that.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Robin says:

    Your snow is beautiful. I wish we could trade places. I think you would appreciate the warmer weather here, and I know I would appreciate your snow and ice. I take the shampoo and conditioner and lotion, and sometimes donate them to a women’s shelter where they need such things. I laughed at your answer regarding height and gravity. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The closet door question is interesting! I can’t go to bed with the doors open and they have to be firmly closed, not just ‘nearly’ shut. I have no idea why I need it to be like that – my husband is the opposite – he couldn’t care!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Heather says:

    Your puppling looks like she’s enjoying the snow 😉 I’d be happy if we could go back to winter for a bit, and then have an abrupt shift directly to spring without the mess of the melt in between.
    As for doors, I am a closer and husband is a half-hearted swinger. I feel like I I go around closing everything behind him – haha! But this is an all-day issue, and it certainly doesn’t prevent me from going to bed.

    Like

  8. leendadll says:

    love the pic of Shasta!
    Is there a general height when your fear of edges kicks in? Like, I’d guess you’re okay with curbs*, but you mentioned the roof as being too high.

    *In Steve Martin’s, “The Pleasure of My Company”, the main character won’t step up or down curbs. He’ll only cross streets via aligning driveways.

    Like

    • leendadll says:

      ps: each of my closet doors was about 3′ wide, no folds, so opening them required this HUUUUUGE clearance (actually overlapped the clearance for each of the bedroom doors) and I just hated it and finally removed them. I sometimes considering putting up curtains but I live alone, so no one but me sees what’s in there… and the cats would just scratch or pee on the fabric so… nope.

      Like

    • Carol says:

      Curbs are fine. I guess it kicks in at about roof height. I’m fine if there’s a protective fence or some such thing, so it’s not height. I’d love to do the Grand Canyon Skywalk, but I suspect it would feel like one big edge and major anxiety would attack.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Lisa says:

    A nice break from all the ugliness and hateful actions going on now. And yes! However did we survive without Post-it notes!? Take care, my friend, warmer days are coming…….soon? xo

    Liked by 1 person

  10. MLou Stone's Photography says:

    I live in Montpelier, Idaho and it is my first winter here. So far we have 3 feet in my yard. It is beautiful but I also am getting winter cabin fever. The roads have such a build up of ice that it makes it difficult in 4 wheel drive to go too far. I am soooo ready for Spring…LOL (they tell me that is a very long while yet before that happens 😦 ) I think next year I may fly south for the winter 😉

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

