In My Garden, And Other Thoughts

I have managed, occasionally, to take a photo or two when I’m wandering around the yard, and I thought this might be a good time to show you what’s happening out there right now. Other than the weeds and grasses that pop up where they aren’t wanted, that is. Oh yes, and the mosquitoes, which are abundant this year. There are blessings in having a wet winter, but also penalties I suppose.

Shortly after we moved here, nearly 17 years ago, I planted a Chinese Fringe Tree – it was a tiny little thing and it struggled and struggled for the first couple of years. It’s starting to look a little more like a future tree although it’s only about two feet tall. I hope to live long enough to see it become a real tree. It’s blooming now, and I love these little clusters of fringes.
2016-06-09 10.04.01

In the front, in what are supposed to be “groundcover beds”, a couple of plants from a nearby flower bed have transplanted themselves. The geranium and the Lady’s Mantle are quite indiscriminate about where they pop up, along with the ornamental strawberries that they birds have spread about. I did like the look of the Lady’s Mantle as the morning sun shown on the water drops on its leaves.
2016-06-09 08.36.35

A special delight yesterday afternoon was having this butterfly light upon the flowers in the pot on the morning room deck – it showed up as I was attempting to clean accumulated yellow pine pollen from the deck surface – thank you Ponderosas! What is that you’re saying? Oh yes, something about taking the bad with the good, right?
2016-06-11 15.09.48

The bad and the good. There is always a lot of good. There is enough. The things I most appreciate from the last few days:

Sunshine
Cooler temperatures
The birds that are drawn by the trees surrounding me – yes, those trees whose by-products I complain about so frequently – they bestow blessings too.
The opportunities to spend most of my days as I choose – lounging, creating, taking care of chores slowly by slowly, enjoying my furry kids.
Emails and texts from my kids, in their faraway homes.
Time with friends.

I was supposed to take a class yesterday on Alcohol Ink Painting. The class did not happen – because there were not enough people signed up. Basic problem – the ad did not say to sign up in advance and, although I had called the phone number listed and left my name and number stating that I was interested in the class, I did not get a call back. I suspect the phone number was incorrect. It looks like this will be another of those things I teach myself. I have the supplies, all except the non-porous surfaces on which to paint and that will be remedied by a trip to town tomorrow, and a delivery from Amazon tomorrow evening.

This post cannot end without the requisite photos of the newest member of our family, little Willy – formerly known as Batman/Little Boy/Little Boy Batman, and some other names I probably should not repeat here. Batman seemed a heavy name for such a little guy to carry, so he is now named Sir William Batman. I can hear you, you know – you’re saying “Sir William Batman, that’s not a heavy name?” I know, and that’s why we call him Willy. I am quite certain he will grow into a name beginning with Sir – he is, after all, going to be a CAT. Kittens are a delight – kittens are maddening – kittens are kittens, learning how to be cats. Which are a delight, which are maddening – Kat and I have agreed it is good that God made kittens cute, because if he did not, they would all be homeless.

The quiet times, those times that make the times he is climbing my plants and chasing my fingers as I type tolerable. Willy sprawls
2016-06-07 18.21.37

Willy looks cute as he sleeps
2016-06-08 19.56.28

and have you ever seen such an innocent face?
20160611_194040

Yep, innocent while asleep. The reason he is not homeless.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to In My Garden, And Other Thoughts

  1. Relax... says:

    Lovely, all of it. Now, I want a Sir William… he is much too cute for anyone’s good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. loisajay says:

    Sir William is adorable!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. suzicate says:

    The fringe looks similar to honeysuckle; is the aroma as sweet?

    Like

    • Carol says:

      I have not noticed an aroma, but I have a bad smeller. These are not trumpets like the honeysuckle, but more “thready”.

      Like

      • Heather says:

        I wouldn’t have put my finger on it, but it does look related to the honeysuckle we see here. We get some of the trumpet-y ones, but we also have some that are less organized, and fringy like this.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Karma says:

    Beautiful color and details, Carol! Just lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Silly Willy is ADORABLE!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. VERY cute, Carol! I was also interested in your Chinese Fringe Tree. I don’t ever remember seeing one before. It is beautiful.

    Like

  7. Kathy says:

    Sir Willy’s just the cutest. Your plants are gorgeous. It is the best time of year. It sounds like you have enough to keep you busy in your life. My mom is struggling a bit, trying to adjust.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Carol says:

      I think it would be harder if you’ve had someone in your life for over half of it. Pat and I were together for 20 years, but I had several years of living alone and with my kids before him.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Heather says:

    I think all little things are made to be cute for their own safety. And furry things. If one of them wasn’t a sweet, cute boy, his stinky self would be outside.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I had never seen a Chinese fringe tree until about 10 days ago, so I am pleased to be able to look at your photo and know what I am looking at. šŸ™‚ Your garden sounds lovely.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Lisa says:

    LOL! Kittens, puppies AND babies. The way they look when they sleep may be the reason they all survive. Love the photos of your posies. I’m collecting photos and hoping to do something with them soon. Hope you summer is going well.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. pattisj says:

    I can’t believe it’s been so long since I’ve visited your blog. Where does the time go? I love your new roomie! Kittens, puppies, babies–there’s a reason they’re all so cute! šŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

