Changes

The only constant is change – a statement I make quite often, it seems, but one that I think is the ultimate truth. There are not so many real changes in my life, other than the season. We are well into fall now, with the not-so-unusual drops in temperatures, night frosts, a little rain in the basin, snow in the mountains. These changes do not disturb me. When snow falls in my yard, that will probably disturb me if it’s before Christmas.

The birds are in the midst of their fall migration, heading to warmer climes for the winter, as witnessed by the masses of blackbirds that have been visiting.
thumb_p1050647_1024

The way I’m spending my days has changed – or at least, my current hobby has changed. Instead of spending a large portion of my days blogging, I’ve been spending my days playing with alcohol inks, taking online classes to try to learn to control this medium, if not – we all have dreams – master it. One of my favorite assignments was this rooster.
rooster033

I would like to say our political climate in this country is changing, but I think it really is not. Worsening, perhaps – but attribute that to the fact that it’s an election year, an event that I have come to dread. Perhaps one of the worst side effects is the strain these events can put on relationships – there are people I love dearly who are on the opposite side of the coin from me. I try to bite my tongue, I try not to judge, I try not to argue, because that will accomplish nothing more than increasing that strain. I am not going to change anyone’s mind. The idealists will vote for the 3rd party candidates, and I might consider that, except – I’m not entirely certain they are qualified either, and I fear votes for them will only assure the win by what I consider to be the worst possible choice. Campaigns are never pretty and have never been, even back in the days of Adams and Jefferson. I think I should have a sandbox in which I can bury my head.
2016-10-01-15-01-24

Changes are going on in my computer – changes initiated by me in an attempt to clean things up a bit. Hopefully, what I have initiated will not create future problems for me. I am emptying trash now – it says it has 730,000+ items to delete. That is old backups off the external hard drive I am eliminating – I think. I hope. At least that was my intent. Maybe I should have simply reformatted that drive. Fingers crossed.
2016-10-01-15-01-05

The stores are bringing out Christmas already – that’s a change I’m not ready for! Far, far too early for that for me. I’d like to get through Halloween and Thanksgiving first. My Kat has already made her flight reservations for her Christmas trip home, arriving December 18 and staying until January 5. Almost three weeks I get her this year! Gep says he thinks he’ll be home too, but he rarely makes definite plans very far ahead. And while the purveyors of goods are already thinking Christmas, I am still watching the signs of fall. That’s enough change for me.
2016-10-01-14-58-28

We have had some days of rain, welcomed, badly needed rain. Once the skies turn blue again and things dry up, I will be back outside preparing for the winter. Because, like it or not, that is a change that cannot be avoided. I will be working on more simplification in my yard, attempting to reduce the amount of work required without detracting from the beauty. That’s a change that is needed as I grow not younger and, sadly, less energetic.
2016-09-21-17-12-33

In the meantime, I will adjust to changes happening in my world. I will pray that it will all work out in the end. I will luxuriate in the knowledge that I have enough, enjoy my quiet times, cuddle with my furry girls, and appreciate my family and friends. I wish you the same.
2016-09-20-15-31-14

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Changes

  1. Heather says:

    Count me as an idealist. But I also don’t live in a swing state, so in terms of a vote encouraging a win to the worst candidate, I’m safe from that. You can also count me in the camp of folks who is tired of the vitriol.
    Your alcohol ink work is incredible. I don’t think I can achieve that kind of control with a pencil and eraser!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Robin says:

    I love your rooster. Beautiful work. I can see why you would be concentrating on that now. Your signs of autumn are wonderful, too.
    I could use a sandbox to bury my head in, too. I’ve done so much tongue biting that it’s a wonder I still have a tongue! I feel the same way you do about the idealists and third party candidates. I’ve been there, done that, and the worst choice won (and caused some of the mess we are in today). Even though I think we’d benefit from having more than two parties (that are taken seriously), sometimes I feel I have to work with what we’ve got in order not to worsen things.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Carol — I second the motion, “Your alcohol ink work is incredible!” And your surrounding landscape is beautiful. I love what you see through your windows every day. Thank you for sharing it with your readers.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. dawnkinster says:

    Change is hard. I think most of us hope we can get to November without destroying any more relationships than have already been injured. I personally try not to listen to any more of it. You’re right, we are not going to change anyone’s minds at this point. Each event seems to entrench everyone where they already were.

    DO love your rooster! A lot! Here we are still in the high 70s, low 50s for a few more days. But by weekend we might have some 30s!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your rooster is magnificent! Thanks for posting the views from your window – I always enjoy them. We don’t have many signs of autumn here yet, apart from the distinctly chilly mornings and evenings. I’m sure it won’t be long, though, until the leaves start turning.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pattisj says:

    Nice pops of color showing up. Ours are still a bit drab, but there is hope! Black birds do like to travel en masse, don’t they? I don’t look forward to their visits to clean out the feeders! I love your rooster! You are really getting a handle on those alcohol inks. I have quite a selection of those, but have never attempted the control that you have on them.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

