Share Your World – 2016 Week 38 – and more

This past week I had the pleasure of having a friend of many, many (around 50, actually) years visit me. We had a lovely time, sitting home and chatting, visiting Crater Lake, visiting a local museum – and, the highlight of it all – grocery shopping! Oh yes, The Gracious One and her husband also hosted a neighborhood potluck, so my friend from many years could meet my neighborhood friends.

Now I am home alone again with my furry girls, and ready to share some of my world.

Are you a hugger or a non-hugger? I did not come from a family of huggers, but it is something I love to do and I love to receive. Sometimes I have to remind myself to hug though – just because I didn’t grow up that way. A hug goes a long way to make a day better.

What is your least favorite Candy? Anything fruit flavored or marshmallowy. Or candy corn. Really, any candy I like involves chocolate, peanuts, caramel – at least one of those components.

What’s the first thing that comes to mind when you hear the word “fun”? I think that’s another of those things that depends on my mood – but always, spending time with loved ones and friends is fun. Seeing a new place is fun. Walking on an ocean beach is fun. Taking photos, playing with my inks – my “fun” is usually pretty subdued.

List of Favorite Smells: What smells do you love? Whether it’s vanilla scented candles or the smell of coffee in the morning or the smell of a fresh spring rain…make a list of all the things you love for a little aromatherapy. The question here is whether I’ll remember all my favorite smells.
1. Baby powder
2. Fresh-cut grass
3. Ocean air
4. Bread baking in the oven
5. Dinner someone else is making for me
6. Cinnamon
7. Vanilla
8. Lilacs
9. The air after a nice gentle rain
10. Cantaloupe ripening

This answer could go on and on, but that pretty well summarizes it.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? I am grateful for the visit with my friend, and the fact that she was able to meet some of my other friends. I am grateful that I have room for friends to visit. I am grateful for the company of my furry girls, and for the times my old girl Bailey perks up her ears and looks alert, as well as those times she still displays a little bit of spunkiness. I am looking forward to another week of life in my world.

A couple of photos now from my visit with my friend.
thumb_p1050640_1024

thumb_p1050629_1024

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Share Your World – 2016 Week 38 – and more

  1. Cee Neuner says:

    Sounds like you had a wonderful time with your friend. Thanks for sharing Carol. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. dawnkinster says:

    Awwwww, sweet post. Always good to get a visit from a almost lifelong friend. Those are the best. Love your list of smells too…I was like..yes, yes, well..maybe not…yes…yes.. LOL Top on my list would be lilac.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. loisajay says:

    This sounds like a wonderful week. Smells good, too! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carol — In the photo of you with your friend, your smile is absolutely vibrant and contagious.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. pattisj says:

    So nice to have a lifelong friend. What a lovely view!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. cobbies69 says:

    I cannot stand the smell of baby powder, but coffee I love and toast. If I choose a scent then it has be Fahrenheit, mens fragrence. I am a non hugger but getting better.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Lisa says:

    I’m a hugger. Never underestimate the power of a therapeutic hug! And you hit just about all my favorite smells with Lilacs leading the way. I’m happy you got to spend time with your friend. Looks like the two of you had a fun time together. xo

    Like

  8. Heather says:

    It’s wonderful how some people just stay in your life no matter the distance or years. Those are good friends.
    I am not sure if I grew up with huggers or not, but I am definitely a hugger.
    I’d add the spicy smells of fall, the scent of a morel mushroom, and lily of the valley to the list.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. How lovely to have some time with an ‘old’ friend. I like your list of favourite smells – I think I’d have a lot of them on my list too.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Carl Alberto says:

    awesome friend you have there as well as your place, nice view!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you!

