Sincerely, Me

I have some letters I need to write – there are just a few things I need to get off my chest. I apologize if this post seems like a downer, I don’t mean it to be, but that could happen.

Dear weather controllers: I know when I lived in California I said I missed having four distinct seasons, and I did. But could you lighten up a little with this winter thing? I mean, really, do we need to get over 18″ of snow in 24 hours? Do we need that snow to be followed by temperatures of -14 (yes, minus fourteen)? Do we need more snow to be followed by rain, as the weather people on TV said would be coming this weekend? Could you be just a wee bit more temperate, perhaps? Maybe even make winter last only for a couple of months, like December and January? Maybe make spring and fall a little longer? Could you be a little more gentle, please?

2017-01-04-12-23-45

Dear Congress: I’m not encouraged by your beginning of the year moves. It’s disheartening to me that you would consider getting rid of the system of checks and balances that are so badly needed – like the oversight office that is geared to keeping you guys on the straight and narrow, something that seems to be badly needed. Even if you did back off, it was something you felt you wanted and needed to do, but I have problems with the why part of that. Then, making moves to ditch the ACA without a good plan for replacement seems to me rather hasty. No, it’s not perfect, but you’re spending a lot of money to get rid of it without any idea what comes next. You do remember that, although we are not so influential or beneficial to you, we are part of this country, we that do not fit into that 1%, don’t you? Could you, like, do something that gives us some hope for the future?

Dear Social Security – well, actually, I guess this should be directed to Congress again: I think it’s really nice that you decided to give me .3% increase this year, but I think it was rather rude that you also increased my Medicare premiums by that amount. I mean, I’m pretty sure that groceries and my electric bills have gone up more than .3% in the past – what? – 3 years since our last increase? Or was it 2 years? Whatever, you get the idea, I’m sure. Now, shall we talk about your salaries and your pensions? And, maybe, your health coverage? I also would like to discuss the fact that my Medicare pays less of my medical bills now than it did a year or so ago. I seem to remember paying into these things all of my many working years. I seem to remember that you borrowed lots of my money, and have not paid it back.

Dear Mr. Trump: Because you are still Mr., and not President, yet. Okay, so I’ll show respect due your position – dear President-Elect Trump: Perhaps you could use that money you want for a wall between us and Mexico for Social Security, Medicare, and education instead? I know, I know – you say that money will be paid back, but I kind of think you’re whistling Dixie there. And while we’re at it, could you tone down your rhetoric just a bit, maybe act a bit more presidential, a bit more circumspect? Maybe even practice diplomacy? Maybe try to get along with members of your transition team that try to bring some facts into the discussions? Maybe face a little bit of reality, and expect your Russian friends to act with some respect towards out systems? I don’t think that’s asking too much, really I don’t.

Dear winter critters: I appreciate your visits. I do what I can to make life a little easier for you, tossing out birdseed in the mornings for you ground feeders, providing sunflower seeds in a feeder for those of you who prefer your meals above the ground. I wonder where all the squirrels I had last year have gone, but was happy to see a little bunny come by yesterday morning.

2017-01-05-10-40-46

2017-01-05-07-42-54

Dear readers: I appreciate your visits, and it warms my heart to think you actually choose to follow my blog. I know I don’t always tell you how I feel, and for that I apologize. You all are part of the enough that makes up my world.

enough

Sincerely, Me

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sincerely, Me

  1. ntexas99 says:

    My guess is that it felt kind of great to write this post. Sometimes it helps us to speak up about the things that are bugging us, so that we can put a voice to the mounting frustrations we experience day after day. When I do some sort of similar exercise, it’s a bit like throwing darts at a dartboard, in that it hits several targets at once, yet also offers the satisfaction of piercing right through the heart of some those things we usually keep bottled up inside. I liken it to the process of clearing the air with sage in every room of your home. Negative thoughts are expelled, frustrations are released, and we finish it off by offering up gratitude for those things we can appreciate. By finding it within ourselves to finish with a positive thought, we acknowledge that our ENOUGH will always carry us through, each and every time.

    p.s. Thanks so much for sharing the photos of the birdies enjoying their seed buffet, as well as that adorably sweet bunny (and how the heck did you manage to capture that shot?). Nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Thank you for your comments. As to the bunny shot, I saw him hopping past through one of the four windows in my morning room, got my phone out and it’s camera on, then walked verrrry cautiously across the room to another window.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    I enjoyed your post this morning. Especially the weather thing. It has been so weird this year. BTW, trump will not have any capital letters in his name or title, in my mind anyhow until he proves worthy of them.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Carol — I love it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dawnkinster says:

    Hugs. All real complaints. Wish someone with responsibility for these things were reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad to hear you speak your mind, Carol. We need to speak up and call our government out when necessary. We will need to make our voices heard a lot in the next four years. It’s not going to be an easy time ahead, I fear.
    As for the weather controllers, so far so good in my neck of the woods, but I think they could ease up a bit on your side of the country. Hope 2017 is all you wish it to be! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ruth says:

    Dear Carol, I love your post! Sincerely ,me 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  7. You have written about things that are so similar to what I worry about down here in Australia, well maybe not the snow but our weather is more extreme than it used to be. Must be something to do with that non-existent global warming.
    The bunny is adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. loisajay says:

    President-elect Trump–read Carol’s letter!!!!
    The bunny is adorable.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sheila says:

    Amen to the letters to Congress and trump! Love the lower case t from Cee –

    until and unless he deserves it. Always enjoy reading this blog! Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Excellent letters, Carol, and I think you speak for many people with the things you have said. There’s nothing like writing a letter to help get things off your chest!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Joanne says:

    I know this heavy snow is driving you crazy, so I hope it eases up for you soon, Carol…however, meanwhile, I’m loving the gorgeous photos you are sharing! xx

    Liked by 1 person

  12. leendadll says:

    I love the bunny & bird pics.
    As someone who was only able to get insurance due to ACA (obesity is a reason for denial of coverage by private insurance), I’m quite upset about the plan to destroy it… and Planned Parenthood, who would have been one of my backups for at least “well woman” screenings.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

