3 Quote Challenge – Day 3

I was nominated – what? a week ago? – by Lg at Gobblefunk Words to post a quote a day for three days. Finally, with many interruptions, I am prepared to fulfill this challenge with my third quote.

“As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.” John F. Kennedy

This quote seemed especially appropriate for this time of year, with the day that is set aside specifically to be thankful arriving tomorrow. Perhaps, if we learn to live by our words of appreciation for those things that we are most thankful for, we will remember to be thankful every day, regardless of what’s going on in our lives. It is, after all, the difficult times that strengthen us, and for that we ought to be grateful.

Today, tomorrow, and every day thereafter, it is my intent to appreciate my life – my family, my friends, the roof over my head, the change of seasons. It is my intent to make at least one “joyful noise” each day.

whatzit-joyful-noise
Make a Joyful Noise (copyright C.Lanctot)

To each of you, I wish you a year of giving thanks for your enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 3 Quote Challenge – Day 3

  1. Dawn says:

    I love your ‘thankful’ ink. I think you have a name for these little people….they are adorable. Happy Thanksgiving to you Carol…and your family…and your friends…and of course your furkids.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ntexas99 says:

    Such a very happy and thankful inky spot! Love the art work! Also the timely reminder that keeping ourselves in a state of thankfulness helps us spread kindness and cheer to those we encounter in our daily lives. When we practice turning our complaints into murmurs of gratitude, the entire color of our world really does change, and we begin impacting the energy in our lives. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carol — I love the John F. Kennedy quote, thank you for sharing it!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sandra Sparks says:

    I want that horse painting please

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  5. LG says:

    Lovely quote. Thanks.
    Also, thanks for taking up the tag. Very inspirational quotes I learned from you.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Karma says:

    Hi Carol, I’ve been absent from the blogosphere but I’ve been trying to poke my head back in here and there on this break from school. Love this quote. It is a way I do try to live as well – we all have our moments when we forget to feel that appreciation but taking the time to stop and live our appreciation makes it all worthwhile. I hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kathy says:

    I. love. your. paintings. that’s all! xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Heather says:

    What a sweet joyful noise! This year my cup runneth over, though at times it also seemed like it was all I could do to catch a drip in it. For that I am grateful.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Lisa says:

    LOL! I love your personification of a “joyful noise”! And the words of wisdom you spoke in the third paragraph are wonderful words to try and live by. It is the difficult times that strengthen us and I believe it’s in those times we discover our true self. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

