Share Your World – 2016 Week 50

Wait! Week 50?! Does that mean we have only two more weeks in this year? How did that happen? It seems each year I live, time goes a little faster, and I wish it would slow down so I could catch up. But, just in case it doesn’t slow down, I will grab some of that time right now and share my world.

What is your favorite smell? What memory does it remind you of? Although I don’t have a very good sense of smell anymore, there are many that I really like. Yeast bread, wood smoke, freshly cut grass, the smell of spring, baby powder, lilacs – yeast bread reminds me of my girlfriend and I coming home from high school to freshly baked rolls her mother had made, slathered with butter – I am drooling. I now make my own bread – although I’ve switched to sandwich rolls because it’s just easier. Wood smoke reminds me of the times I’ve been camping, with my parents, with spouses, with friends. Freshly cut grass and lilacs – times growing up, spent outside. Baby powder, when my kids were babies.

What type of pet do you have or want to have? I have almost always had at least one dog and/or cat. Right now I have two dogs, but I am sure I will always have something furry to talk to.

Are you usually late, early, or right on time? Usually early. Because I worry and stress about being late, so I’m always ready early, and once I’m ready, I might as well go, right? Except when it comes for packing for a trip, which I never do until the morning of or the night before. Husband used to make me crazy by putting off leaving for appointments past the time I wanted to go, but then I drove him crazy with my not packing until the last minute.

For recharging, would you rather meditate, swim, walk, listen to music, write, read, yoga, qigong other? To recharge, I like to sit quietly. Walking in the woods would also work, but walking on a beach, listening to the sound of water would be even better. I listen to music, write, read, paint – but those aren’t for recharging activities for me – they’re spending quiet time with myself activities.

Optional Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for the usual – my friends, my family. Time to indulge myself in things I love to do, which right now is mostly painting. The fact that the bad winter weather has been going east of us, although they’re warning that we could get inches of that cold white stuff tonight through Thursday. Not that I wish bad stuff for people east of us, I just prefer it not linger in my yard. I am looking forward to my Kat and Gep arriving for the holidays, arrivals which are now less than a week away.

Decorating for the holidays has become much less than I did in the days of my youth – when I had the energy to haul out and then haul back all that stuff. This year, even the number of ornaments on my Christmas tree have been reduced to nature things – birds, butterflies and poinsettias.

20161213_090810

20161213_090840

Wishing for you enough, during the holidays and ever after.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Share Your World – 2016 Week 50

  1. Carol — To recharge I could sit quietly and simply look at your beautiful Christmas tree.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Such a beautiful tree Carol. Thanks so much for sharing this week. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. leendadll says:

    that’s a nice tree!
    I’ve been smelling bread since Sun. Thought it was coming from a neighbors’ but now assume it’s something inside the house – but I have NO idea what!! I’d like to figure it out before it changes to “rotten bread”!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. pattisj says:

    The weeks keep zooming by! Your tree is very pretty. If I don’t get ours up soon, there will be no point in it. So glad your family is coming to spend the holidays with you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heather says:

    There’s a certain fragrance of pine and hot sand that I love. It’s warm and sweet and smells like summer in Michigan. I also love cinnamon, and coffee, and caramel – the real stuff. All warm things. Can you tell it’s very cold here at the moment?
    I love your tree. Ours is similar. Small, with a few ornaments and white lights.

    Like

  6. Pingback: Karma's When I Feel Like It Blog

I'd love to hear from you!

