Share Your World – 2016 Week 34

I haven’t done this for a few weeks now – the urge just hasn’t been there – but this morning I feel like playing. I’m so glad Cee is flexible about attendance!

1. What is your favorite comfort snack food? Chocolate, in one form or another, most of the time. Although lately I’ve been on a cheese (sharp or extra sharp cheddar) and crackers (Wheat Thins) kick, which I think doesn’t do a lot for the waist line. My rational is in the heat we’ve been having dinner has been a big green salad, so that makes up for it. Right? We won’t talk about the dressing on the salad.

2. Is the paper money in your possession right now organized sequentially according to denomination and with the bills right side up and facing the same way? Very definitely yes. That comes from my training to be a cashier at a movie theater when I was in business school – in those days, that was a very strict requirement. We also had to count change back. I get frustrated now when cashiers hand me (no counting) my change and the bills are all willy nilly. The constant is the changes, right?

3. If you were a mouse in your house in the evening, what would you see your family doing? The mouse would see me in my big chair, feet up, watching TV, playing games on my iPad, or reading. In cool weather, the mouse would see me covered by my so so soft fleece blanket that lives in my chair. The mouse would see my furry girls sprawled somewhere near me, Shasta most often in her chair or on the couch – so the mouse better stay hidden, because my girls would be chasing it in a heartbeat.

4. Would you rather not be able to read or not be able to speak? That’s a hard choice, but I think, like Cee, that not being able to speak with be more readily dealt with either by sign language or writing notes. To not be able to read would take away so much of what I enjoy doing – and, reading directions for something new is a critical part of life for me. I’m very much a written instruction person.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up? My gratitude is pretty much always for the very same things in my life – my kids, my friends, my furry girls, the roof over my head, sunshine, birds and their songs, breathing, mobility, time to do things I love and the ability to ignore those things I don’t want to do for awhile. I’m looking forward to more of the same.

I have continued to play/work with alcohol inks, so I’d like to share some of the images created for lessons in the online classes I’m taking with Sheryl Williams. We are working with pouring inks, pens, brushes, and markers.
2016-08-14 09.37.10

2016-08-16 08.46.27

2016-08-21 12.24.19

This one was one I did just because I wanted to.
2016-08-20 09.29.46

Here’s to you and your days filled with enough.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Share Your World – 2016 Week 34

  1. lakeafton says:

    I’m very impressed with the pictures. The one next tot he bottom is my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. suzicate says:

    You are a great artist, love your style with the alcohol inks.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Heather says:

    I’d readily give up speaking before handing over my ability to read, write, listen, see, or hear. Maybe even taste.
    You have such a gift as a person who can create things from her mind. I can envision something I want to create from a scene photographically, but I can’t draw. Your alcohol ink work is improving, and I continue to be impressed. How are you feeling about your creations?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      Thank you, Heather, but you give me more credit than I deserve. I do best when I have a photograph of a scene for reference – to use at least as a basis. And there is a lot of tracing for some of these – the zebra head was traced, as was the lighthouse itself. How am I feeling? Somewhat satisfied part of the time – wanting more from me most of the time, frustrated some of the times. I am trying to get over the desire for perfection or complete reality. I would like to have more spontaneity, more imagination.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. loisajay says:

    You are really moving along as an artist, Carol. These are wonderful–especially the desert sky. Gorgeous color.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. leendadll says:

    I just posted the tiles I made at the alcohol inks workshop. It was interesting but not something I’d sit down and do on my own… too messy and I really don’t have any space free of cats and/or cat hair. The instructor had markers and things that she didn’t really seem interested in sharing so I didn’t bother… others did but I didn’t feel the need to be pushy.

    I really like your country landscape! We had an option to try something like that, and some people did really well, but it didn’t interest me. In a million years, I wouldn’t be able to do the zebra – I’m impressed!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      The markers make a lot of difference for getting detail. The zebra head was traced and the black was all markers. I like the pouring of the inks in part because it’s usually a surprise what you end up with. I like landscapes best I think, especially when I do a tree or two.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Carol β€” Your alcohol ink artwork is incredible. Simply incredible! My favorite is the third one from the top.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. dawnkinster says:

    I think they are all beautiful, but like many, my favorite is the trees. This looks like a lot of fun. I took a pouring watercolor class a few years ago. You are right about the surprises. It turns out, at least for that…that your talent with masking makes all the difference. It was fun, but I haven’t tried any since.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      Thank you. Trees are one of my favorite things. Masking does make a difference, depending on what you’re doing. I hate frisket though, much prefer using contact paper to mask.

      Like

  8. Laura says:

    I’m right there with you on the snacks. (And your artwork is absolutely beautiful!)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cee Neuner says:

    You are getting good with your painting. Wonderful and oh so colorful. Thank so much for participating this week in Share Your World.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sandra Sparks says:

    Love your paintings

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  11. All of these images are great, but I most especially love the third one. The colors are great and it just looks so warm and cozy, very inviting. Have a blessed evening.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. LG says:

    Beautiful. You are quite the artist.
    BTW, the question would you rather not be able to read or talk….I would choose talk in a heartbeat. I am happiest when I am silent. And reading. And writing. Talking is way over rated πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. I like your pictures, especially the sunset/sunrise colours. I was giving change to a customer in the Op Shop where I volunteer the other day and she commented “Hardly anyone counts back change like that any more.” It’s how I was taught to do it but apparently they don’t teach it now. Most youngsters struggle to make change without a machine to help them.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. David E. McClendon Sr. says:

    I have worked in retail since about the time I was old enough to know what a store was. If you really want to blow one of these new cashier’s mind, just wait until after they have totaled up everything. Say the bill comes to $7.32. Hand them a $10 and wait for them to punch that in. Then, hand them 7Β’. Chances are good that you will see total meltdown.

    Like

  15. c2avilez says:

    I love your art!

    Like

  16. Your pictures are wonderful! Like you, the paper money in my wallet is in order. I like that sort of thing to be orderly – and it helps to know how much you have if it’s in order!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. pattisj says:

    I’m with you on #2–money in order, counting change. Heaven forbid you give the cashier any change to make the transaction smoother, they don’t seem to be able to deal with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. pattisj says:

    I forgot to mention how much I like the alcohol ink paintings you did because you wanted to. You are doing well with them!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

