3 Quote Challenge: Day 2

Day 2, with a 2-day interruption. Kind of how I’ve been doing things lately. I was challenged by LG of Gobblefunk Words to participate in the 3 Quote Challenge, so here I am.

“Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking.” Marcus Aurelius

Marcus really hit the mark with this quote, but it’s something I believe we forget far too often. We spend time dwelling on misfortunes, slights – real or imagined – things that didn’t go the way we wished – and we blame it on timing, something someone else did, lack of luck, so many things. One of the sayings I dislike the most is “if I didn’t have bad luck, I wouldn’t have any at all”. Oh my! “If only my parents had taught me. . .” “If I had been given a chance. . .”

It has taken me a number of years to finally begin to learn to accept and appreciate what I have, to view many past experiences in my life as a learning process, to know that for those things that didn’t go the way I wanted I have gained something. Not to say I have learned the lesson perfectly – far from it. I am human, I am imperfect, but I’m also more content now than I have ever been, more able to see the positive, more able to think in a positive manner.

However – having said all of this, as we make our way into winter and the snow begins to fall and the cold sets in – I still reserve the right to complain about that winter, to be unhappy about that winter, to wish it would be a much shorter season. I also reserve the right to be unhappy about housework, yard work, other things I really don’t want to do. That unhappiness will be, I acknowledge, in my way of thinking.

This is where I’m supposed to nominate three other people to participate in the 3 Quote Challenge, something I am so very poor at doing. So compromise, between me and the rules – I will nominate one other person, and if you are not that person but wish to participate, please do! Today I nominate Suzicate, because she so often shares wise words and perfect quotes.

I wish for each of you, enough. Happy thinking. Good days. A wonderful Thanksgiving, for those of you who celebrate it.

Today’s share, my alcohol ink painting – In a Galaxy, Far Far Away:
in-a-galaxy

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 3 Quote Challenge: Day 2

  1. lakeafton says:

    i LIKE THAT QUOTE. SO OFTEN WE START WITH “WHAT IF I’D….”

    Like

  2. Carol — I love the quote, thank you for sharing it: “Very little is needed to make a happy life; it is all within yourself, in your way of thinking.” —Marcus Aurelius

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dawn says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your header with the horse. Absolutely wonderful. I’m behind….I have to get moving and see if I can find at least ONE quote soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lisa says:

    Yes, we *need* very little, but boy do we have a lot of *wants*! I’m really trying to self-evaluate why I think I want to buy something outside of the necessities. It’s been rather eye opening…when I’m honest. I haven’t started my challenge yet but promise to do it soon! I hope you have a blessed Thanksgiving. xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Yes, I’m working on that too, the buying non-necessary things, partly out of necessity, partly out of the thinking about things I bought because – why? Wishing you a wonderful Thanksgiving too.

      Like

  5. Heather says:

    I think about the time I started blogging is when I really began to embrace the idea of being present. I think that it really changed my outlook on so many things, allowing me to see my own personal role in my happiness so much more clearly. I’m much better at not dwelling on other things now, and focusing instead on the things I can control, and which lead to happiness. Sometimes, as I mentioned just a blog post over, happiness isn’t easy (thinking of the recent passing of our last cat), but knowing that the pain would fade and happy memories would prevail comforted me in my grief.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lisa says:

    I do wish for you positive thoughts going into this dreary season. And when positive thought fail, I wish for you comfort food, glasses of wine, and the snuggles of furry friends! It’s not even really cold here and I’m already shivering. 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

