Things I Don’t Understand

Sitting having my coffee this morning, perusing the headlines for the day, I started asking questions. My furry girls refused to answer, but I realized there are so many things I don’t understand.

I don’t understand how he can eat hanging upside down.
P1050206

I don’t understand the political campaigning for the next presidential election – which is many months away, so I don’t understand why the campaigning needs to start so early. I don’t understand the thought process of many of the candidates, nor do I understand how one former candidate can be so opposed to another of the candidates, then turn around and endorse him. I don’t understand why I’m hearing nothing that is really for the good of the country and its people, at least from the loudest of the parties. I don’t understand why people are supporting these candidates, nor can I understand how I could possibly vote for them. As to the other party – there might be hope, but I’m not certain, and I fear my hope will not make it very far. I don’t understand why presidents and others are elected by electoral vote, rather than popular vote. I always thought they were to be elected “by the people”.

I don’t understand why I’m getting the evil eye.
2015-10-12 08.33.59

I don’t understand Instagram. I opened an account a long time ago, but never used it. So this week I’ve been looking at it, and realized I don’t understand the purpose here. I did learn that I am following over 1,000 people but, with the exception of 3 or 4, I’ve never heard of them. I don’t understand how that happened. I Googled how to delete my account, but I don’t understand why, when I went where the instructions said to go, that option wasn’t available. I was offered the option of “temporarily disabling” my account, but not the option of deleting it. I disabled it. Instagram, take note that is not a temporary thing. Apps that decide to make decisions for me are not my friends. I’m also getting emails of posts from Twitter people that I have never chosen to follow. Twitter may go the way of Instagram very soon in this house.

I don’t understand why Mother Nature is as mean as she is, why she feels a need to destroy. Then again, maybe I do. Maybe she’s been listening to our political candidates and figures she might as well make the first move. I do want her to know I appreciate that we have been having weather that gets me out to start cleaning out flower beds right now. Maybe my appreciation will get more of it?

I don’t understand why the world is being torn apart by violence – if not from Mother Nature, then from mankind. I don’t understand why killing is the answer for so many people. Really? What does that resolve? It won’t make life better, it won’t get back the one you lost, it won’t make people like you. Could we maybe learn to tolerate, to understand that we won’t always agree, that life won’t always be fair?

I don’t understand what it is I’m supposed to do that I haven’t done. Use your inside words, girls!
P1040888

I don’t understand why my cleaning elves have not been showing up. I leave them treats, really I do. I don’t understand why it’s so hard for me to start some chores, when I do know that if I just started it would not take long to finish. Most of the time.

I don’t understand why my body doesn’t believe my brain when my brain says I’m still young, I’m still able, I can do those things.

I don’t understand why my hair thinks it’s okay to do what it wants, not what I want.

I don’t understand why I can’t make a reasonably sized pot of soup, instead of one that will feed me for longer than I want it to.

There is so much more that I don’t understand. I think I’ll go make a pan of decadent brownies, and then I will eat them all, all by myself! None for the elves who don’t show up! There is solace in chocolate, and later in the day – a glass of wine. Maybe I’ll forget to care about what I don’t understand.

About Carol

I'm me - nothing unusual, just me. Widowed, 2 grown children who are my best friends, 2 dogs, 1 cat, retired, loving being retired. I am woman, I am strong.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Things I Don’t Understand

  1. I don’t understand a lot of the same things. Just this morning my husband and I were wondering why there are so many storage units being built in communities these days. Who are all the people who need to store so much stuff? Why are they storing it? Why don’t they just get rid of it? We don’t understand.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Good questions! Life is puzzling sometimes and especially in a presidential election season. I think most of the other democratic nations have much shorter, less explosive campaign seasons. Why is ours do long? And why has it gotten so negative? Isn’t the idea of democracy about compromise? You can’t always get what you want, but you csn get what you need.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lakeafton says:

    I don’t understand all the same things. Maybe that’s why we’ve been friends all the years. That’s my guess!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carol — I think the cleaning elves may well be on strike because they’re not showing up for work over here either. And how does swallowing/gravity work while hanging up-side-down? That really boggles my mind!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Karma says:

    What a great and humorous at times and other time contemplative post. If you ever do get those cleaning elves to show up, please share the secret. Hope your brownies were delicious!
    PS – you new header is really cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. leendadll says:

    Twitter: I heard that they’re now applying “magic algorithms”, similar to facebook, to decide what they think you want to see.
    Animals: Did you let them watch political news? They look like they’re questioning the whole Donald Trump thing too
    As for the rest: I’m with you!

    Like

  7. dawnkinster says:

    You’re making me laugh. I have a twitter account that I have no idea how to use. I understand less and less every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. lisa says:

    You made my head nod in agreement on every one of these things. Sometimes I can add auto-correct to the list…it’s very irritating but can also be a life saver. What to do….what to do….I think I need another glass of wine or two. 🙂

    Like

  9. pattisj says:

    I have many of the same questions. Save me a brownie and I’ll come clean your house!

    Like

  10. ghostmmnc says:

    Yes, to all the above that you don’t understand. I sure don’t either. I’m confused…is this 2016 the voting year? All the campaigning and debates and all the rest has gone on so long, I don’t even know anymore. They say you should vote…but, why? There’s no one I want to get elected, and the electoral college people are really the ones who choose anyway. Well, so much for that. … I have a tumblr acct. that I have no idea what it’s about! hahaha that’s funny you have so many followers or have followed on your instagram without knowing how. I don’t even want to think about getting one of those! … Wonderful post!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Robin says:

    I don’t understand any of these things either. Except for the brownies. I truly understand how delicious they probably were, and now I understand that maybe it’s time for me to bake again. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I don’t understand many of the things you don’t understand, Carol. I think we’re all sitting around scratching our heads at why things in the world are going the way they are! I’m especially flummoxed by this horrible presidential campaign that is so vitriolic and full of hatred, especially among the Republican candidates and the one loudmouth in particular. Who supports these people? I fear we’re all going to be voting for the least worst of the field, rather than for one shining candidate.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

