3 Quote Challenge: Day 1

I have been challenged by LG of Gobblefunk Words to participate in the 3 Quote Challenge, posting and writing about a quote that impresses me each day for three days, then tagging 3 people to do the same. I am terrible about tagging, but I will do my best – although, since tomorrow (Saturday here) I will be leaving the house fairly early in the morning, I may not make those 3 days truly consecutive.

In any case, here’s today’s quote:

“Today I choose life. Every morning when I wake up I can choose joy, happiness, negativity, pain… To feel the freedom that comes from being able to continue to make mistakes and choices – today I choose to feel life, not to deny my humanity but embrace it.” Kevyn Aucoin

Everyday I choose life. Everyday I need to remind myself that how that day goes depends largely on my choices – what I choose to feel, what I choose to be, what I choose to do. My choices are my choices, the results cannot be blamed on anyone else.

I am able to remember this most of the time. Yet, there are choices I made in my younger years that, looking back, were not the best. Usually the choices that disturb me are those that I think were not the best for my children when they were young. Those are the choices I regret. I must remind myself – frequently, fervently – that those choices are done now, they were made, they were survived, they were learning experiences. What is past cannot be changed, so castigating myself now helps no one and makes no difference whatsoever.

There were not so many of them, actually, so why do I harbor them? Why do I keep reminding myself of them? Really? I mean, I really am not a stupid person, I think, so what’s the deal? I will continue to make mistakes and choices. I need to remind myself to embrace my humanity, not deny it.

How about you? Are you letting things from long ago eat at you? Don’t. Don’t do as I do, do as I say.

Today, I nominate Dawn of Change is Hard, Robin of Breezes at Dawn, and Lisa of Peripheral Perceptions. I understand if you choose not to participate.

When these times come, I need to sit back and stare at the Milky Way – as a reminder of how small all of those things really are.

milky-way-jpeg
Painting based on a photo by Heather of Snap Happy Gal Photography

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 3 Quote Challenge: Day 1

  1. Lisa says:

    Beautiful words to go along with a beautiful picture. Thank you so much for thinking of me. I will do my very best to participate. Don’t be too hard on yourself. This side of heaven, we’re all flawed creatures. xoxo

    Like

  2. That painting is amazing! I also appreciate the link to Snap Happy Gal Photography! Love the beautiful scenes everywhere!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Your painting is a beautiful hint of the Milky Way to which you refer. I too, choose to love life. Very nice way to give yourself a break!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lakeafton says:

    I agree and I like your tile.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love love that painting!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol — Your painting is EXQUISITE!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. LG says:

    That painting is amazing, Carol.
    As is the quote. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Pingback: 3 Quote Challenge: Day 2 | Change Is Hard

  9. Heather says:

    A good quote to read amid the sea of “always choose happiness” quotes. Sometimes we can’t choose to be happy, so we must embrace our humanity and allow ourselves simply to be.
    I also love the painting. It’s one of my favorite interpretations of my photos I’ve seen.
    How big is it?

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

