Share Your World – 2016 Week 46

On this gray, rainy morning, it seems a perfect time to sit quietly in front of the computer. Which means it’s a perfect time to share my world with Cee.

Are you a traveler or a homebody? I like to travel and see new places and things, but one of the best things about going away is coming back home, where everything is familiar and comfortable.

What kind of TV commercial would you like to make? Describe it. It would have to involve animals, pretty scenery, and humor. No people, I think. People too often behave stupidly and lately they’re annoying me. Not everyone, of course – there are many that are good, intelligent, use their common sense. Then, there are the others.

Describe yourself in a word that starts with the first letter of your name. This is a really tough question. Maybe I should get the dictionary out, because I’m not even coming up with many C words that are remotely suitable. I just looked in the dictionary – do you know that “call waiting” is in the dictionary? At least it’s in the Webster’s that’s been on my bookshelf for many years now. Maybe that’s me – call waiting – waiting to see what’s going to call me next.

List some fun things for a rainy day. Painting. Reading. Napping. Baking. Listening to the sound of the raindrops. Playing silly games on my iPad. I did all of those things yesterday when it was raining, and will probably do most of them again today.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for having survived the week. I am looking forward to the world getting back on track, although I suspect that will not happen in one week.

A couple of random photos this week. The first one is obviously unplanned, but it has an interesting quality I think.
2016-11-11-06-17-54

The second is a couple of alcohol ink painted tiles, on which I poured alcohol and lit on fire, just to see how they would come out. The idea was not original to me, I had seen a You Tube video on doing this.
20161102_153024-1

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Share Your World – 2016 Week 46

  1. Carol ā€” my sentiments exactly: “…one of the best things about going away is coming back home, where everything is familiar and comfortable.”

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    You are getting so creative. I adore seeing your photos. Call Waiting … interesting … I like you take on it. šŸ˜€

    Like

  3. I’d say with your writing style you are quite communicative.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. dawnkinster says:

    Hmmmm….I’m definitely a traveler and I am always reluctant to go home. Except from our NYC trip which totally exhausted me. Otherwise I could be on the road close to 100% of the time and be very very happy.

    TV commercial? Well…it would include a theme of tolerance…and would probably put all sorts of diverse people in it. And it would be an appeal to America to stop, step back, thoughtfully consider what they’re about to say and do, and opt for tolerance v.s. violence.

    Describe myself with a word beginning with ‘d’….maybe decisive because I like to resolve stuff quickly and move on. Or determined because I try not to give up. Or maybe dizzy because I’m always doing a ton of different things and get so confused so often!

    Rainy day favorite things to do? Nap. Or read, but I fall asleep reading. Or laundry. Because I can nap between loads. I see a trend here.

    PS: Love your accidental photo! A lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Heather says:

    Call waiting! Hahaha šŸ™‚
    Conscientious. Considerate. Cind. No? That one starts with a “k” you say?

    How did the ink fire turn out?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Tee hee! The fired tiles became the frame of the mirror I posted the day before yesterday. It was interesting, but not something I care to do frequently. I tried it mostly out of curiosity.

      Like

  6. Sandra Sparks says:

    What happened when you set Your painting on fire?

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

  7. LG says:

    “Waiting to see what calls me next.” Can I quote you on that in my quotes challenge?
    Talking of quotes challenge, I tagged you. No obligation to take it up though. FYI.

    Like

  8. pattisj says:

    It looks like I’m caught up! I’ve been trying to focus on other things aside from blogging, things that have been neglected for too long–but there are special people who I like to keep up with. Too bad we’re on opposite sides of the U.S., we could easily spend a rainy day together doing the things we enjoy most.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. leendadll says:

    we intentionally took blurred photos like that in my 1-day photo class… experimenting with slow shutters and light. Got a lot of interesting results.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

